Richard D. Southgate MD
4.5 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Westside Medical Office
2875 NE Stucki Ave
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.5
Overall Score
  • 4.1
    Wait Time
  • 4.5
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.5
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.5
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 58 Ratings
  • 8 Comments

*Dr. Southgate has done an outstanding job with the entire knee replacement process. He is a caring, professional doctor, great surgeon!

July 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Southgate explains the whole thing that is going to happen - o make better than the last knee surgery. I liked him very much.

July 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Southgate is terrific. He is a friendly & caring man who truly cares about his patients. He is confident & capable. I felt in good hands. [name]

July 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good experience many questions answered Dr. Southgate made me feel as though he would do all he could to help my recovery after surgery and that is important to me

July 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Southgate performed hip surgery on me and I received excellent care through the whole process. I already have recommended him to a friend who needs surgery. From a scale of 1 - 10, 10 being the best, he is def. a 10

July 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Southgate and team are extraordinary. I felt very well cared for and the teams ability to work together was wonderful. RE: *Southgate, MD - My surgery went beautifully and I had complete confidence in his skills. [name]

January 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Southgate was friendly, approachable, caring and very informative about my options. He told me more about my situation in our first appointment than I have learned over the last year.

January 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience was really good. I had every confidence in my surgeon. Everyone went way beyond being friendly & helpful.

January 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Columbus, Ohio, but I have always been an Oregonian at heart. My father is from Portland, and living here fulfills a lifelong dream. My mother is a nurse who imbued in me, from a young age, a love of science and a desire to help others, so medicine was a natural choice. My undergraduate degree was in biology from Carleton College in Minnesota, and I went to medical school at the University of Chicago. I completed my residency in orthopedic surgery at University of Rochester in New York. I did a research fellowship at the Mayo Clinic while in medical school, as well as a clinical fellowship in hip and knee replacement surgery at the University of California, San Francisco.

About my practice

What attracted me to orthopedic surgery and to the field of arthroplasty (joint replacements) was their pronounced effect on quality of life. My main goal is to get members back to their hobbies and be as independent as possible. This can be accomplished through hip or knee replacements or through nonsurgical means — the precise treatment depends on the patient, and shared decision-making is paramount in determining a plan of care. Another interest of mine is geriatric hip fractures; I have published several book chapters on the topic. The elderly population is often overlooked in our society, but I find them to be the most rewarding patients to take care of. Being able to focus on this age group is a bonus in my choice of arthroplasty. Finally, I strive to treat all my patients as if they were my own family. This is what I enjoy most about being a physician with Kaiser Permanente: I can put the needs of the patient first and worry less about the business aspect of medicine.

How I thrive

My profession is one of my central passions, but I also enjoy trail-running, hiking, and bicycling. College football (Oregon and Ohio State) and international soccer are my favorite sports to follow. Cooking and travel are other interests, as is spending time with family and friends. My mother is from Ecuador, and I was fortunate enough to spend half of my elementary school years there when my father worked for the United States embassy. This allowed me to pick up native fluency in Spanish, which I have used in my volunteer work in clinics for the uninsured in the United States, as well as on medical missions to Ecuador, Guatemala, and the Dominican Republic.

Medical School ?

University of Chicago, Pritzker School of Medicine
Chicago IL

Medical Training ?

Adult Reconstructive Surgery (Joint)
University of California (San Francisco)
San Francisco CA

Orthopaedic Surgery
University of Rochester
Rochester NY

Board Certification ?