Micah L. Thorp DO
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Lake Road Nephrology Center
6902 SE Lake Road, Suite 100
Milwaukie, OR 97267

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.8
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 112 Ratings
  • 32 Comments

*Dr. Thorp explain thoroughly what was probably go one said he was concerned but called for test just to sure. Sure made me feel much better about my concerns.

June 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Thorp has never been anything but thoughtful, supportive, caring & attentive to my questions & concerns. From a person with anxiety regarding medical providers - *Dr. Thorp gives me confidence that I am in good care.

April 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would be very upset if *Dr. Thorp left his practice or was unable to care for me. He is the only dr. that has my BP under control. I am seeing him in regards to my KIDNEYS. He is thoughtful and explains things to me & my husband so we understand what is going on with me (medically) I couldn't ask for a better care giver. He gets 5 stars out of 5.

April 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Visiting *Dr. Thorp is always a pleasure. He is friendly and listens carefully. I feel that he genuinely cares about his patients.

April 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A+++ grade for this clinic & doctor.

February 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Thorp is very calming answers any question in a caring way.

January 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Thorp is amazing! Very caring and thorough.

December 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nephrology dept. is great! *Dr. Thorp is the best!

November 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care was provided.

November 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very happy to be able to see *Dr. Thorpe again, after not having KP insurance for several years. I'm happy he's still here for me.

November 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been to many doctors in the seventeen years I've been with Kaiser. I have been very lucky as far as physicians go. But *Dr. Thorp is way up there. He makes you feel welcomed and show great interest of his patients whether in office, email, or phone. He works with his patients. He asked the patient to ____ of their meds & times & how you feel. You can email him & within 60 minutes he answer all questions. He is an excellent dr. and a great person who care for his patients.

November 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Thorp has always been very professional in his manner and treatment of my concerns - thank you.

August 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was professional, caring and knowledgeable. I was extremely happy with *Dr. Thorp. He was a dr. (if I had to pick) the only I would have picked. He explained everything that was going on. We talked about my test and numbers of my blood test happening. He was very pleasant and answered all my questions. I will be seeing him again in Sept. after my blood work & an x-ray. I would definitely recommend *Dr. Thorp to anyone.

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Thorp is one of the finest doctors I've ever seen. Glad I can do to see him.

June 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy and confident with *Dr. Thorp!

May 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Thorp has an excellent interest in you as a patient!

May 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I could be no more happy with the service of *Dr. Thorp and his help. Courteous, on time, answer all my questions, spends time with me and my concerns. Wonderful service, and very little waiting.

May 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Thorp helps me have better understanding of some of my overall health issues and his input to my prescription medicine has been fantastic since my primary care doctor first sent me to him.

May 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Micah is a very good doctor for me!

March 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Thorp is very professional and always has been - ...

February 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Thorpe and everyone associated with this office always provide top notch case.

January 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always feel so much better after leaving *Dr. Thorp office makes you want to thrive.

December 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Thorp has been my doctor for many years and I have complete trust in him.

December 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good!

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We never had any negative experience with *Dr. Thorp - always friendly & very informative.

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Enjoy having *Dr. Thorp. He makes you feel very relaxed and makes you feel as if he remembers you from visit to visit.

August 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've had *Dr. Thorpe, and would never want any other doctor. He's a gem!

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A very good experience. I always feel so much better after seeing *Dr. Thorp.

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really liked *Dr. Thorp as he made me feel comfortably. He also answered my questions and concerns in arranging a follow-up phone call scheduled in June before I leave for my vacation. I was very, very pleased.

May 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful, cheerful, very professional dr with an ASL interpreter attended- perfect!

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Thorp looked over my prescription orders from the VA - I get almost all meds from them - He let me know that a new med affected cholesterol. The VA Clinic _____ had failed to tell me this. I am grateful *Dr. Thorp told ME. [name]

January 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care!

December 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up outside of Springfield, Oregon and attended Oregon State University as an undergraduate. I went to the University of Osteopathic Medicine in Des Moines, Iowa and returned to the Northwest for residency and fellowship at St. Vincent Hospital and Oregon Health and Science University, respectively. I became interested in kidney disease as a resident and have been very happy with my decision to pursue a career in nephrology.

About my practice

I help manage patients with kidney disease and complex hypertension. Our group manages patients with everything from very modest kidney disease to patients who need dialysis or have a kidney transplant. Unlike many specialties, we generally care for patients over long periods of time, both in and out of the hospital. In addition to my clinical duties, I work as a clinical researcher at the Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research. My work there primarily involves kidney disease, predictive modeling, and population management. I am particularly interested in translating research findings into clinical practice.

How I thrive

Aside from work, I enjoy scuba diving, snowboarding, and trying to keep up with my kids.

Medical School ?

University of Osteopathic Medicine and Health Sciences
Des Moines

Medical Training ?

Nephrology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
St. Vincent Hospital and Medical Center
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine

Nephrology
American Board of Internal Medicine