Rachel J. Young MD
4.6 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.6
Overall Score
  • 4.2
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.6
    Explanations
  • 4.5
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 140 Ratings
  • 22 Comments

This was my first appointment with this provider. I was overall very happy

May 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Rachel Young was a very thought provoking, caring person, one of the best I have seen since starting at Kaiser! I would like to request her as my primary doctor - she really listens and gives you eye contact she works with you for a plan of treatment and seems genuinely concerned. One of the best I have seen in a long while!

April 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am happy that I have *Dr. Young.

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great job. Made me feel good.

November 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have utmost confidence in *Dr. Rachel Young. She displays genuine interest & concern & I completely trust her judgment.

September 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My overall impression was good (this visit) to very good (thinking about the next visit or contact). 'Very good' to me means 'exceeded my high expectations' and is not, for me, a likely evaluation.

July 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel good about my new doctor. [name]

June 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care provider rushed my consultation. Not all my questions were answered.

June 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was wonderful.

May 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young is very caring and a good listener. She is an excellent healthcare partner. // My doctor was prompt and efficient.

May 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my new doctor. She has a lot of knowledge and I will recommend her .

May 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I enjoyed my visit with Dr. Young. She is a patient advocate and a good listener.

February 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Young and the nurse (whose name I unfortunately forgot) were great. Very patient with me, answered all my questions and showed great care for my concerns, comfort and privacy.

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young was amazing! She was genuine and approachable; kind and caring; extremely knowledgeable on a variety of issues; showed immense concern; made me feel at ease that I was in good hands going forward.

January 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always have a great experience with *Dr. Rachel. She is caring & takes her time.

November 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Young was very pleasant and had knowledge of my previous care which gave the impression she had studied my history. She was very compassionate and caring.

November 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young was friendly, put me at ease, and answered all my questions. She was understanding of the challenges I face in meeting my health goals and reassured me that I was doing what I could and should be to maintain a healthy lifestyle.

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I haven't been to a doctor in quite some time and *Dr. Young took her time with me listening to all my concerns it was a validating experience. I would recommend her to anyone.

October 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both Dr Young and her assistant were very pleasant and informative

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Young was thorough about checking me out, but it was too early to tell what the issue was. She gave me detailed instructions of what to look for and when things progressed, I reached out. She was very responsive, I was able to schedule an appointment quickly. Health issues can be scary, but doctor *Rachel and her team left me feeling confident, knowledgeable about the situation, and well cared for.

July 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Young was a delight. She listens well & offers a course of action making it easier for us. What a relief to have found a primary care provider who will help us through the last third of life with a smile! Thank you.

July 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Young was great! Very friendly, and very caring

June 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from the Bay Area and moved to Portland in 2016. I completed my undergraduate studies at Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island focusing on public health, with a particular emphasis on women and children. I spent a lot of my free time volunteering at various places, including Planned Parenthood and a women's shelter on the Sioux Indian Reservation in Lake Andes, South Dakota. Each experience helped me to understand the significance of social, cultural, and economic influences on health and well-being. After college, I worked at UC San Francisco on projects related to how pregnant women and their partners make difficult decisions about whether or not to undergo prenatal testing. This experience solidified my desire to study medicine. I attended medical school in Southern California, where Los Angeles County Hospital was my classroom. The patients, who often had no access to healthcare until they were very ill, taught me the incredible power of a mutually respectful physician-patient relationship. After residency, I worked with Palo Alto Medical Foundation taking care of a panel of patients for 10 years that included multiple generations of families. I look forward to having similar longstanding relationships with members and their families at Kaiser Permanente.

About my practice

I love taking care of multiple generations of families because I think that knowing something about a member and where they come from is a key part of managing chronic illness. This is why I chose Family Medicine as a specialty. I believe that the mind and the body are intimately connected. I also consider the physician-member relationship to be a partnership, and I enjoy working with my members to understand their specific biases and concerns so that we can best move toward health and healing. Working together, I hope to address preventive health care topics so that we can be proactive about health, rather than exclusively reactive to illness. My particular areas of interest include full-spectrum Family Medicine, including the care of children and adolescents, and women's health.

How I thrive

My goal is balance. This doesn't always work out, but I do my best. I have two young sons, and they remind me every day what the world looks like through young eyes-this is magical. I love being a mom and I love being a physician-the human connections unite them, and I strive to be good at both. My family tries to get outside as much as possible whether it includes running after my toddler on his scooter, going to the farmer's market, or taking a walk in the park. We are loving our new Portland community and are looking forward to continuing to explore the culture and outdoor activities as we settle in. When our kids are a little older, my husband and I hope to get back to traveling the world together and exploring other cultures.

Medical School ?

Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California
Los Angeles

Medical Training ?

Family Medicine
San Jose Medical Center
San Jose CA

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine