Nilana S. Gunasekaran MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.1
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 181 Ratings
  • 26 Comments

*Dr. Nilana Gunasekaran is the BEST!

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is excellent

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. G. has excellent bedside manners. She has gained my confidence as a new patient for her.

November 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Nilanna Gunasekaran. My doctor was fantastic!! SO impressed that she asked about my mood!!

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gunasekaran was very efficient and pleasant in her professional and knowledgeable contact.

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great provider.

October 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gunasakaran and [name] were amazing through my whole pregnancy. they kept me informed and at ease. I look forward 5o having them care for my entire family. [name]

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm transgender. *Dr. Gunasekaran, he MA, and the patient access rep. were all respectful and completely competent to care for me. *Dr. Gunasekaran was kind and trustworthy. Her information was up to date. She provided me with options about my medical care and took time to talk through each of my medical issues. I'm very impressed with her and her MA both.

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love Dr. Gunesekaran and she has always provided warm, personalized care for our family.

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gunasekaran is an exceptional doctor. // I continue to recommend Dr. G to others.

August 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gunsakaren mentioned that she runs late and takes extra times with patients if needed, so I am fine with that as I know she will take extra time with me if I need it. // I felt I was able to communicate well with Dr. Gunsakaren and I think we are a good match.

August 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was so comfortable with Dr. G, and felt that she showed genuine interest in my questions. Didn't feel rushed. She shared great information.

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm pleased with my *Doctor Nilana Gunasekaran, she's kind & concerned, caring with my health issues. Listens well to what my health concerns are. [name]

May 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm very confident in *Dr. G.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

doctor was kind and professional.

March 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I saw the MD to receive an prescription for my mental health condition; she was unable to provide it, but gave clear instructions for how to get what I needed, and listened well.

March 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gunasekaran is always attentive, thorough and very knowledgeable.

February 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gunasekaran is a model doctor, I sincerly appreciate the personal touch and her ability to make connections with people. She makes me feel cared for and comfortable, tremendous combination! // Dr. Gunasekaran is everything I have hoped for in a KP doctor. She makes me feel so comfortable, and cared for. It is a unique feeling, knowing your doctor actually cares about you. I have had a few negative experiences over the years, and she has nearly erased all of those negative sentiments with positive ones. I highly recommend Dr. Gunasekaran and even recommended my family members to her.

December 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gunesakaren and her staff provide exemplary customer service. I'm always at ease and feel they have my medical concerns as a priority and excellent follow-up.

December 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She's awesome

November 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was 2nd visit w/my child re: urgent issue. Dr. was so unobservant she did not notice gender of my child & referred to her as a boy repeatedly, & did not respond when I pointed this out. Ongoing issue had to be repeated multiple times. In both appts. dr. was ONE HOUR late. No apologies. Rude, surely attitude. Was unwilling to take even minimal steps to help my child. Awful doctor, we dropped her immediately.

November 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The ONLY reason I might not recommend Dr. G. to anyone is the consistent wait times. Otherwise I absolutely love her.

November 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I also felt that she listened to my concerns and fully addressed them. I felt that she had respect for me and my healthcare goals and concerns.

October 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. G is a gem!

October 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gunasekaran is fantastic. Love her expertise and bedside manner. Couldn't ask for a better doctor.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my care provider, but the visit felt unusually rushed.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Florida, just months after my parents immigrated to the United States from India. I always had an interest in global cultures, politics, and history. Having a mother who is Pathologist, I also learned a lot about biology and took an interest in how the human body works. I decided to study science and technology at the School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University. I never had an intention of studying medicine, but after learning more about global health and economic development issues, I decided to pursue a career as a physician. I felt I could have a direct impact in educating and improving communities with their healthcare needs. I remained at Georgetown for medical school and residency. Family Medicine appealed to me because of its community-based approach for all ages and that it helped entire communities with their healthcare needs. Since residency, I have worked in non-profit primary care settings that have served very diverse populations, ranging from immigrant pregnant mothers and their young children in Washington, DC to HIV and transgendered patients in Baltimore. I currently live in Portland with my husband and three children and work as a family physician for Kaiser Permanente. Portland is wonderfully open and warm, and often feels like a big city with small town charm. It is unlike anywhere I have ever lived. It is an honor to work with all the dedicated staff and providers here at Kaiser Permanente. I truly respect their mission in providing excellent healthcare on evidence based medicine and preventive care to their members.

About my practice

I work at Interstate South as a family physician. Occasionally I work in Urgent Care at Interstate as well. I believe strongly in preventive medicine as the cornerstone of effective medicine. I enjoy the hands on individual style and the continuity of primary care medicine. It is wonderful to learn more about member's interests and their families as I meet their health care needs. Lastly, I value medicine based on scientific evidence with regard to screening, testing and treatment. I believe this is essential to improving the health care outcomes for our community and our nation.

How I thrive

I enjoy reading historical novels, watching funny movies, cooking, and eating new things from new places. I enjoy long walks regularly, but that is the extent of my athletic ability. In the winter, I survive the Oregon rain by hibernating with books and movies I otherwise would never read or watch. Every spring and summer I get garden fever, and plant more things than are likely to survive or get harvested. I thrive by watching things grow, change and blossom around me; corn, tomatoes, blueberries, eggplants, flowers, children, and people.

Medical School ?

Georgetown University School of Medicine
Washington

Medical Training ?

Community Medicine/Community
Georgetown University Medical Center
Washington DC

Family Practice
Georgetown University/Providence Hospital
Washington DC

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine