Patrick Kwong OD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 345 Ratings
  • 67 Comments

*Dr. Kwong and his assistant were very courteous and friendly. He explained the concerns about my condition and was helpful in describing what needs to be done. He did not try to sell me anything that I did not really need. I was very pleased with the whole exam.

March 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Patrick Kwong - very satisfied. Will request him in the future.

March 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was the best optometrist I have experienced in all my years with Kaiser. Very polite, informative, and funny!

March 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

communication was clear and straightforward, kept it informative but not scary or overwhelming.

March 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Kwong, OD was the best eye examiner I have ever been to. He was full of info he gave me.

February 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with my visit & with *Dr. Kwong - he was kind, courteous, efficient.

January 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong answered my question about cataracts then printed more info for take home.

December 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong is one of the nicest andf riendliest people I have ever met. Very thorough and clear. this was a wow experience.

December 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kwong was great - I will definitely request future appointments with him.

November 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very glad that I found him as my Doctor, I really liked him.

November 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kwong is very good. He is the only eye dr. who realized what my eye problem is & has taken the time to help me get my eyes to where they are much better (ongoing condition). *Dr. Kwong is very nice, personable, & professional.

November 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

all good..no problems ... Dr Kwong was very caring and made sure I understood.

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kwong was very personable and friendly, very professional and efficient w/procedures.

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the doctor was great. asked several times if I had questions about my health concerning this visit or any questions of any kind regarding my health. he is the first doctor to explain to me how my eye color was related to head aches I sometimes get.

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwang is a great listnener and is very good at explaining things in a way a lay person can understand. He is very caring.

October 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed and grateful by all of above my care provider.

September 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong is very comfortable to be with. He is thorough, informative, and supportive.

September 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kwan was truly exceptional and especially compassionate

August 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong is a knowledgeable and smart doctor. His answers to my questions were super good. Smart doctor! Thank you so much...

August 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I will be asking for Dr Kwong at my next eye appointment. He was excellent!

August 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong is an outstanding Doctor. He is the greatest. Hope he stays for a long long time.

August 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

first time to meet with this doc. was very willing to answer my questions and explained very thoroughly everything he was doing. I felt listened to and cared for.

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kwong was great about explaining the test results and how this applied to me current vision and what to expect as I continue to age (this is my first pair of glasses - at [age] I was concerned that my vision was changing dramatically and he explained that I had just finally reached the "tipping point" to where I noticed my vision changing).

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong was terrific. Excellent communicator, kind, funny, re-assuring -

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both *Dr. Kwong and his assistant were very good and made the visit most enjoyable. Wonderful care providers.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong is very professional, kind and patient. He demonstrated excellent knowledge and empathy with eye care issues. He gave me complete confidence in his expertise and knowledge. Wonderful!!

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong is has a very gentle demeanor that I appreciate. He explains everything thoroughly and clearly explains the options I have. I hope he stays in Salem

May 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with his taking the time to explain what was going on with my eyes and how what I was doing was adding to the problem and how I can ease the problem with dry eye. His explanations were clear and made perfect sense to me.

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good provider, listens and very caring.

May 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both the doctor and nurse were really knowledgeable when it came to answering any of my questions regarding my eyes and eye care. They were also very friendly too! It was a great visit.

May 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was a great Doctor and really made me feel comfortable when doing the exam.

May 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kwong answered all our questions & never made us feel like we had to hurry. He made us feel like he would stay until all our questions were answered. Never felt rushed.

May 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kwong is the most outstanding optometrist/he has taken wonderful care of everyone in our family. His diagnostic skills are superb and he always provides a clear explanation of eye disorders to his patients. We feel so fortunate to have found *Dr. Kwong! He is an exemplary care provider. He takes the time to listen and he really cares about his patients.

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

asked if had questions and concerns very helpful

April 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly. Made you feel like you mattered

April 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong was very skilled at talking to me directly about my scary situation. He was concerned that I was not unduly frightened but expressed the urgency of several follow-up tests and exams. I appreciated his tone and open manner.

April 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Kwong was an excellent optometrist. He was thoughtful and did not hurry the exam as others have previously. He understood that speed only resulted in a substandard outcome.He answered all of my questions fully.

March 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy.

March 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong is a new provider for me since Dr. [name] retired. I was put at ease by Dr. Kwong by his listening/communication manner (listening is communication also) and empathy. His explanations were to the point and gave me the information I needed to make informed decisions. He seemed very eager to establish a good Doctor/patient relationship and appreciate that. Good marks for Dr. Kwong.

March 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough and very pleased with all aspects. Dr. Kwong explained everything very well!

March 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It appeared that he was in a hurry, did all really quickly and I was out in no time to chose my glasses. I am not certain I got a fair evaluation of my vision.

February 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I actually meant to call in and leave a compliment for Dr. Kwong. It was by far the best experience I have had at Kaiser. My daughter has been to so many doctors and gets really nervous. Dr. Kwong made this appointment a breeze! He made her comfortable and even made her like being there. If all doctors acted towards kids the way he did, there would be alot less crying kids at the doctors and alot more happy moms and dads. Best appointment ever :)

January 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kong is very kind, does his job very good, always have the patience in mind. Wonderful person.

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is a doctor who cares about his patients.

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a very good experience with the dr and his assistant

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong was exceptional! He was very thorough in checking my eyes AND explaining what he was finding. He made sure that I was satisfied with the information before ending the appointment. I was very pleased with the entire interaction.

December 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first experience with Dr. Kwong and I think he is great I plan on seeing him all the time. Very considerate and attentive to my needs. Asked questions and then listened.

December 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong was knowledgable, caring and friendly. He gave me one of the best eye exams that I have ever had, and I was very pleased with his service.

December 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Kwong is my favorite OD provider he is so professional and caring. I'm glad I finally found OD provider that I trust.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Patrick Kwong gave me more information than any other OD ever has at Kaiser.

November 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I loved how the doctor showed me the difference between my current prescription and what the changes would be with the new prescription. Very thorough and thoughtful doctor.

November 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong is excellent and has helped me immensely with my dry eye condition. He explains options in a very understandable way and has a calming manner.

November 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong is one of the best doctors I have experienced. He was very knowledgeable, very kind, and compassionate.

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am SO glad that I switched to Dr. Kwong. He is always so patient with my questions/concerns. He has a ready smile and seems very thorough and knowledgeable. No complaints

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Kwong was very pleasant and knowledgeable. Good visit!

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong is a very excellent doctor. I had seen him before. Also, he is very caring and personable. // I had concerns and a complaint that were taken care of by my Opthalmologist, Dr. Kwong and the optical shop.

October 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very up front and very professional. I enjoyed my visit very much. Made me feel very reassured.

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong was friendly, courteous, and professional - and he has a good sense of humor.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong was the best eye doctor I have seen at Kaiser. He answered every question I had and explained them in terms I could understand. I would recommend him to family and friends without hesitation.

September 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Patrick Kwong, OD if the best

September 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kroung was very helpful and took time to inform me about the exam and what he was looking for. He explained his observations and findings and advised me of what I can expect in the future. I appreciate the time he spent in making sure I understood what he was saying.

August 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong was competent, personable, easy to talk with and listen to, all-around a great doctor and person.

August 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

one of, if not, the best eye doctor,,,thank you // truly an excellent doctor and staff

August 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kwong was one of the most professional and caring providers I have had at KP. He did not speak down to me and gave me information that was relevant, then answered my questions, which were more than basic. I was extremely impressed and have already recommended him to others.

August 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen a lot of eye doctors due to a recurring eye issue. Dr Kwong is the first doctor who I felt communicated clearly with me about the issue, about why he was making the treatment choices he was and about what options I have as well as any potential side effects. He is the first eye doctor that I have seen that I felt confident about their treatment and felt like all treatment options had been thought through and explored.

August 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent marks for Dr Kwong, he is an amazing DR!

August 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service!

August 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Medical School ?

New England College of Optometry
Boston

Medical Training ?

Ocular Disease
Seidenberg Protzko Eye Associates
Havre de Grace MD

Optometry
New England College of Optometry
Boston MA

Board Certification ?