Michael K. Herson MD
4.6 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.6
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.5
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.6
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 161 Ratings
  • 24 Comments

Always gives you all the information and options. Great provider

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was rushed. He spoke rapidly. His attitude discounted any questions or concerns I had. He minimalized my own concerns about the process. He scoffed when I mentioned my family's concerns. I did not walk away with a sense of confidence about my diagnosis or his abilities.

May 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Herson was very professional and very kind. He explained everything in detailed and was more than happy to answer any questions I had.

April 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I met with Dr. Hearson on [date] and was very disappointed in his attitude and treatment of me. When I expressed concerns about specific side effects/symptoms I had been experiencing he was dismissive and verged on rude. His only substantial advice was that I take the [prescription] dosage that had been recommended (as I had/have reduced my dose to compensate for some particularly bad symptoms) and he was unwilling to discuss alternatives or hear me out.

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He does not talk about your health concerns. You tell him a issue you have. He says yes or no. He has no ear for your opinion about what your feelings are in regards to the issue. He is a bit intimidating. He never leave feeling like well that was a good visit.

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good!

February 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Herson was very knowledgeable and was the first doctor to ever follow and explain lab results. Very impressed.

January 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good.

November 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both the nurse and doctor were friendly, helpful, and answered all of my concerns.

November 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good.

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very happy with Dr. Herson

October 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Herson came across to me as impatient, wanting yes or no/black or white answers to his questions some of which were not easy to answer. I felt that he was not interested in hearing some of the questions or concerns I had about my condition which I believed were relevant to his specialty. He seemed concentrated on only one thing even though, in fairness, he did order a lab test for something else.

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first time to see *Dr. Herson. His first words were, "I specialize In [disorder]." I was so happy to have a MD who was familiar with my disease, and so relieved I nearly cried! And he was WONDERFUL. I'd highly recommend him to anyone.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was condescending and a little rude. I do not want to see him again. I will be getting a second opinion later this month.

August 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love my doc *Dr. Herson is "on my team" or to help me maintain a life of adventure and well-being, living with type 1 diabetes -

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thanks for asking me questions that show you looked at my chart and was aware of how I'm doing with my blood sugars, and for being very courteous, both of you. You didn't talk down to me because of my age, and I appreciate that.

July 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt *Dr. H was condescending as opposed to direct.

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr hersom is the best. kind and patient and explaining everything in detail

June 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Herson doesn't seem to enjoy providing me with the information I need in order to make appropriate decisions about my health concern. He seems annoyed with my questions and requests. I feel *Dr. Herson is likely a good doctor for those who wish to follow instruction w/o much question or hesitation, just not for me.

May 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Would highly recommend *Dr. Herson and his staff.

April 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience.

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I just didn't feel like he cared to really spend the time with me it took to discuss pros and cons of any treatment plan.

February 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Herson appeared to be in a hurry during my appointment. Other than the _____ (weight, BP, pulse) taken by the nurse, my visit could have been done over the phone. I had a question about a treatment prescribed by a previous dr. and he said it was not necessary without explanation.

September 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the dr was very kind and reassuring. I would recommend him very highly.

August 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in England but spent most of my life, including all my post-graduate medical training, in Southern California. I chose endocrinology (the study of hormone secreting glands) since I found it the most fascinating field of medicine. Despite having great jobs and great friends, my wife and I were concerned that the Los Angeles area might not be the best place to raise our children. Of the many options we had, my wife and I chose to move to the Northwest in 1991. We have never regretted it. My career with Kaiser Permanente is very rewarding. Although our two children are now out of the house and well on their way to their own careers, we continue to love all the things about the Pacific Northwest that brought us to this beautiful part of the country.

About my practice

I am one of the physicians in the Department of Endocrinology, although I like to think of us as a family. The entire staff works together to provide the best quality and service possible. Besides seeing individual patients with endocrine disorders, I also supervise several programs designed to improve the health of our entire population with endocrine disorders. I set up a teaching program through Kaiser Permanente for the Oregon Health & Science University endocrinology fellows and continue to volunteer teach on the hill where I hold the position of assistant clinical professor of medicine.

How I thrive

Almost every day after work, I get on my stationary recumbent bike and read my medical journals while I cycle. I like all kinds of puzzles and board games and was the author of OMNI magazine's first reader original puzzle. I love to read science fiction. For years, I was on board of directors for our congregation and now continue to be active as past president. For over ten years, I served as a volunteer teacher at our Sunday school. I have volunteered at the Southwest Washington Free Clinic since 2009. I am well known for being the worst joke teller at Kaiser Permanente.

Medical School ?

Finch University of Health Sciences/The Chicago Medical School
North Chicago

Medical Training ?

Endocrinology
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Los Angeles CA

Internal Medicine
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Los Angeles CA

Board Certification ?

Endocrinology and Metabolism
American Board of Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine