Richard R. Jenkins MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Gateway Medical Office
1700 NE 102nd Ave
Portland, OR 97220

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.2
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 217 Ratings
  • 50 Comments

Dr set me up with a person who could further help me with this problem. She gave me lots of advice and will do a follow up in a few months.

July 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is professional, courteous and experienced. He spends the requisite time necessary to make certain one is properly examined and given sufficient time to ask all questions. I am very pleased he is my primary care physician.

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Jenkins has been my doctor for many years. I have had many doctor over the years but I can't remember one as good as *Dr. Jenkins. Thank you. [name]

July 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am fortunate to have Dr. Jenkins as my primary care provider. He listens to my concerns and takes the time to explore alternative treatments with me.

June 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with *Dr. Jenkins as my dr. He is very caring, and does a very good job. Thank you. [name]

June 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I continue to be very pleased with Dr. Jenkins' support and detailed information about my health care, and preventative measures advice. Thanks again very much.

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Jenkins is the best doctor I have soon. I cannot recommend him enough.

April 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Richard R. Jenkins one of the best!!! He is very knowledgeable, understandable.

April 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great visit, prompt and courteous. Thanks!

January 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was an excellent first visit w/*Dr. Jenkins who patiently and thoroughly addressed all my concerns and provided helpful information to help me maintain my health. Bravo!

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've been very happy with the care I've received from Dr. Jenkins.

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always with *Dr. Jenkins - A good/excellent experience.

January 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Jenkins & his staff are wonderful, & I sing their praises! Visiting the Gateway Clinic is like visiting a "second home." I am so grateful to have *Dr. Jenkins as my physician. Thank you! [name]

December 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins behaves as though his patients are personal friends.

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Jenkins is the best MD I have ever had

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*DR. Jenkins has been my doctor for a number of years and I think he has been the best dr. I have ever had. He takes the time to listen to me and talk to me in away I can understand. He goes the extra mile every time. Kaiser is very lucky to have someone of his caliber know I am. [name]

November 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

ENJOYED MY VISIT!

October 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is very kind & shows patience & true concerns about your problems - My husband likes him too.

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins was very thorough in every way as well as being very caring, understanding and knowledgable about my condition and remedies.

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

love Dr. Jenkins

October 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR. Jenkins is very thorough, kind and interested.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Any visit with Dr. Jenkins is a very plesant experience

August 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent visit. Dr Jenkins is caring and competent. Highly recommend him.

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have always been treated with the best of care and respect.

August 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is an outstanding physician.

August 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is the BEST!!

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I couldn't ask for a better dr. and staff. Thank you!

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I rate my *Doctor Richard Jenkins 5 star, great doctor! Does a great job!

June 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor's *Richard Jenkins, is without a doubt, the BEST doctor I've ever had. He has taken the time to truly have a good understanding of my issues. And has treated me perfect, and I honestly can say the quality of life has really changed for the better.

June 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I will continue to travel over 30 miles to see Dr. Jenkins and the staff at Gateway. Excellent care // even though he was running late and I was last patient he spent quite a bit of time with me answering all my questions.

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins uses the art of listening, and as a result I am not rushed through the visit , getting to ask important information. Dr. Jenkins recommended for me to sport and lose some weight at an earlier visit. I had the time to pay attention and followed his advice.As a result I lost weight and have lowered my blood pressure. I am now trying to pay attention to other recommendations. I am very happy with Dr. Jenkins listening style. He makes patients feel like people, rather than numbers.

May 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor; he was attentive to my issue, explained what he was checking for, arranged for scans, gave me pain advice; I got everything I needed.

May 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It's rare to find a doctor who is both knowledgeable and willing to say when they don't know - and then find out. *Dr. Jenkins is the best primary care physician I have ever had. It is very difficult for trans people to get competent, respectful primary care at any phase of our lives, not even just care specific to transition - simply a doctor who treats you like a functional human being and does not automatically assume that every problem or question or condition you may have is transgender related. *Dr. Jenkins is smart, thoughtful, calm, articulate, and treats his patients as partners in their own healthcare. Five stars.

May 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

[name] and dr jenkins are both angels in or lives

April 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Jenkins takes the time to pull up my entire Kaiser history to review trends in blood work, weight, etc. He also takes the time to both listen and answer my health questions.

January 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins was very informative and reassuring.

January 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Once again, office visit was ok but aftercare was zero!!!

December 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

And I love *Dr. Jenkins. He LISTENS and helps us very personally.

December 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor had an emergency prior to my visit and was running behind a bit.

November 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

November 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins spent more time answering my questions than I expected. Very nice.

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Jenkins is very friendly and calm. He provides information in a clear way and does not pursue unnecessary tests or procedures. I appreciate that.

October 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He seemed to really pay attention to why I was there. The doctor recommended a couple immunizations I didn't even know about. I appreciated that.

October 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is certainly helpful....he offers very good advice

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is a fantastic doctor. He really takes the time to communicate. He really knows me, knows how I like to approach my care, and he provides solutions that I find exciting. My moral was boosted greatly knowing that Dr. Jenkins explored all the options, talked through things with me, and sent me out with a path forward. // Dr. Jenkins looked a my insurance, informed me that I had chiropractic care, and helped me figure out how to use that to see a chiropractor. I think that is going above and beyond.

September 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Jenkins is very good at getting service promptly. Twice (very separate times) he called me after hours when lab results came in to insure I got very prompt attention for a blood clot. // Friendliness nice but not as important as competence (which Jenkins also has).

September 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I reallylike Dr Jenkings

September 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins was very courteous and thorough in spite of being considerably behind schedule. // I feel like Dr. Jenkins both treated me and educated me, making it possible to better research some personal health issues .

August 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

appointment was great. de. Jenkins is great.

August 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is EXCELLENT, GREAT LISTENER!

August 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up near Chicago in a family of seven children. After living in various places across the country pursuing college studies and medical training, I landed in San Francisco in 1988 and stayed there until 2006 when we moved to Portland. This is a great city. My wife, daughter, and I love the Northwest and all the things that make Portland unique. In my spare time I enjoy music of all kinds, skiing, and bicycling.

About my practice

As an internal medicine doctor, I take care of adult patients. Generally, I use a conventional approach to healing, while emphasizing prevention of illness when possible. I am also interested in alternative medicine, particularly homeopathy.

How I thrive

I believe that prevention of illness through our own personal choices is very important to a healthy life for us all -- healthy in mind, body, and spirit. Regular physical activity and a nutritious diet rich in fresh and minimally processed foods is the way to go. Stress reduction is essential and necessary for a better quality of life.

Medical School ?

Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
University of California (San Francisco)
San Francisco CA

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine