Randall J. McClellan OD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Salmon Creek Medical Office
14406 NE 20th Ave.
Vancouver, WA 98686

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 352 Ratings
  • 104 Comments

I thought Dr. Randall J. McClellan, OD did an excellent job getting my eye prepare for glasses again very patient and understanding about my needs

July 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he was very informative and listened and explained everything

July 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm [age] yrs old - have encountered many care givers during my life. Dr. McClellan rates as one of my favorites! // DrMcClellan and his staff are very empathetic and a credit to Kaiser Vision Essentials

July 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great

June 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McClellan is an absolute pleasure. He is kind, thorough & caring. Excellent doctor!

June 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan is exceptional. very, very good with his explanation and care for me as an individual. never seen someone quite this good

May 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I ask for *Dr. McClellan because he is very thorough, friendly and professional. And he gets my special issues.

May 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is better than the best I can give

May 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good experience questioned answer. doctor listened to all of my concerns

April 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent person and professional

April 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr was great

April 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We were impressed with the ability of the nurse and doctor to work with our 2.5 year old. Thanks for being so great with our son!

April 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My ratings of my provider Dr. McClellan, and his Assistant [name] speak for them selves.

April 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent!

April 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good

April 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor and his assistant were very caring and provided much needed information. I really like this team.

February 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like this doctor. I asked for him

February 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have a lot of confidence in *Dr. McClellan always treated very well.

February 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I couldn't ask for a kinder doctor... thorough, professional, caring, & down-to-earth... very sincere.

February 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr and his assistant were amazing, they took their time and answered all my son's questions, we never felt rushed. My son was a little nervous and they both made sure to ask why he was nervous and did what they could to put him at ease. It was a great experience!

January 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan is very painstaking in the concern he shows for questions I had at time of visit. His exam is very thorough and I am confident in his explanations.

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great bedside manner!

January 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A very good experience, as usual. Dr. McClellan is always very thorough and explains everything very clear.

January 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was very nice and took care of my problem quickly and explained everything that was happening in language I could understand.

December 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan is an excellent doctor and I look forward to having him do my annual eye exam every year. He is professional, thorough and takes the time needed for his patients, along with answering all my questions. He is definitely an asset to Kaiser.

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Randall McClellan, OD is very through in his exams and explains things well. I was seeing him for glasses after cataract surgery. I would highly recommend him to others. Thanks for having such good doctors in your plan. [name]

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent caregiver and very thorough

November 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care provided by the staff and Dr. McClelland.. they are the best.

October 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

described the problem, scheduled follow up and directions for eye drops clearly

October 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Most excellent in all areas!

September 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly, professional & sincere.

September 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good doc, very professional and thorough.

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he was outstanding!

July 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a good experience. The doctor was very thorough.

July 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience like *Dr. McClellan very much. Good match.

June 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very attentive to my preferring no dilation at 7:30 am visit prior to going to work. Was able to conduct exam thoroughly without drops. Answered all my questions, gave referral I needed.

June 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

one of the best doctors I have ever taken my child to. very happy all that he did for us.

June 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good experience - level of communication matched to my level - not too scripted nor overly detailed

June 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan is an amazing provider, an eye exam for a 4 year old can be really scary and stressful but [name] and Dr. McClellan were a great team that really made it fun and interesting for him. Hands down, one of the best experiences with Kaiser yet.

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First rate!

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McClellan and his nurse [name] were fabulous! Our son was a little nervous for his first eye exam but they explained everything! *Dr. McClellan answered all our questions. Great team!

May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr McClellan is always a good listener, thorough, professional and helpful.

May 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Randall McClellan did an excellent job both in testing and conversing. He made me feel comfortable. His professional mannerism could not have been better. Really a special eye doctor.

May 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McClellan is wonderful care giver. Tests are smoothly completed. with brief double check opportunities to let my eyes refocus. Gentle, friendly, unhurried session.

May 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I received thoughtful and a good exam. The doctor listened carefully & answered all questions as did the assistant.

May 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr McClellan has been my opthamologist for several years now and I trust him to give me the right treatment and the correct prescription for me. He is always very congenial and explains things so that I understand just what he is seeing. I expect to continue seeing him for years to come.

May 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan was great with my son, not even a cry with dilation drops.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr McClellan is great. I see why he would be the pediatric specialist. My daughter had her first eye exam and did not even cry even with dilation drops.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have already recommended the provider to others

March 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great with kids

March 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very friendly staff and optometrist- great with kids!

March 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr McClellan is easy to talk to, explains what he is doing and any changes in my eyesight.

February 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan is very thorough and takes the time to explain what he is doing and what the results are.

February 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan is an extremely professional, compassionate provider. He took a great deal of time to describe my evolving vision and the importance of regular care. Thank you.

February 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleasant experience - the doctor explained everything and was most helpful

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McClellan was fantastic, informative and helpful, and gave us clear options on how to move our child's care forward.

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McClellan went out of his way to answer our questions and was much appreciated.

December 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

December 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He gave what seemed to be a thorough exam and then explained, using an eye model, exactly what was happening. He carefully explained what danger signs to watch for. I felt he was very competent and understanding.

November 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had this dr. before more than 5 times pretty awesome & kind I'm very lucky.

November 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan was excellent! His compassionate care and concern, along with his knowledge and professionalism gave me great confidence and assurance that my surgery was healing well and I would have a good outcome.

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

answered my questions with great explanation.

September 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I continue to greatly appreciate Dr. McClellan's focused compassionate care.

September 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Far exceeded my expectations. Really helped me understand my problems and what to do for self care

September 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was excellent. Very thorough & caring. Explained what was going on & all possibilities & options. Very kind man.

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor

September 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Listened and clearly described my health issue

August 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr McClellan is a compassionate and thorough Doctor. I appreciate the care he has given me.

July 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan was thorough, thoughtful and explained my conditions so that I could better understand what is happening. He was understanding of my questions and concerns and he gave me clear complete answers. He took the time to listen and answer. I would highly recommend Dr. McClellan.

July 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McClellan was great... He was welcoming and very competent.

July 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a very pleasant experience. I found the Doctor to be very clear in his explanation and in explaining the changes in my eyes. I have already recommended him to a family member. // The Doctor took the time I needed to explain my concerns and actually listened which has not always happened when a doctor is in a hurry. I would highly recommend this doctor!

May 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He explains everything so well with reference to individual concerns. Very caring and understanding of senior eye problems.

May 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good. *Dr. McClellan was very nice listened to and answered our questions. He had a very rapport with us and we would recommend him and all of the nurses in the vision center.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Tyler Rose was incredibly helpful. He diminished my concerns and explained things in a way that left me confident and comfortable.

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Once he realized we weren't mad at having to wait, he was very helpful and concerned.

March 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. and staff all excellent! Best and most thorough eye exam I ever had.

March 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan is excellent! He has a wonderful demeanor, is professional yet friendly; very informative about the process I could expect regarding upcoming treatment for a cataract. I would highly recommend him!

February 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.McClellan is very thorough and considerate of my concerns!

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything explained clearly to me both dr [name] and dr McClellan answered questions I had thoroughly

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience.

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

His suggestion for one of my problem seems to be workong so far.

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A careful and conservative doctor who shared my belief which made me feel very comfortable.

January 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan is always very kind, thorough in his examination, and sensitive to my concerns. He takes the time to explain what is going on and never makes me feel rushed.

January 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleased with the treatment and explanation given to me. Excellent technique, absolutely no discomfort.

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan is very caring and personable as well as competent and efficient. He gave me a great post-op experience and I appreciate his manner and solicitude.

January 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My 1st time with this doctor, since mine is out on maternity leave. I like him and he does a good job, so I'm happy.

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor took her time with me and dealt with every issue I was concerned about.

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan took extra time to check my eyes and explained what he was doing and why. He also shared with me what he saw and from there we made a follow-up appointment. He discovered that I had an issue in my left eye that required immediate attention. I am so grateful for Dr. McClellan, this is the second time he had noticed a concern with my eyes and he was spot on!!!

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was very kind "nice man."

December 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very Dependable care and service

November 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had previously gotten eye glasses outside of KP. That experience was a disaster! Dr. McClellan picked up the pieces and solved the problems.

October 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Was very impressed with *Dr. McClellan. Best & most informative exams I've had. Excellent chair side manners.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough, very friendly, very courteous, good empathy. Inspires good confidence.

October 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor McClellan explained in detail the reasons behind my condition. Appreciated he treated me as thought I would understand.

September 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan is the most competent and thoughtful doctor in his field that I have ever encountered.

September 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent eye doctor; took his time and was very professional

September 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Verey good experience, Dr. explained everything to my satisfaction

September 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

thank you

September 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really liked Dr. McClellan.

September 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was kind and showed courtesy. He listened and responded well. I will return to his care. // I'm happy about the care that I am receiving.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. McClellan did a great jb for me. He was through in his exam and explanations. I felt lkie he really cared about my needs.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Randall J. McClellan, OD was thoroughly professional; he also took the time to explain procedures and the condition of my eyes. I really appreciate his personal and empathetic care.

September 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. McClellan was polite and professional and dealt easily with younger children. We would happily see him again if needed.

August 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit with *Dr. Randall Mc Clellan was a good one - He answered all my questions regarding my vision.

August 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Oregon City and West Linn and attended West Linn High School. I discovered a fascination with eyes and vision during my college years, which ultimately led me to optometry school at the Southern California College of Optometry. My family and I moved back to the Northwest for my residency at Pacific University. We love living in such a beautiful place.

About my practice

I have a passion for helping both pediatric and adult patients. I believe in preventive eye health and that means involving YOU in decision making that affects the precious gift of sight. My patients can tell that I listen. I am genuinely concerned about meeting your needs and guiding you in your eye health decisions. Good vision is precious and definitely worth all it takes.

How I thrive

I love what I do and get great fulfillment from clinical practice. My hobbies generally change every few years. I try to stay active in my local church and community-part of my life's great big balancing act. The center of my life is really my family, which mean everything to me. I live with my wife and young daughters in Vancouver, Washington.

Medical School ?

Southern California College of Optometry
Fullerton

Medical Training ?

Pediatric Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Optometry
Southern California College of Optometry
Fullerton CA

Board Certification ?