Richard C. Cohen MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 101 Ratings
  • 16 Comments

Dr. Cohen is by far the best pediatrician at Kaise Permanente. He has taken care of all for of my children, including one who is severely disabled, as his own. We now have a new addition (grandson) to our family and we are glad to have Dr. Cohen care for him as well. Dr. Cohen has shown genuine concern and compassion towards the different events that have occurred with my children. He is very personable and we see him as an extension of our family. We are honored to have him be a part of our very personal lives and you should be proud that Dr. Cohen represents the very key characteristics of Kaiser Permanente - to provide high quality care and service.

April 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I expected more discussion around what to expect for my son's next year of life, as this was an annual exam.

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Cohen & his MA are a great team. He's quirky in a good way and makes us feel at ease.

December 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt so much better after our visit!

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Cohen is the best!

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We have been blessed to be a part of *Dr. Richard Cohen's practice for over 20 years, 4 children ages [ages]. At every visit with him and the staff, the care and concern is exceptional. And to our family he is the best pediatrician in all of Portland, OR. Thank you Kaiser for having such highly trained, caring care providers like *Dr. Richard Cohen.

September 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the appt time was for 1:40 and the dr was out of the room by 1:50. i did not feel listened to or respected, i did however feel dismissed.

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Cohen has been very helpful and attentive! especially last summer when [child] had to be hospitalized while on vacation

June 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Cohen is great. We arrived miscommunication at our house hold, *Dr. Cohen & staff still made it a priority to see us. This made me so happy, relieved stress of scheduling a new appointment & coming back on a different day. so grateful.

June 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We really love Dr. Cohen!!

March 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my son had asthma symptoms for the first time. in retrospect this was very overwhelming and it would have been helpful to get more background information on asthma and on the medications

January 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

11 yrs this month our Son was diagnosed with T1 diabetes. These quarterlies with Dr. Cohen and team are extremely helpful, supportive, informative.

November 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

After two ER visits and no answer as to what was making my son sick, *Dr. Cohen solved the mystery on our first visit. *Dr. Cohen is literally the reason we want to stay with Kaiser. He is an amazing pediatrician! We love him and are so thankful for his excellent care.

November 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love *Dr. Cohen and [name]!

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Cohen & this MA are punctual & kind. Would like 1-2 sentences on what to expect for development leading up to next visit - not just _____.

September 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Cohen is genuinely concerned about my son and I appreciate how well he takes care of him.

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am a native of Chicago, Illinois. I worked in Hawaii for the United States Public Health Service prior to my residency in pediatrics at Oregon Health & Science University. I practice primary care outpatient pediatrics and hospital-based medicine. I worked to establish our cystic fibrosis care center and was the director of that program for many years. I am also one of a handful of Kaiser Permanente physicians who specialize in diabetes care. When I leave work, my "work" often begins with twin teenage boys. In addition to family, my interests include hiking and camping, singing, playing piano, dancing Salsa, learning Spanish, and staying active. I have an infant granddaughter whom I cherish.

About my practice

Kaiser Permanente gives me the opportunity to pursue a variety of aspects of pediatric and adolescent care in both specialty and primary care. I love my patients and am available at a moment's notice for those with acute and complex medical issues. I particularly enjoy interacting on a personal and informal level with my patients and their families.

How I thrive

Staying active and fit is my highest priority. I am very involved in the activities of my twin boys. I have a wonderful wife who, in addition to being a great math tutor to the boys, keeps me centered.

Medical School ?

Finch University of Health Sciences/The Chicago Medical School
North Chicago

Medical Training ?

Pediatrics
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics