Michael J. May MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 453 Ratings
  • 88 Comments

Dr. May is very thorough in his job and explanation of issues and concerning of patients! i fully trust him.

June 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. May is excellent.

May 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seeing Dr. May for a ling time. I have all the confidence in the world in him.

May 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have some serious issues with my deteriorating vision, and Dr. May has helped me understand what things I need to be doing to help hold things at bay.The prescribed eye drops are helping the glaucoma, and i've been consistent in applying them.

May 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. May is an excellent doctor. Very caring, listens very well. I am very comfortable with him.

April 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr May and Staff have always done an excellent job. I really appreciate their efforts

April 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have full confidence in Dr. May. He takes his job seriously, and is knowledgeable and approachable. He is truly interested in the patient's (my) future welfare.

March 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. May is both appropriately serious in manner, but is personable and caring. Good balance of traits for his profession.

March 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care experience provided by Dr. May has been consistently very good.

February 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I see *Dr. May every 3 months or so. I have the upmost trust in him and his team. I trust my eye sight to him.

February 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May exceeded my expectations. And I am a medical doctor myself. He really went hte extra mile so to speak. I would hihgly recommend him.

February 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

January 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The first time I met *Dr. May, I recognized in him a very smart, professional, kind, gentle person. He's one of the best doctors I've ever met at Kaiser. The glaucoma surgery I had at his hands healed perfectly.

January 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May really listens and worked with me on a plan of treatment that was comfortable with me. GREAT office!!

December 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exceptionally good. Dr May is the best eye surgeon I ever met.

December 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very nervous about these surgeries and he really put me at ease with his calm and reassuring manner

December 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. May is an excellent doctor. He is always professional, calm & steady. I have complete confidence in his skills & knowledge.

December 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR MAY IS GREAT .. ALWAYS ON TIME, PLEASANT, KNOWLIGIBLE. WOULD LIKE TO BE HIS PATIENT FOREVER.

November 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr May was thorough and caring. I'm pleased with my care.

November 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

have met with dr. may 3 times now and am getting more comfortable with him. He clearly knows his job, but perhaps because he is so quiet and soft spoken he and i don't really "click". Not anyone's fault, just feel more comfortable with other providers, though he did doa great job on fixing my retinal tear. so no complaints.

November 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. May is an excellent doctor.

October 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

September 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr May is excellent. I waited a long time in the exam room but only trust his judgement about my condition

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent physician!

August 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like *Dr. May. Been seeing for years! Good doctor!

July 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He's really a great doctor!

July 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is so well liked and helpful, caring, and very knowledgable which he explains in layman terms. Recommend him highly.

June 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been seeing Dr. May for many years and have never been dissatisfied with him or any of staff. I have complete confidence in his skills and treatment for an ongoing problem. If I could rate him and his staff higher than a 5 I would.

June 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May did a great job and is very down to earth.Explained every step to me.

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. May is an excellent doctor. He spoke well, clear & he took the time to go over my cataract surgery & told me exactly what was going to happen & showed diagrams of the eye. He has wonderful manners, soft spoken & very calming.

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed w/*Dr. May. He followed up on some questions I had from previous providers. He is really aces in my book!

June 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I got good service treatment from Doctor and nurses staff.

June 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr May is amazing and very kind, calm, compassionate

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I trust only Dr May for care of my eyes as a Diabetic!

May 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been with Dr. May for years and he has always spent the time necessary to educate me about the treatment necessary.

May 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

THis was a pre-op appointment for catarct surgery. Dr. May was clear and thorough. He gave good descriptions of what to expect and any choices that needed to be made. He answered all my questions and had a wonderful "beside manner!" He was warm & supportive.

April 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. May is an excellent doctor. Very zeroed in - attentive!

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. May explained what he was going to do about my eye. He was very polite and sensitive to my apprehension & treated me accordingly.

April 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I trust him!

March 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm quite pleased with *Dr. May! Trust his diagnosis.

March 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is a great doctor and a fine person.

March 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. May.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May is a gem. His diagnosis and treatment of my vision problem has made a huge difference in my quality of life.

February 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care provider even invited my husband to come in so he could hear first-hand information given me and help me make an informed decision on future plans.

February 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

always has been a good and pleasant visit. I think very highly of him and his ability...

December 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with Dr. May. He has been my ophthalmologist for a long time.

December 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It has always been a good experience with Dr. May

November 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love Dr. May. We have seen him so often we feel he's part of our family. We totally trust in what he does and recommends!

October 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. May is great!

September 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a good experience with this physician and staff. I do not know of anyone I could recommend the practice to, but I will if the opportunity presents itself.

September 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good experience

September 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the experience with Dr. May and [name] was very good. I was nervous, but their professionalism, knowledge and manner put me at ease.

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr falls into "cold" category. I felt talked down to.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. May rates a 10 out of 10 - very good ophthalmologist with a cool, easy going way that gives one confidence in treating their eyes. He performed glaucoma surgery that was highly successful over time.

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate Dr. May's willingness to engage with me regarding treatment, prognosis, etc. I tend to want to understand and ask quite a few questions.

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always, excellent staff with excellent care. Dr. May in my opinion is an outstanding MD and he has my full trust... He is my hero by helping me keep my sight.

August 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I so much appreciate and have every confidence in Dr May. He is one of the best doctors I've ever seen.

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May and his staff are excellent

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I enjoy having Dr May as my doctor. I feel more comfortable having someone who has seen me multiple times.

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was knowledgeable and informative.

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May was a wonderful doctor, he was very on top of things !! Really concerned about me being comfortable during surgery !! Always letting me know what was going to happen during surgery !! Wound recommend Dr. May to my Kaiser friends !!

May 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May provided outstanding care, and I would highly recommend him.

May 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am always very confident of *Dr. Michael May. He is at the top of his game. His manner is always very assured.

April 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exellent // I would recomment Dr May for ophthal

April 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent!

March 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very confident to have Dr. May perform my Cataract Surgery. He was very thorough and thoughtful, making sure that I was comfortable in facing this surgery. That I was.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May is an excellent doctor and I am lucky to be among his patients.

January 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May is fantastic!

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May and his helpers are always very good .

December 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr May and the support team are all excellent. I feel very comfortable with them and the kind treatment they provide.

December 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The best of care and information about care and treatment plan. Excellent Dr. and Staff.

December 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have the utmost trust in Dr. May and his staff; They are in my view outstanding and I very much appreciate their care and service.

December 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Doctor is excellent. He takes the time to explain what is happening and what to expect. He speaks clearly and in a very gentle manner. I am very happy to have him.

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It is always a pleasure to see Dr. May. I have great respect for, and confidence in him.

November 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very confidant that he will take excellent care of me.

November 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I trust his knowledge

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May is a awesome doctor and has tremendous knowledge. He is very valuable to others in his field and should be teaching others how to treat people who have problems with their eyes. The doctors at Kaiser are outstanding but Dr.May is exceptional and outstanding. Others should be trained by him. If he ever moved to another facility I would follow him anywhere on this Earth to care for me.

November 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. May is wonderful!

November 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience with the doctor and his assistant.

November 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been coming to this clinic for several years now and have always felt very well cared for by both the doctor and his assistants. // Dr. May has always been courteous, careful, thorough, and expert. An ideal doctor, really. I have complete confidence in the care he takes of my eyes and eyesight.

October 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I travel to Interstate from Battle Ground, Wa because of my respect for Dr May and his competence.

October 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr may and all staff have always been courteous professional and thorough. i trust them totally w my eye care .

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May is a excellent medical provider.

September 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. May has been my ophthalmologist for about 8 yrs and he's excellent. During this visit, something went awry with his queue, as I waited like NEVER before. Before going into the office, and again sitting in the chair for over 20 minutes unattended. He did apologize for the delay, and me being a past KPNW employee for 26 years, I am very well aware of potential delays in the clinics caused by other ppts.

September 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was taken care of with excellent & provisional care. With the skills that *Dr. May possess makes him a miracle worker to me. He is the best!!!

September 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would have been more comfortable hearing exactly what is going on with the damaged eye and not being told how healthy my good eye is. I can plan ahead if I know what I am dealing with. It made me afraid to ask how badly deteriorated my right optic nerve is.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have always had a good experience with Dr. May. // I have had Dr. May for several years. He has done two surgeries for me. I feel very fortunate to be his patient.

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

August 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from Cleveland, Ohio. I attended medical school at Ohio State University and completed my residency in ophthalmology at University of Colorado, and a fellowship in glaucoma in St. Louis, Missouri. I was on faculty at University of Colorado as the glaucoma specialist for five years prior to joining Kaiser Permanente. I wanted to be an ophthalmologist ever since I was very young because I saw the wonderful positive impact that eye care can have on a person's life. I consider it a privilege to see and take care of patients with visual problems.

About my practice

I practice comprehensive ophthalmology including cataract surgery and am sub-specialized in medical and surgery management of glaucoma. My interests include cataract surgery and all aspects of glaucoma, including surgery.

How I thrive

In my free time I like to spend time with my family. I also enjoying bicycling, skiing, and hiking.

Medical School ?

Ohio State University College of Medicine
Columbus

Medical Training ?

Glaucoma
Glaucoma Institute
Saint Louis MO

Ophthalmology
University of Colorado
Denver CO

Board Certification ?

Ophthalmology
American Board of Ophthalmology