Melinda F. Binkley MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.1
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 122 Ratings
  • 13 Comments

*Dr. Binkley did a great job - I have my peripheral vision back!

April 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Melinda Binkley was the doctor that I was seeing for my shingles in the eye condition and she was very helpful and knowledgeable about how to treat my condition.

April 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Binkley was wonderful. Had a question about my eye drops. She explained to me how to better apply eye drops. Love her!

April 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Binkley has given me very very good care for my eye problem. I feel that her very quick care has helped me so much. I appreciate her very much.

February 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

limited eye contact; did not appear to see me as a person. I was informed of my difficult condition but felt utterly alone in it. perhaps she was just overworked or having a bad day

February 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Binkley did an excellent job performing my surgery. She was very proffesional, informing and new what she was doing. I was impressed by her skills. I would visit her again with any problems in the future.

February 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Melinda Binkley is a very caring doctor, she checks & ask question. I am [age] years old & I have never been care for a doctor like her. Thank you for having her.

February 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have never had as thorough an eye exam as I was give by Dr. Binkley. I'm very impressed!

January 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Maybe this doctor is school-smart, but her communication abilities are non-existent. She did not discuss with me what she was doing and why, any details of my diagnosis ([condition]) along with care/prognosis, and treatment options.

January 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was at the clinic for a different test reason but they provided an exam for a concern I had regarding the reason for the test. I did appreciate the dr. providing that.

December 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Binkly was friendly, polite and professional and did excellent pain free work.

December 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Brinkley was GREAT !!

December 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Based on my experience at that visit and today when she called with my eye results, I plan to have Dr. Binkley as my regular ophthalmologist.

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Boston but grew up in Houston, Texas, where I completed my undergraduate studies and then medical school at Baylor College of Medicine. I was drawn to ophthalmology because it offers the unique opportunity to be both a physician and surgeon. The field is exciting and constantly advancing, and there is no greater privilege than restoring sight. I completed my training in Seattle and Los Angeles, where I fell in love with the West Coast. I love the active lifestyle of the Northwest, and my husband and I couldn't be happier to be in Portland.

About my practice

As a comprehensive ophthalmologist, I treat a full spectrum of eye conditions including cataract, dry eye, glaucoma, and retina disease. I am proficient at cataract surgery as well as ophthalmic laser procedures. I strive to deliver advanced, yet personalized eye care for my patients in a compassionate manner. I believe optimal outcomes are achieved when patients understand their condition and treatment goals; therefore, I aim to educate and involve my patients in their care in an effort to attain optimal vision.

How I thrive

Outside of work, I enjoy spending time with family and friends, swimming, hiking, running, and traveling. I love exploring the natural beauty of the Northwest with my husband, and together we enjoy all the amazing restaurants and activities Portland has to offer.

Medical School ?

Baylor College of Medicine
Houston TX

Medical Training ?

Ophthalmology
UCLA Medical Center
Los Angeles CA

Board Certification ?