Punprapai Boriboonsomsin MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 188 Ratings
  • 32 Comments

I have had 6 oncologists in the past. Dr. Boriboonsomsin is excellent!

July 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boviboonsamsin is a very caring, compassionate caregiver. It is evident she cares about her patient's health.

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boriboonsomsin is a good listener and very helpful with our concerns.

May 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. B. has been wonderful, caring, compassionate & very qualified.

April 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I found her kind & attentive to my questions.

April 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. B. is very sweet!

April 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boriboonsomsin is wonderful. She was through and explained things to me in a way that I could understand. I felt like she really cared. What a great oncologist. I would highly recommend her. I appreciated her actually talking to me.

March 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good love the dr.

March 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor B. has been wonderful as with all oncology of Kaiser very caring and informative about cancer related matters.

March 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. B is so kind and caring. I had concerns about the medication and I felt she listened, understood, and worked with me to come up with a plan individualized to me. I couldn't ask for a more compassionate doctor - Thank you!

March 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. B. is a caring, knowledgeable Oncologist. I am very thankful to have found her.

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My husband & I are new to Kaiser. Dr. B. exceeded my hopes in finding a new oncologist - my confidence in her is over the top.

February 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always excellent service from *Dr. B. & her staff.

January 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A wonderful dr.!!

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. B. is wonderful MD. I'm blessed having her for my doctor.

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I "love" *Dr. B. and her staff. They made me feel SO GOOD about chemo, my progress, treatment, office visits, etc. I also LOVE that they all have a great sense of humor - and we can share laughs about & during treatment. If chemo can be called a very good experience - its certainly due in large part to the chemo nurses, and *Dr. B. and her staff. Thank you.

January 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Boriboonsomsin is so caring and makes me feel that she really understands what I'm going through. I wish all doctors were as wonderful as *Dr. B.

December 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. B is a very good doctor. She is friendly, courteous, considerate & most helpful.

December 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel that Dr. B genuinely cares for my health & well-being. She is a professional, loving person.

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love my doctor. She has been taking care of me 2 yrs.

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. B. & her team are always friendly, sympathetic, and forthright in my treatment planning. *Dr. B. is excellent.

August 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is knowledgeable, kind & patient with all my questions. I have a rare disease & deeply appreciate her familiarity with it.

July 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My current oncologist, *Dr. Boriboonsomsin, is the greatest ever. She is kind, courteous, and very professional.

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Boriboonsomsin shows great concern about my condition, heart felt. Her explanations of my personal are very good.

June 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boriboonsomsin is very calm and gentle and positive. She really listens and goes over all the details of my illness possibilities, what to look for etc. She is always friendly and warm and does not seem in a rush. I appreciate her interest and care.

June 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

WEe love *Dr. B. and have already recommended her to a friend just diagnosed with kidney cancer.

May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr was so kind and caring. This was my first time seeing Dr. B. I love her.

March 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good really like this doctor she really cares about you.

February 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exceptional care.

February 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've always had an excellent experience with *Dr. B, even when it's not so good news.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a hard time understanding her and while in the appointment she told me she was ordering special tests or certain things (x-ray). It took 3 or 4 phone calls to get everything schelduled right because I was told she didn't order the tests like she told me. Not really happy and will probably ask to scheldule my next appointment with another Doctor.

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was a new doctor for me - very pleased.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from Thailand where I completed medical school and Family Medicine residency. While I was in training there, I had opportunities to take care of cancer patients in their homes. Those memorable experiences and the fascination with discoveries of new cancer drugs and treatments made me wish to become a hematologist/oncologist. When my husband and I moved to California in 2005, I started pursuing my dream. I attended University of California, Los Angeles Kern Medical Center for Internal Medicine residency and University of California, Los Angeles Olive View Medical Center for Hematology/Oncology fellowship. I am very happy to be part of the Hematology/Oncology team at Kaiser Permanente.

About my practice

I believe in comprehensive approach to cancer care where patients are not only treated for the disease but also engaged in improving their overall health. I strive to provide personalized care to meet specific needs of individual patients. I enjoy listening to my patients and answering any questions about your care. My goal is to be a partner in improving your health. With the combination of up-to-date medical knowledge about the disease and treatment options, a great team of nurses, pharmacists, and others, as well as strong support system, I believe that patients will receive the best quality of cancer care.

How I thrive

I am fortunate to have a wonderful family. My husband and I have two sons and we enjoy watching them grow up. Our family spends a lot of time together. I love helping my older son with his homework and reading to both of them at bedtime. I take a lot of photos of my sons and share them with our families in Thailand. I also try to make sure that we make a vacation trip every year to see the world and refresh ourselves.

Medical School ?

Mahidol University Siriraj Medical School
Bangkok
Thailand

Medical Training ?

Hematology and Oncology
UCLA-San Fernando Valley
Sylmar CA

Internal Medicine
Kern Medical Center
Bakersfield CA

Board Certification ?

Medical Oncology
American Board of Internal Medicine

Hematology
American Board of Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine