Michael J. Mooney MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Cascade Park Medical Office
12607 SE Mill Plain Blvd.
Vancouver, WA 98684

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 84 Ratings
  • 12 Comments

Dr. and nurse were friendly and professional.

June 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was friendly and put me at ease. I felt comfortable with him. He understood and responded to my concerns.

May 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt very rushed doctor never even sat down I felt he was condescending over my "trivial" concerns and felt like I was being dismissed because what I have is "extremely common" and therefore, in doctor's opinion, should be left alone I had to push to have the result I wanted, at which point my husband agreed with me and then doctor agreed with him. I'm sure (I assume) he's competent but my "small" issue didn't seem very important, even though it is wildly important to me.

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate the doctor trying to get ahead of this unusual issue following my surgery.

November 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Staff and *Dr. Mooney were great!

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mooney and the assistant, whose name I have sadly forgotten, were a very warm, engaging team. I enjoyed their personalities, very much. [name]

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleased. Thank you.

July 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This visit was set up as a follow-up as my emergency hospitalization [date]. *Dr. Mooney was clearly informed/ read into the procedure/ findings of that event. I was impressed with his knowledge of my case and his follow-up plan. This doctor truly has my best interest at heart.

July 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mooney does a great job.

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like *Dr. Mooney. He made me feel very comfortable with him. He took plenty of time to explain what he would be doing and what would happen during & after surgery. didn't make me feel that just because I'm 82 that I shouldn't have the surgery -

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Hernia operation. My experience was excellent from start to finish & continues that way in recovery. *Dr. Mooney was exceptional as was the entire staff. Thank you for the excellent care & service.

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mooney really listens to you and did a awesome job on me for surgery. I wish all doctors could be like him!

December 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Having grown up as an "army brat" and then subsequently receiving medical and surgical training in the Army, I have had the opportunity to live all over the world. My five year surgical residency was in Tacoma, Washington at Fort Lewis, just "up the street" from Portland, Oregon, and was my family's favorite place to live. Most recently, I lived in Kennesaw, Georgia, working for Kaiser Permanente in Atlanta for the past 13 years, while watching my three children grow up and (finally!) graduate from college. Once our last child was out of our house, my wife and I looked at one another and asked where we would like to live if we had our choice and both of us wanted to live in the Pacific Northwest - specifically in the Portland/Southwest Washington area. We made the big move in the summer of 2012 and are thrilled with being back.

About my practice

I enjoy being part of the team of Kaiser Permanente surgeons. We have a group of surgeons who are uncommonly skilled and caring. The indications for, as well as the risks and benefits of, surgery can be quite confusing - helping to thoughtfully guide patients through decisions regarding surgery is one of my favorite parts of the job.

How I thrive

I confess to being hopelessly addicted to distance running. I recently ran (and really enjoyed!) my first 50-kilometer race and am eying moving up to a 50-miler as my next challenge. Needless to say, a love of cooking and eating with family work well with all the running. I am also a strong advocate for, and regular volunteer with, Doctors Without Borders, having greatly enjoyed surgical missions in Haiti, Sudan, Sri Lanka and, most recently, Nigeria.

Medical School ?

Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, F Edward Hebert School of Medicine
Bethesda

Medical Training ?

General Surgery
Madigan Army Medical Center
Tacoma WA

Board Certification ?

Surgery
American Board of Surgery