Robert B. Ellis DO, PhD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Longview-Kelso Medical Office
1230 Seventh Avenue
Longview, WA 98632

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 338 Ratings
  • 36 Comments

Very good.

May 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ellis reviewed my tests and discussed the results. He answered my questions clearly and explained the plan going ahead for the next few months. I have a good deal of confidence in *Dr. Ellis and his expertise.

April 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

With *Dr. Ellis, I always feel like I've had "one on one" visit. I have lung cancer so I see him quite often.

April 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent provider

March 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ellis visit excellent as always.

February 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ellis is very easy to talk to - he's relaxed and laid back just enough to ease what could be a nerve-wrecking visit. I know I ask the same questions & express the same concerns every 3 months, but *Dr. Ellis always responds in the same calm manner - I trust he'd change his tone if there were something to worry about-

February 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ellis is an amazing care provider. I have been with KP for over 40 years, and even though the experience has been very good, Dr. Ellis has gained my complete confidence and admiration. We are very grateful to have access to such a professional and personable physician.

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ellis is the very best Oncologist there is. I am confident in what he tells me and try to follow his instructions as directed. [name]

January 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Ellis is an amazing doctor. He listens to me and explains exactly what the plan is. He always takes my concerns into account.

December 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ellis demonstrated a depth of knowledge of his field, a genuine concern for his patients, and an open,interested manner that could only be stated as exceptional. I would recommend his care to anyone.

December 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Ellis is a very supportive oncology doctor. He treats you with optimism, compassion and kindness. His is willing to share nutrition guidance, meditative direction, and medical knowledge with his patients. // Dr. Ellis always takes whatever time is needed in my appointment so I don't mind waiting while he is with other patients.

December 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ellis is always kind, soft spoken, and generally induces calmness in a hectic situation (i.e., my cancer). I know that his deliberate manner of speaking and choice of words often soothes my nerves.

November 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I couldn't have a better Dr. than Dr. Ellis. He never is in a rush. Tells me exactly what is going on and knows how to treat any fears or questions I might have.

November 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ellis shows compassion and concern for my ongoing cancer treatments. We are very satisfied with him.

October 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked *Dr. Ellis. He is very knowledgeable.

August 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

August 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful care excellent care. Always has been great.

July 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel blessed to have Dr. Ellis as my oncologist.. He is one of the main reasons I have stayed with Kaiser. .

June 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

a new Dr for me and very pleased.

May 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ellis always answers all my questions very patiently and in terms I can understand. He is kind and compassionate.

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

always very good. gives me confidence in caring for my cancer problem

April 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the doctor Johnson was very knowledgeable besides caring

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The greatest gift I think a provider can offer a patient, is confidence in their expertise, and genuine care for the patient's healing and overall restoration to wellness. Dr. Ellis demonstrates a phenomenal balance of latest medical advice and treatment, with a genuine love of the individual and the spiritual, physical, and mental well being. // Dr. Ellis is not stingy with his time with patients, and uses the time needed. He has went overtime with me and other patents as needed, and every patient I have conferred with does not mind, as he has our confidence and health at heart. I cannot compliment him enough.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ellis is a good dr & person!

January 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ellis took the time to explain genetic studies and results that other doctors failed to communicate adequately. He walked me through a very rational discussion of treatment options and recurrence risk factors. He is an exceptional communicator.

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Ellis is a wonderful oncologist in whom, I have the utmost confidence. I highly recommend him to others. // Very good experience. Exam was compete, painless and Dr. Ellis answered all questions asked of him with complete detail.

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Ellis is the best

January 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit with Dr. Ellis was extremely good. // I am very grateful to have Dr. Ellis as my oncologist. He is so respectful, compassionate, and kind. Thank you so much!

December 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The best

November 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

From the Oncology receptionist to the nursing staff and Dr. Ellis I am exceedingly satisfied with the care I am receiving in Longview-Kelso. I have highly recommended this entire department to several people I know who are receiving oncology care from other Kaiser facilities.

November 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ellis has been my oncologist for ten years. He left the Portland office to work from the Longview office and I followed him there because I trust him with my life. On more occasions than I can count he has saved my life by giving me the newest and most updated treatment for my disease. He's absolutely wonderful.

November 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ellis spent an hour and 40 minutes with me and was very informative, professional, and appropriately personal. He gained my complete confidence in this single visit. // See previous comments. Also, this practitioner far exceeded any expectations that I had before meeting him, and they were high to begin with.

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel extremely fortunate to have *Dr. Ellis as my oncologist. He treats the mind & the body. He is personable & approachable.

October 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Ellis and his entire staff are courteous, compassionate, and very professional .

October 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience. Dr Ellis always takes the time to explain what I have to look forward to as I grow older, and steps I should take to make my life better as I deal with my cancer. So far Dr Ellis has been right on with the diagnoses.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Ellis and his staff are wonderful people! They are very caring and committed to their patients! Thank you *Dr. Ellis and staff!

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from Chicago. After a 24 year Army career, my wife and I decided to settle in the Pacific Northwest. I am a second generation osteopathic oncologist, having the unusual grace of having a grandmother who was a physician. Her experience and knowledge fueled my interest caring for cancer patients. After receiving a PhD in immunology, I decided that my true love was to care for patients.

About my practice

I approach the care of patients with malignant disorders in an integrative way, focusing on the least toxic way of controlling or reversing the condition. Attention to lifestyle factors such as nutrition, stress, and toxic occupational, personal, and environmental exposures are foundational to healing the patient with cancer. Judicious use of chemotherapy and radiation to gain control of the tumor may be needed and can be incorporated into a holistic program of both anti-cancer fighting strategies and life supportive technologies such as meditation, stress reduction, nutrition, and body-based approaches such as osteopathic manipulative therapies and massage therapy.

How I thrive

Attention to the three levels of human existence: body, mind, and spirit, increase my well-being. A plant-based diet combined with a daily exercise and mindfulness practice has enabled me to function in my busy life as physician, father, and husband. Being an active and engaged father to my four children, cooking, and long distance running are my basic thriving tools.

Medical School ?

Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine
Downers Grove

Medical Training ?

Hematology/Medical Oncology
Madigan Army Medical Center
Tacoma WA

Internal Medicine
William Beaumont Army Medical Center
El Paso TX

Board Certification ?

Medical Oncology
American Board of Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine