Michael N. Marcus MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 61 Ratings
  • 17 Comments

*Dr. Marcus is very helpful & knowledgeable and very caring & compassionate. He must see several ppl., and be very busy yet takes his time with me & my issues.

June 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with *Marcus. My previous dr. left Kaiser. *Dr. Marcus is so kind and friendly. I was so nervous to meet someone new but I feel like I've known him for years. He was very knowledgeable of my history and my medications. I can trust him.

May 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Fantastic!

January 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Marcus was wonderful. He was kind, caring, informative. In our communication via email since my visit his responses were timely and helpful.

December 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been very happy with *Dr. Marcus. He makes me feel at ease.

December 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Marcus is a knowledgeable, caring and trustworthy person. Lucky he's my doctor.

November 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Marcus was extremely kind & attentive to my concerns. He's great!

September 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Marcus is the BEST. He makes dealing with my mental health issues manageable because he listens and is understanding. FIVE STARS!

May 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very knowledgeable & very professional!

April 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleasant overall. It was sometimes challenging to understand how the discussion was relevant to my treatment, but he was pleasant, caring and supportive.

March 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*DR. MARCUS is caring, listens to me, is exceptional in every way. I am very happy and grateful *Dr. Marcus is my dr. He has helped me and I am doing very well in succeeding in life.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I enjoy my appointments with *Dr. Marcus and always feel heard/valued during our appointments.

December 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Marcus is excellent!

December 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with dr marcus

October 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Marcus was wonderful - this was a difficult time & he was so kind & helpful.

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent!

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Rushed through my visit. Didn't really feel like he was paying attention to my visit. No real concern of my care.

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am a native New Yorker with a life-long interest in being a physician. I attended medical school in upstate New York, where I realized the emotional and psychological needs of patients facing challenging illnesses and became interested in Psychiatry. I completed my residency at the University of Pennsylvania, and spent over twenty years practicing psychiatry in Philadelphia and North Delaware. I have earned awards for speaking to the public about mental health topics, educating medical and nursing students, and training residents.

About my practice

I believe in helping members formulate and achieve their goals for health and recovery by educating them in the broad range of available treatments to meet their individual needs. I feel there is no single way to approach someone's needs. Psychiatry and medicine are a collaboration between the member and psychiatrist. I work with members struggling with anxiety, depression, bipolar disorder, psychosis, HIV, sexuality and gender issues, substance use, medical illnesses, and complicating emotional disorders. I am excited to work with Kaiser Permanente for the opportunity to collaborate with kind, skilled, caring professionals across a system designed to do everything possible to improve patients' well-being.

How I thrive

I start my day by taking my dogs out for a walk, reading, and enjoying my morning coffee. I love reading, travel, hiking, enjoying diverse foods, music, watching my children grow into adults, and meeting new people.

Medical School ?

Albany Medical College of Union University
Albany

Medical Training ?

Psychiatry
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia PA

Board Certification ?

Psychiatry
American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology