Philip Z. Wirganowicz MD
4.8 / 5
(503)813-2000
Sunnybrook Medical Offices
9900 SE Sunnyside Rd.
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 99 Ratings
  • 39 Comments

*Dr. Philip is the best. He took time to explain my concerns and what steps to take next.

March 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Philip Wirganowicz is not only the best doctor on the planet but also one of the kindest, caring people I've ever met. I always leave his office feeling better about myself, and humanity as well! I always recommend *Dr. Wirganowicz to people in need of knee care. We need more doctors like him!

February 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

One of the best if not the best doctor I have ever been to. [name]

December 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

[name] and Dr. Phillip were just amazing people. I was very impressed with them and they made me feel confident.

November 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor, good visit.

November 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Phil was gentle, caring, and thorough. he explained my options for treatment and helped me figure out what made sense. He was also hilarious! He definitely exceeded any expectations I had.

November 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Phil & his assistant [name] are absolutely the best. Always friendly, knowledgeable.

November 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wiz was great!

October 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was very good - showed care for me I really have faith in him.

September 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Phil and [name] were "the best." My very first surgery & after care were perfect. Thank you.

August 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This man took the time!

July 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

What a wonderful team! MD and CNA are outstanding! Great follow-up and communication.

June 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wirganowicz and his staff are compassionate individuals who truly want to help patients improve their lives. There are no egos getting in the way of their work.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Phil was so nice & made me feel like I was really heard.

March 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Phil is great. I've had several visits with *Dr. Phil and appreciate his compassion and expertise. It would be great to have more complete after visit summaries.

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall an A+ for service completely - staff & MD - the best!!

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent as always!

December 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care was consistent with other information I've been given but also insightful and usable.

December 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Felt that the fracture was treated with care, caution and expertise.

November 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Phil has an outstanding personalty. I appreciate his care and what was best for me as an individual.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Phil is the best surgeon and Dr. He is very detailed, attentive, patient and caring.

November 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really, Really liked Dr. Phil, He made me feel very comfortable and positive about the future.

September 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Phil is a gem among physicians. He is patient, honest, and caring. I trust him and am immensely grateful to have him as a member of my care team.

September 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Phil is the friendliest and most caring Doctor I have met in many years, even to the degree of his caring that comes across in his emails.

July 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

What integrity, professionalism w/ this surgeon

July 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wirganowicz & his staff were phenomenal. *Dr. Phil's bedside manner was the best I have ever seen! My whole experience from pre-op to surgery to post op has been outstanding. I would highly recommend *Dr. Phil & his staff to anyone needing knee surgery.

July 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love *Dr. Phil & his nurse is great!

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wirganowicz, thank you for the thoughtful meeting and review of my medical issue. Because you took the time to review a digital image where another medical provider did not, you made the correct diagnosis. _____

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Phil and his assistant [name] are outstanding. Probably the best experience I have had in the 30+ years I have been a Kaiser member.

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

February 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Phil is one of the most warm, friendly, caring drs. I have ever had. I'd like to take him home with me. [name]

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Phil is the best! Patient, kind, I'm so glad he's taking care of me.

December 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wirganowicz is a very kind and caring dr. He takes patients concerns. Seriously and helps patients choose which medications and treatment would b e best for them.

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

"*Dr. Phil," had the best bedside manner of any doctor I have ever met.

December 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Phil was fantastic! One of the nicest docs I've encountered at KP!

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I gave an overall rating of VERY GOOD because I believe the care provider actually cared about my condition because his actions. He was very patient and willing to answer any question whether long or short. He made no inkling of the need to leave the room.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was impressed with Dr. Phil's ability to instill confidence, as I am anxious about the forthcoming procedure. // Each of my questions was handled as if it was the first time he had been asked...I'm certain it wasn't. I had a clear understanding of the surgical process.

August 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The main reason for my visit was that the radiologist did not explain my MRI results in layperson's language. It turns out I misinterpreted the results. *Dr. Wirganowicz interpreted the results so I could understand them.

August 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wirganowicz displayed exceptional patient relations.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I first joined The Permanente Medical Group in Northern California in 2000, after being on the faculty at the University of Pennsylvania as an academic surgeon. After spending 13 years in the Bay Area developing a regional Musculoskeletal Oncology service for Northern California Permanente, I accepted an opportunity to develop a similar tumor program for Northwest Permanente in July 2013. Although born and raised in Northern California, I have long been drawn to the beauty of the Pacific Northwest, and feel like a salmon returning back to my lost home.

About my practice

I like being a part of Kaiser Permanente because I am able to practice medicine without having specific restrictions from insurance companies that may limit particular tests, medications, and hospital stays. I am trained as an Orthopedic Surgeon, and have subspecialty training in Orthopedic Oncology. This involves the work-up, evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment of bone and soft-tissue tumors, including both benign (non-cancerous lesions) and malignancy (cancer). Due to the potential diagnosis of a tumor, many patients and families have a great deal of anxiety related to their condition. I treat patients with a simple philosophy of caring for them as if they were a family member. I explain their condition in understandable terms, and take time to answer questions regarding different treatment options.

How I thrive

I enjoy the outdoors, and participate in cross country mountain biking and racing. I also help coach a high school mountain bike racing team, which pushes me to keep up with these athletes who are far younger than me!

Medical School ?

University of California, Los Angeles School of Medicine
Los Angeles

Medical Training ?

Orthopaedic Surgery/Orthopaedic Oncology
University of Washington
Seattle WA

Orthopedic Oncology
UCLA Medical Center
Los Angeles CA

Orthopaedic Surgery
U C L A Hospital and Clinics, Center for The Health Sciences
Los Angeles CA

Board Certification ?

Orthopaedic Surgery
American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery