Richard T. Claiborne OD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Clackamas Eye Care
12100 SE Stevens Court Suite 106
Clackamas, OR 97086

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 290 Ratings
  • 41 Comments

Dr. Claiborne is fabulous. I trust him 100% with my eyes!

August 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt as though the doctor wanted to rush through the eye exam. He didn't give me enough time to decide "is this one better or worse?"

April 24, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Loved *Dr. Claiborne's care - friendly, caring, professional. Very competent. Took time to answer all of my questions.

March 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Richard Claiborne gave me a very thorough eye examination. I would go to him again!

March 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the doctor was very friendly and gave me a thorough exam of my eyes. I liked him very much.

March 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr, Claiborne and staff very courteous and helpful.

February 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great!

February 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent!

February 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

g00d

January 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Claiborne was very thorough, gave advice, and the ophthomologist appreciated his thoroughness when she looked at the medical record

January 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Claiborne is excellent: Kind, professional, and very devoted in his job and thorough with his examination of patient.

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very nice doctor!

December 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very kind & patient dr.!

December 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great great experience

November 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was compassionate,efficient without feeling rushed, thorough and very clear in explaining things to me that others had been vague about.

November 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Doctor was awesome. very thorough, reassuring and kind!

October 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thorough, friendly and competent.

August 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Again, always a great visit!

August 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent care and informative

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best eye exam I have had.

July 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional and informative. Also, very patient.

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Claiborne was absolutely wonderful! I really appreciated the time he spent with me, and his warm, friendly, reassuring manner. He was also extremely knowledgeable about my condition (PVD). I will recommend him to everyone!

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience, Dr. was very good and patient.

June 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was open about my current health situation. He was experienced, knowledgeable, relaxed and friendly and not patronizing.

May 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

awesome Dr.

May 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care Provider was friendly, professional, well-informed, felt very good about my experience.

May 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Claiborne was very professional and after the exam, answered all my questions.

March 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with Dr. Claiborne, and I was very pleased with his care and examination of my eyes. Upon the conclusion of the examination, it was the most confident I've ever been that my new glasses were going to be the truly right prescription!

March 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Did not have to wait. Doctor was very friendly and professional.

March 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My provider did a great job. He explained well to me my condition, and assured me not to worry. All my worries were gone after he checked me. He's an asset to Kaiser . I want to thank him for the job well done.

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with my experience with doctor & staff.

February 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Claiborne was excellent...best eye exam I have had in a long time...very professional and explained everything perfectly

February 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very impressed with and grateful for the care I've received from *Dr. [Claiborne] following my post-nitreous detachment. I have great confidence in his ability to follow up with needed care.

December 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Claiborne was very efficient and friendly. Answered all my questions and concerns.

November 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Took time with me, discussing my dry eye problem and options to help me.

October 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the doctor was very nice

October 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the provider was great and very efficient. Also was kind to me

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first time seeing Dr. Clairborne. He was very nice, answered all of my questions, and was very thorough to make sure that my prescription was going to be correct to suit my needs (this was actually a return visit to have my prescription adjusted, after having an eye exam and new prescription from another OD the month prior).

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had driven myself to the office and was concerned about the medication used to dilate my eyes. All my questions were completely and courteously answered, and my experience was just as described.

June 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Claiborne was excellent, in my opinion. This was the most comprehensive eye exam I have ever had at Kaiser. He explained everything he did & didn't seemed rushed. He kept asking me if I had any questions. He was so thorough that I had none. Very good experience.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the eye dr was fantastic and was able to eplane things as we went along.i didnt have to leave feeling like i didnt understand anything and to me this is hung thank you

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Wichita, Kansas, and I graduated from Truman State University in Missouri. I obtained my doctorate in Optometry from Pennsylvania College of Optometry. After graduating, I worked as an optometrist in the Portland area and then with a group practice in Albuquerque, New Mexico. My wife and I returned to the Portland area, and I am happy to be part of the health care team at Northwest Permanente.

About my practice

My background is in primary eye care, and I enjoy working with members of all ages.

How I thrive

I enjoy spending time with family and friends, hiking, and playing tennis and hockey.

Medical School ?

Pennsylvania College of Optometry
Elkins Park

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Pennsylvania College of Optometry
Elkins Park PA

Board Certification ?