Richard R. Jenkins MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Gateway Medical Office
1700 NE 102nd Ave
Portland, OR 97220

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 154 Ratings
  • 61 Comments

*Dr. Jenkins is my dr. for life or until he retires. Really feel comfortable with him. Really like *Dr. Jenkins. Very good doctor. [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Richard was, as always, very helpful in responding to my questions and explaining things I had questions about. He's a great doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins has been my primary care physician for 11 years and he is consistently wonderful, focusing on me and my problems and solutions to them. He never makes me feel like he is rushing off to the next patient.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is the best; I always feel like I am the only patient he has the day I'm there. I never feel rushed, he cares about my issues, and always explains what he sees and what options for care are available.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Jenkins is very good

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I haven't been to the drs,. in about 10 years. I really don't like to be seen but I did enjoy talking to *Dr. Jenkins he had a lot of information and was glad to see how much he cared about me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a list of questions/concerns for *Dr. Jenkins. He took the time to answer every question I had and spent more time with me than I expected to receive.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always good to see Dr. Jenkins. Always a through checkup with good concise and easy to understand answers. Plenty of time to go over everything needed. Very personable.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is an excellent Dr. and is not judgemental. Gives you ideas and treats you like another person. Exellent Dr. I hope he never retires.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins has been my PCP since I began with Kaiser. I could not be more confident in his judgment nor more grateful for my good fortune in being his patient.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All very kind

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is the best Doctor in Portland.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This visit, as with others with Dr. Jenkins was excellent.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is professional, courteous and experienced. He spends the requisite time necessary to make certain one is properly examined and given sufficient time to ask all questions. I am very pleased he is my primary care physician.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with *Dr. Jenkins as my dr. He is very caring, and does a very good job. Thank you. [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Jenkins has been my doctor for many years. I have had many doctor over the years but I can't remember one as good as *Dr. Jenkins. Thank you. [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am fortunate to have Dr. Jenkins as my primary care provider. He listens to my concerns and takes the time to explore alternative treatments with me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Jenkins is the best doctor I have soon. I cannot recommend him enough.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Richard R. Jenkins one of the best!!! He is very knowledgeable, understandable.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I continue to be very pleased with Dr. Jenkins' support and detailed information about my health care, and preventative measures advice. Thanks again very much.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great visit, prompt and courteous. Thanks!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was an excellent first visit w/*Dr. Jenkins who patiently and thoroughly addressed all my concerns and provided helpful information to help me maintain my health. Bravo!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've been very happy with the care I've received from Dr. Jenkins.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always with *Dr. Jenkins - A good/excellent experience.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Jenkins & his staff are wonderful, & I sing their praises! Visiting the Gateway Clinic is like visiting a "second home." I am so grateful to have *Dr. Jenkins as my physician. Thank you! [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins was very thorough in every way as well as being very caring, understanding and knowledgable about my condition and remedies.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is very kind & shows patience & true concerns about your problems - My husband likes him too.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

love Dr. Jenkins

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

ENJOYED MY VISIT!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Jenkins is the best MD I have ever had

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins behaves as though his patients are personal friends.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*DR. Jenkins has been my doctor for a number of years and I think he has been the best dr. I have ever had. He takes the time to listen to me and talk to me in away I can understand. He goes the extra mile every time. Kaiser is very lucky to have someone of his caliber know I am. [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I couldn't ask for a better dr. and staff. Thank you!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR. Jenkins is very thorough, kind and interested.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is an outstanding physician.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent visit. Dr Jenkins is caring and competent. Highly recommend him.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have always been treated with the best of care and respect.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Any visit with Dr. Jenkins is a very plesant experience

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I rate my *Doctor Richard Jenkins 5 star, great doctor! Does a great job!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I will continue to travel over 30 miles to see Dr. Jenkins and the staff at Gateway. Excellent care // even though he was running late and I was last patient he spent quite a bit of time with me answering all my questions.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor's *Richard Jenkins, is without a doubt, the BEST doctor I've ever had. He has taken the time to truly have a good understanding of my issues. And has treated me perfect, and I honestly can say the quality of life has really changed for the better.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins uses the art of listening, and as a result I am not rushed through the visit , getting to ask important information. Dr. Jenkins recommended for me to sport and lose some weight at an earlier visit. I had the time to pay attention and followed his advice.As a result I lost weight and have lowered my blood pressure. I am now trying to pay attention to other recommendations. I am very happy with Dr. Jenkins listening style. He makes patients feel like people, rather than numbers.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is the BEST!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor; he was attentive to my issue, explained what he was checking for, arranged for scans, gave me pain advice; I got everything I needed.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

[name] and dr jenkins are both angels in or lives

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Jenkins takes the time to pull up my entire Kaiser history to review trends in blood work, weight, etc. He also takes the time to both listen and answer my health questions.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

And I love *Dr. Jenkins. He LISTENS and helps us very personally.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins was very informative and reassuring.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Once again, office visit was ok but aftercare was zero!!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins spent more time answering my questions than I expected. Very nice.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Jenkins is very friendly and calm. He provides information in a clear way and does not pursue unnecessary tests or procedures. I appreciate that.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor had an emergency prior to my visit and was running behind a bit.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He seemed to really pay attention to why I was there. The doctor recommended a couple immunizations I didn't even know about. I appreciated that.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Jenkins is very good at getting service promptly. Twice (very separate times) he called me after hours when lab results came in to insure I got very prompt attention for a blood clot. // Friendliness nice but not as important as competence (which Jenkins also has).

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I reallylike Dr Jenkings

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is a fantastic doctor. He really takes the time to communicate. He really knows me, knows how I like to approach my care, and he provides solutions that I find exciting. My moral was boosted greatly knowing that Dr. Jenkins explored all the options, talked through things with me, and sent me out with a path forward. // Dr. Jenkins looked a my insurance, informed me that I had chiropractic care, and helped me figure out how to use that to see a chiropractor. I think that is going above and beyond.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is certainly helpful....he offers very good advice

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins is EXCELLENT, GREAT LISTENER!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

appointment was great. de. Jenkins is great.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jenkins was very courteous and thorough in spite of being considerably behind schedule. // I feel like Dr. Jenkins both treated me and educated me, making it possible to better research some personal health issues .

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up near Chicago in a family of seven children. After living in various places across the country pursuing college studies and medical training, I landed in San Francisco in 1988 and stayed there until 2006 when we moved to Portland. This is a great city. My wife, daughter, and I love the Northwest and all the things that make Portland unique. In my spare time I enjoy music of all kinds, skiing, and bicycling.

About my practice

As an internal medicine doctor, I take care of adult patients. Generally, I use a conventional approach to healing, while emphasizing prevention of illness when possible. I am also interested in alternative medicine, particularly homeopathy.

How I thrive

I believe that prevention of illness through our own personal choices is very important to a healthy life for us all -- healthy in mind, body, and spirit. Regular physical activity and a nutritious diet rich in fresh and minimally processed foods is the way to go. Stress reduction is essential and necessary for a better quality of life.

Medical School ?

Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
University of California (San Francisco)
San Francisco CA

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine