Richard A. Varan MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Mt. Scott Medical Office
9800 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 185 Ratings
  • 62 Comments

my interaction with Dr. Varan was excellent. I felt included in his process of analysis.

July 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Varan is by far the best primary care physician I have ever had!

April 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Varan never seems rushed during my office visits. He explains the condition & options very thoroughly.

March 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Varan is the best - he NEVER rushes though the appt!!

January 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt I wed being scolded like a child the whole visit. I was not comfortable at all.

December 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The provider was sure that I understood everything especially if I asked questions.

November 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough in explaining the issues and discussing the symptoms and recommendations

November 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Varan was pleasant and also listened to my concerns.

October 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Varan & his staff are the best.

September 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

bedside manner too serious for my liking. Didn't smile the whole time.

August 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor eased my mind about my health questions.

August 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Varan always listens to concerns and responds caringly.

August 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Varan very concerned,and very helpful

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Varan always asks for input regarding other medical concerns that might be in my mind. I appreciate that.

July 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great communication

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Varan is the best dr ever and his staff couldn't be nicer

February 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Varan is a fantastic primary care doctor, who suggested PT for pain and ranger of motion. I have since scheduled a session. I am appreciative of his kind concern.

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Varan is extremely knowledgable and provided me with excellent care. My wife and I appreciate the follow up, both printed and online. Thank you!

December 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm so impressed with the time Dr. Varan takes to give informative knowledge and explanations. His kindness also comes through and I feel like he truly cares for his patients.

December 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Varan did an excellent job listening to my wife's and my concerns and answered all of our questions in a straight forward and caring manner. This was my first visit with Dr. Varan and I am very happy with the results. I feel like the doctor did a great job making both my wife and I feel as if we mattered.

November 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He took time and did not minimize any of my concerns. He gave me useful information.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everyone was very friendly! Really like our "new Doctor" and his nurse! Doctor was very thorough in his explanation of heath concerns!

November 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

overall very good experience.

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent physician. Takes time to explain and answer all questions so that I leave feeling that I was cared for and can fully participate in my own health. Very good communicator.

October 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Varan always explains what is going on and what's needed so I can understand and make an informed choice about my treatment and that gives me confidence in him

October 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate dr. Varan respecting my opinion and point of view

August 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was good at explaining things to me.

August 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Varran is a wonderful doctor and I love the fact that he listens to what I have to say as a mother

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Varran is so respectful and knows his clients very well

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Varan has a kind manner, never seems rushed or impatient and explains his thoughts about my medical concerns clearly and well.

July 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen Dr. Varan for about 10 years now. I like him as a primary physician. It is helpful to me that he remembers me and is familiar with my health record. He is tactfully honest, which I appreciate

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Varan provided excellent care.

May 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Varan has been my primary for quite a few years. We have a great relationship. I trust him to take care of me by the time he sees me has familiarized himself with my history and is able to talk to my concerns.

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love [name] & *Dr. Varan. We were hesitant about having a family doctor instead of a pediatrician, with 3 new baby boys. Each time we see *Dr. Varan he is very personable, knowledgeable & patience. If he has an hesitants he is open to admit it & suggests a more experienced dr. in the area of question. He is wonderful!

April 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

superior professional care

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Varan is the best doctor I have ever had. // I do recommend Dr. Varan to others.

April 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Varan is very thorough and always shows care and concern. He listens, asks questions and is willing to engage me, as a patient, in my course of care.

April 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish the provider would be more happy that my blood pressure and weight had went down from last visit. It would help me to do better.

April 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Varon is a provider who cares - treats me as a person.

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Varan is FAR better at making me NOT feel rushed than the other primary care doctors I've tried. He is friendly in a very professional way, seems very competent, and listens and replies. He uses the computer but doesn't hide behind it.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It took a while to see him after I got in exam room But, I Appreciate the fact that Dr Varan takes time to work with each of his patients and does not rush us. He answers our questions and explains things very well. I would rather wait for him than have him rush through my appointment and leave me questioning what happened.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Didn't always feel doctor was listening to what I was saying

February 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased to have *Dr. Varan take me as a patient. Great visit concerns addressed, look forward to working with him in the years ahead.

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had an ongoing medical problems acutely since 11/15 and up to now. Dr Varan and staff have been patient about my many request to be seen and to discuss my the condition of tongue sores, and sore throat etc. I just want to find out what I can do to figure this problem out.

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great caring Doctor. Couldn't have expected better.

February 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with Dr. Varan - I'm very pleased.

February 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Varran is amazing! He explained the issue and involved me in care decision making

January 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Varan is a wonderful doctor!

December 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor gave me a prescription which has already helped me greatly. I have been suffering since last spring.

December 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt that when I asked the doctor, questions to clarify what he meant he "talked down" to me or seemed annoyed he had to repeat himself. I did love all the information he gave me though!

December 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Varan is nice and quite knowledgeable - I'm glad he's my doctor.

December 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I LIKE MY DOCTOR AND APPRECIATE HIS EFFORT TO HELP ME.

November 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Varan took time to explain what was happening and how the medicine he prescribed would help which it did. I was totally satisfied.

November 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The wait in the exam room was a little long, but I think it was because Dr Varan spends time with his patients and that is a good thing. // Dr Varan was great and the visit exceeded my expectations.

November 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good experience, glad I came in to see him(doctor).

November 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My primary doctor *Dr. Varan, always listens to my oral and email concerns! He is now my husband's doctor. (Yes, I made the recommendation.) *Dr. Varan is a true and caring professional whom I admire & trust.

November 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first interaction with Dr. Varan and I was VERY impressed. He seemed concerned, took all the time needed to answer my questions and I felt treated as one should be as a patient. He is GREAT!

October 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough!

October 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time seeing Dr. Varan. I'm very pleased.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

His notes were not even accurate. I do not drink any alcohol and he listed me as drinking alcohol occasionally. I'm not sure he even listened to me when I was talking. // My appointment was scheduled for 9:20am. I was not in a room or screened until almost 10am. The Doctor did not even mention being so late and no apology for waisting my time.

August 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

doc fit me in to a full day, but wait was unusually long in the room. I'm grateful they squeezed me in though

August 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Raised in an Appalachian mill town north of Pittsburgh, I first pondered becoming a doctor while growing up down the street from my hometown hospital, where my mother worked as a nurse. Years later, during college, I studied Portland in an urban planning course and grew deeply interested in living in Oregon. After college, I spent a couple years travelling around Asia and teaching English to Chinese children and adults. During this time, I met the woman who has become my wife. In time, we moved back to America and settled in Portland, where I attended medical school at OHSU. After residency, I joined Kaiser Permanente's Department of Family Medicine and have worked at the Mt. Scott Medical Office, on the Sunnyside campus, since 2005. While we greatly enjoy travel, these days my wife and I spend most of our time at home with our daughter, enjoying Portland. After our daughter goes to bed, I spend most evenings reading, especially public affairs and natural history. I am a member of several professional and community organizations, including the American Academy of Family Medicine, the Oregon Academy of Family Medicine, and the City Club of Portland. Since early 2011, I have served as Kaiser Permanente's regional chief for family medicine in Oregon and Washington.

About my practice

A family doctor devotes years of training to learn the skills and knowledge needed to provide comprehensive primary care to the whole family. I provide primary care to patients of every age - from birth to the end of life. Whether managing childhood illnesses, adolescent injuries, or any of the many chronic diseases of middle and later life, my goal is always to provide the best quality care possible. While I very much enjoy working with patients as individuals, I particularly enjoy getting to know entire families. Supported by Kaiser Permanente's advanced technology and computer-based patient care resources, and working closely with my specialist colleagues, I strive to be a familiar face and a dependable home base to my patients within the Kaiser Permanente system. I try hard to encourage healthy choices and emphasize preventive care. I perform a variety of office-based orthopedic and dermatologic procedural treatments for my patients, including joint injections and skin biopsies.

How I thrive

I strive to maintain a healthy balance in life, seeking a rich private life while also remaining dedicated to serving as the personal physician for each of my patients. Raised to value hard work, personal integrity, healthy habits, and devotion to family, I try to cultivate moderation in all things. A philosophy major in college, I try to approach life with circumspection, seeking a balance between work and family, and also between spontaneity and familiar routine. Watching my daughter grow and learn every day reminds me that even life's smallest moments feature little delights and new discoveries. Talking everyday with patients and learning about their lives reminds me that the world offers an amazing variety of things to see and do in a lifetime. I thrive by trying to take the time to appreciate these little life lessons as they present themselves to me both at work and at home, on even the busiest days.

Medical School ?

Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine
Portland

Medical Training ?

Family Practice
Providence Milwaukie Hospital
Milwaukie OR

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine