Richard J. Segal MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
North Lancaster Medical Office
2400 Lancaster Drive NE
Salem, OR 97305

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 263 Ratings
  • 55 Comments

*Dr. Segal and nursing assistant are always exceptionally friendly, helpful & professional.

May 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We joined KP for this provider.

May 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really enjoy my visits with *Dr. Segal and his nurse. They all treat me very well and provide excellent care, good information. I have nothing but positive experiences with all -

April 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Another GREAT experience!

February 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Seagal is a true asset to the KP staff!

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is very knowledgeable and sharp. And I was only in for a physical exam. My first visit with him at KP.

February 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had nothing but bad experiences with doctors for a long time. Instantly I felt comfortable and that he actually cared about helping me. Kind, professional and listens and answers my questions. I wish he could be my primary! I left my first appointment with Kaiser feeling helped, confident in our plan and overall impressed.

January 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service and care. *Dr. Segal is thorough, courteous and very likeable - a great doc.

December 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The clinic was very busy, and it was obvious the clinicians were taking care of business as speedily as possible. When it was my turn to be seen, I was given plenty of time to ask questions and be satisfied with the discussion with Dr Segal // Dr Segal and I have a very honest and good relationship. He always listens to my questions and concerns and provides rationale and information - - and, we usually find some way to have a laugh when we meet. I'm very happy he is my primary care physician.

December 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr Segal and his assitent [name]

December 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

EXCELLENT DOCTOR! I AM SO GLAD HE IS MY DOCTOR,AND THAT HE ENJOYS HIS JOB WITH KAISER PERMANENTE TOO!

November 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Segal is genuinely interested and caring. He is exceptional in promoting and providing the best health for each individual. Professionally he ranks greater than can me measured.

October 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Segal was informative and caring as he went through my issues and concerns. I am confident that he is a great member of my health team.

September 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great Doc

September 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Another GREAT experience!

August 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate very much the attention *Dr. Segal pays me when I'm telling him how I feel even when I sometimes feel that are many different things for I visiting and he still always ask me before living that if there is anything else I want to tell him.

August 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Seagal is also a true asset to KP!

July 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Segal - Consistently the best there is! Knowledgeable, compassionate, caring.

June 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Segal is great

May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Supportive, intelligent, responsive and kind

May 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Segal has been my primary for some time. I'm in love with him!! He is so caring, he listens to everything I have to say, takes notes! and then explains what we are going to do about each item. He always asks if there is anything else I want to talk about, he checks over everything. I feel like I'm his only patient! He is also very prompt in answering any notes/questions, I sent him on the Kaiser website. He's the BEST!!

April 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like *Dr. Segal. I felt he was really there for me and not interested in doing all his computer work while I waited.

April 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Segal was very sorry that I had waited so long to see him. He proceeded to give me his undivided attention and answered all my questions fully and focused on my problems. He is very caring and gave me encouragement on my conditions. I have complete faith in his abilities and knowledge.

March 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Segal & his nurse [name] have always provided me with the best of care. Their friendliness, professional & personable care is much appreciated. [name]

February 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have Dr. Richard Segal as my primary doctor, and I am thrilled! I believe he is the best doctor in the world, and I am fortunate to have him as my doctor! He is kind, considerate, compassionate, and very willing to help resolve any of your issues.

January 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Seagal is a true asset to Kaiser Permanente!

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Segal & his MA, [name], have always been excellent communicating with me about my health issues.

December 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Superior!!

November 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I enjoy having Dr Segal as my doctor. I have come to appreciate his manner and have high confidence in his opinion

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My *Doctor *Richard Segal MD IS AN EXCELLENT DOCTOR.

October 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

have allready recommend my dr to others hes careing and makes sure i understand and provides me with any info i ask

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always excellent service!!

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel that this Dr and his assistant are capable and caring.

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Segal is always willing to give me a thorough explanation of any treatments and answers my concerns. I sincerely appreciate him.

June 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good care by *Dr. Segal. He treats me with respect. He explains everything and encourages me to ask questions. His nurse is a gem.

June 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would recommend Dr. Segal to anyone and everyone. He is an outstanding Doctor, and a real asset to Kaiser Permanente.

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Segal is very good. Thorough, caring, listens well. answers your questions, knowledgable, takes time with you, and a nice person. We have confidence for our care with him.

May 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like interacting with *Dr. Segal, he is a very good communicator.

April 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have always had a good experience seeing Dr. Segal. Of my 74 years, I have had several Doctors over the many years. I would say that Dr. Segal is the best. He is a excellent physician, When he left his private practice, too come too Kaiser Perm. there was no doubt that I would follow him.

February 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Segal is always willing to listen to my concerns and answer or explain them to me.

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Segal makes sure to carefully answer all of my questions. I am most appreciative as I am sure that I got much more of his allotted time!

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am grateful to Dr. Segal. He is always knowledgeable, supportive, caring, understanding. On a scale of 1-5 I think he rates a 10+. A genuine thank you!

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Segal and his nurse, [name] are a true asset to KP!

January 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sigil takes time to explain different matters to you. He is very concerned overall.

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

ALL good.

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Segal is an excellent Doctor, and I feel grateful that he is my Doctor! // Excellent!

December 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I followed Dr. Richard Segal from his private practice, too Kaiser Perm. He is a excellent physician.I was a little apprehensive about coming too Kaiser, but I have had excellent care.

October 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Segal receives the HIGHEST rating possible (in every category, including especially his genuine compassion, true interest in the patient, MOST excellent up-to-date knowledge ability, friendly manner, and ability to get things done for positive outcome)! [name]

October 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Segal and his nurse are the best!!!

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like Dr. Segal, very engaging, answers questions very well, good sense of humor

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Segal is a very good doctor. He listens & tries to help

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We like *Dr. Segal and staff at Lancaster. So "5 very good" on all. [name, date]

September 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor and staff gave me confidence and brought me to a state of ease. I am very happy with them.

August 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like him and do hope he will stay with Kaiser for a long time.

August 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Segal and his nurse are outstanding in my back.

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been practicing internal medicine in Salem for more than 25 years, and I continue to get great satisfaction from my practice and working for Northwest Permanente. I have taken on several leadership roles but foremost enjoy caring for my patients. I graduated from UMDNJ-RWJMS-Camden, now known as Rutgers Medical School, in New Jersey, and then completed my internal medicine residency in Baltimore. My family includes a beautiful wife, two adult children, and two dogs. We have a great family full of love and humor.

About my practice

My main focus in internal medicine and in my practice over the years has been preventive medicine. My mantra is "quit smoking, lose weight, monitor your diet, and get daily exercise.

How I thrive

I practice what I preach! I exercise daily, which includes running, swimming, lifting weights, practicing yoga, and biking. I am very proud to say that I qualified for and ran the Boston Marathon in 2009. After 11 marathons, I now train mainly for half marathons, trail runs, and shorter distances. My current favorite event is the Olympic-length triathlon. I also like to garden, read, and spend time with my family and friends.

Medical School ?

UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Piscataway

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Sinai Hospital of Baltimore
Baltimore MD

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine