Michael D. Berger OD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Longview-Kelso Medical Office
1230 Seventh Avenue
Longview, WA 98632

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 270 Ratings
  • 38 Comments

Very professional and timely care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My appointment was late in the day, and Dr. Berger never acted like he was in a hurry. He is a great 'explainer'.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had concerns answered by *Dr. Berger about a outside eye exam 2 months ago stating I had glaucoma. His thorough/professional exam explained other eye doctors misdiagnosis. A great relief and he'll be keeping track of my eye health annually.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I do not always have good experience with doctors (usually pertaining to their apathy and listening skills) Dr. Berger and his team impressed me. I am very pleased with the care I received and will certainly schedule my future visits in this clinic

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Ask for *Dr. Berger each time. Appreciate the care and information he provides.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Berger was outstanding he's quick and has confident and has given good prescription for glasses

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first experience with Dr. Berger was very good. He is very thorough and has very good presence about him.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

extremely personable

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

everyone was very professional, OD was pleasant and explained everything very well

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is very polite even though he does many of these routines a day.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Berger was very professional and I appreciate the time he took to address all my concerns and questions.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Berger called me twice by phone to advise me of tests and test results.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Michael Berger was good and courteous.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He explained everything very well.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Berger answered ALL my questions and concerns about my eye issues. He offered additional information to help me to understand treatment for my issues. My eyes are difficult to examine - patience is needed. *Dr. Berger spent time with me as my eyes adjusted. I didn't feel rushed at all.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Berger did everything that I would expect and more. I appreciate his evaluation of my condition and he ensured that I understood what tests he ordered to make sure I was properly evaluated. Throughout the rest of the day, he followed up with me and the various testing staff in the building to be sure all the tests were administered and my referrals were set.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was behind schedule - thought it strange that he was behind so early in day. He did spend a lot of time with me & answered questions.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care, very professional but friendly and caring.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good treatment.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Staff including *Dr. Berger were all very professional and polite - seemed caring & concerned. All in all a very pleasant experience.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

this was the first time meeting Dr. Berger. I felt at ease & safe with him. He was familiar with my eye history & told me what was going on in my eyes. Thank you for having him on your staff.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good man

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Burger and i discussed the cataract and where it was in growing. Happy with our discussion

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt it was a good visit/appointment with Dr. Berger.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Berger is very thorough and explains things very well. I have a high level of confidence and trust in *Dr. Berger. Beyond that he is a great guy and I feel fortunate to have gotten to know him.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. Berger is good to deal with.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Does a very good job,a pleasure to work with.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely pleased. Felt I was in very competent hands, and that doctor was sincerely concerned for my well being.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good expierence with.Dr. Bergen

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great provider. As always excellent care & service.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Berger did not seem to listen to my issue and past it over like it wasn't important. I still can not see to read up close and am very disappointed that I spent the money on an appointment that solves nothing.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

No problems, always, fast and taken well care of.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Professional

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Berger, was very personable and made my experience back to Kaiser a wonderful experience!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional, knowledgeable and addressed my concerns

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

overall... good experience.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

No delays. She was great very friendly.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Originally from California, I attended Optometry school in Forest Grove, Oregon, and have lived in Longview, Washington since 1986. My wife and I were classmates, and she also is a Kaiser Permanente Optometrist. We have two wonderful adult children. I chose Optometry because I have had a lifetime interest in optics like photography and astronomy, and I have also had a lifetime of horrible vision myself and frequent trips to the family eye doctor!

About my practice

I spend half my time doing routine general optometry exams, and the other half seeing contact lens patients. I have worn contact lenses myself since early teen years, so I have a pretty good perspective on what that field is all about, and I enjoy working with contact lenses quite a lot.

How I thrive

Being in a health care field certainly drives home the point about reasonable diet and exercise! My wife and I both enjoy playing tennis, hiking, and snow skiing.

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?