Panos D. Fourtounis MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.6
    Explanations
  • 4.5
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 265 Ratings
  • 42 Comments

Dr. Fourtounis and his staff were impressive.

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

extremely impressed and pleased with the amount of time the doctor spent talking and engaging with me about lifestyle factors and general health concerns. he also asked questions about my professional and personal life to obtain a more holistic idea of my stress/health/life. Very happy.

February 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent! Friendly, concerned, asked questions...I lucked out in my choice.

January 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr foutunis was terrific. always has a smile on his face and great eye contact

January 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Look, he is a treasure! LOVE HIM.

December 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

At my visit he had a kind, caring bedside manner and I felt very supported, heard and left feeling better than when I walked in.

November 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Fourtounis is outstanding!

October 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Fourtounis provided excellent care and concern. I would highly recommend him.

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Fortunas is an outstanding care provider! I have the utmost confidence in him. I've had him for a number of years now and gotten excellent care.

September 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Fourtounis is great!!

September 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm especially grateful for *Dr. Fourtounis. He is an excellent & empathetic doctor. Beyond that, I am a member of the LGBTQ+ community; I feel comfortable opening up to him about LGBTQ+ health concerns, both mental & physical. I cannot over state how important that is. Thank you!

August 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I very much like *Dr. Fourtounis. he is "my guy."

August 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Fourtounis is friendly, knowledgeable, caring, and answered any question I posed. Thank you!

August 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Fourtounis is always the perfect Doctor. Caring and friendly and show genuine concern

July 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Fourtounis has been my provider for years and we respect each other and openly discuss issues and arrive at resolutions that will achieve our end goals.

July 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was an excellent "get acquainted" visit.

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Fourtounes is empathetic, thorough, communicates well in terms that the patient can understand. He asks good questions and appears genuinely interested in the patient's health and well being. My visits are alway informative and pleasant.

July 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Fourtonis is a great doctor you should give him a pay raise there are not many doctors like him

June 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Fortounis is a phenomenal physician! He has been my doctor for 4 years. He is the best doctor I have ever had. He is really affable and compassionate and understanding and he is really really good at diagnosing and treating illness. This is a pro internist! 5 of 5 stars, all the way!

June 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Fourtounis is a very knowledgeable, caring physician, who listens well and provides clear explanations. I have full confidence in him.

June 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Fourtounis has been my Dr. about 8 years now. Helpful me quit smoking and had been always concerned for me. I feel like he's my personal physician. I have lots of confidence when I go to see him. And most of my visits are about follow up, or my hurt back. He recommends me getting in shape, too. Thanks!

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love *Dr. Fourtounis!!

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Instant rapport - ease, facility with communication - & guess just overall friendliness and willingness to listen to me.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Fourtounis took a lot of time to talk to me about my medical history and my problems.

May 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he was so understanding and helped me get the issue resolved

May 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always nice to see *Dr. Fourtounis. I love having a "kindred spirit" for my primary care.

May 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Fourtounis was extremely polite, answered all of my questions and was very thorough in my treatment and discussing my health concerns with me. Very glad to have selected him.

April 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Meeting Dr. Fourtounis for the first time was a pleasant and informative experience. I could tell almost immediately that he truly cares about his patients and that he is highly experienced. I hope to have him as my care provider for as long as he is in the area. I would strongly recommend him to anyone who is in need of a provider!

March 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor who I've always felt comfortable with. I like Dr. Fourtounis and feel very confident that I get good and caring medical help from this man.

February 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always meeting with *Dr. Fourtounis was very good.

February 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The physician was great.

January 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Fourtounis is one of the best doctors I have been associated with. He includes my thoughts and concerns in any medical issue we are discussing. Interstate is not the easiest office for me to get to but I would put up with any hardships to stay with Dr Fourtounis. He is the best, and I'm not easily impressed.

January 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr., and nurse were very polite and pleasant to be around.

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Fourtounis is confident and inspires confidence. Gives the impression of being an excellent doctor, and is extremely courteous. But he always gives the impression of being short of time.

December 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. F always seems rushed - actually too a little more time on this visit. My impression is that he just wants to prescribe a medicine - or refer you to PT. Whatever my complaint he barely lets me describe the issue.

November 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was given a last minute appointment with this provider per my Dr's officer request so I wouldn't have to wait to go to urgent care. I explained to this provider that my jaw and ear was hurting and I was suffering with nasal drip for a few weeks and my pain level was 8. Dr stated that he would give me nasal spray, a sick note and ear drops and then he left. Visit lasted about a minute. After care instructions only had an order for ear drops and nothing else. I had taken the bus and max from [location] in pain and caught the bus back in more pain. By the time I got back home I had to take myself to urgent care for more help. I understand that I might have been his last patient of the day but that doesn't mean I don't deserve the same attention to detail as everyone else and maybe more so because I would not have a seen a different Dr if it wasn't an emergency for me.

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my health care provider, but he does not spend even five minutes to listen to my health concerns. To me that is disrespectful to patients because when I set an appointment I need to have a conversation with my health care provider about a health issue.

October 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

love Dr. Fourtounis

October 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Fourtounis is one of the best doctors I've had experience with.

October 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Compassionate primary MD; he is concerned about this patient, calm, and friendly.

September 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

You already know this. Dr. Fourtounis is a gem. Dr. Fourtounis has one major problem: no one should be allowed to be so handsome and charming. I compare his "bedside" manner to that of the Hope Diamond: sparkling, bright, yet soothing.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr was fine, but support staff were more generic than was necessary. Ho hum attitude. // My dr verbally told me that my records show I was due for a mammogram and it was time for blood work to be done. I waited for some time before the nurse came with my paperwork and did not read it at that time. Once I read it, I was disappointed that most of what my dr and I discussed was not even on the paperwork. It seemed like only a form letter that could apply to most everyone that visited that office. (no mention that I needed blood work or mammogram) I DO refer to my previous dr visits to make certain I have remembered everything we discussed. I feel that the several pieces of paper that were used were pretty much a waste. Yes, it shows I was there and paid my money, but other than that, it does not say why I was there or what we discussed.

August 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I moved to the United States in 1992 for postgraduate specialty training after completing medical school in Athens, Greece. After three years of vigorous training at the State University of New York in Buffalo, quite a few epic snowstorms, and many new friendships, I moved to Boston to do a clinical fellowship in medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital (Harvard Medical School). In 1996 -- after deciding I wanted to become a citizen of this fascinating country -- I moved on to North Carolina to practice internal medicine. I joined Kaiser Permanente in Portland in the summer of 2005, following many years of practice at a large private medical group in eastern North Carolina.

About my practice

I went into medicine intrigued by the complex biology of the human body, but what gives me the most satisfaction today is the opportunity to work with my patients to keep them healthy, and if necessary, arrive at a diagnosis and a good plan to restore their health and well-being. I like to use good judgment to sort out conditions that need aggressive medical or surgical therapy or referrals. I treat the rest of the problems with watchful waiting and reinforcement of good habits, healthy diet, exercise, and reassurance. I aspire to know my patients as whole persons and not as a collection of "problems." Listening carefully and being in the moment in the examining room are priorities of mine.

How I thrive

I have a wonderful partner and a rather opinionated Lhasa Apso that keep me balanced outside work. When I'm not working I travel a lot, and skiing is a recent passion of mine. You will often find me at symphony halls and opera houses (I have been known to plan long weekends in other cities just to catch a performance). If I hadn't gone into medicine, I think I'd have made a good airline pilot! I still look out the window every time I fly and love the view of all the iconic Oregon and Washington mountains from up high. I cannot get enough of Portland's great food scene, and cooking for friends is something I thoroughly enjoy. My favorite beers are craft-brewed IPAs, and I love a good Cabernet -- everything in moderation, of course!

Medical School ?

National University of Athens School of Medicine
Athens
Greece

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
State University of New York at Buffalo
Buffalo NY

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine