Michael S. Alberts PhD, MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Cascade Park Medical Office
12607 SE Mill Plain Blvd.
Vancouver, WA 98684

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 57 Ratings
  • 15 Comments

Good staff & great doctor.

May 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was professional. I had just learned about breast cancer the week before. So there was a lot to understand and he took the time to explain about surgery & next steps.

March 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Alberts was friendly and explained the procedure as he worked. He also asked me personal questions to try and take my mind off the procedure. I am pleased with the results, thank you again. [name]

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Alberts gave me full confidence. I think he did an excellent job both in the interview and the surgery.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Alberts was great & seemed to move things along quicker than most. I appreciated that.

February 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Albert and his assistant were very professional and warm. My minor surgery was very competency undertaken and completed.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have total faith in *Dr. Alberts and sought him out for my needs -

November 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great, informative, caring visit.

September 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always treated well & professional.

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Alberts is a very kind, thoughtful & positive doctor. He answers all my many questions & even got in touch with other doctors to discuss my care. he was upbeat when I most needed it - I am very grateful for that.

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love *Dr. Alberts!

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The most caring, Kaiser I've meant so far. (Physician.) I'd rate him an A A A!!

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The best doctor and best care with my breast cancer.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience.

September 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Alberts provide competent professional care - Alleviating my concerns and instilling a confident trust in his care for me. Thank you! I was concerned & apprehensive - Your mannerisms conveyed skill and you instructed me regarding my concerns.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I consider myself a Northwest Native, having lived in Oregon since age one. Prior to becoming a surgeon I practiced as a psychologist, interested particularly in the emotional experience that accompanies illness. I was drawn to surgery for its potential to help patients most when they need help urgently. Outside of medicine, my wife and I enjoy spending time with our two kids, travelling in Italy, and staying physically active.

About my practice

My clinical practice is what we refer to as "general" general surgery. In addition to handling emergent surgical conditions, my elective practice runs the spectrum from breast surgery, hernia repair and gallbladder conditions, to skin cancer and wound problems. I enjoy the variety. I have an administrative role as the Associate Medical Director for Human Resources for our medical group. I have not abandoned my interest in psychology and I understand that the doctor-patient relationship can often be as therapeutic as surgical treatment. Most surgical practice occurs outside of the operating room, and this interaction is just as important to me as the operation itself.

How I thrive

I truly believe in the lifestyle Kaiser Permanente embodies. I strive to be an example of preventive healthcare in my own life and strongly support it for my patients. My family and I are active exercisers, runners, bikers, and hikers. We support an organic farm that delivers produce to our house weekly, and attend as many farmers markets as possible. We love travel and believe that a healthy active lifestyle and a Mediterranean diet are the way to go. I grew up athletic and have tried to continue that. I also taught myself to speak Italian for fun.

Medical School ?

Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine
Portland

Medical Training ?

General Surgery
St. Joseph Hospital
Denver CO

Clinical Psychology
Northwestern University Medical School
Evanston IL

Board Certification ?

Surgery
American Board of Surgery