Robert Brian Bettencourt MD
4.6 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Sunset Medical Office
19400 NW Evergreen Parkway
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.6
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.6
    Explanations
  • 4.5
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 245 Ratings
  • 40 Comments

Dr. Bettencourt very friendly and listened though I was simply in for an annual physical and women's care and had no specific concerns. He double checked I had all preventative care and encouraged me to continue.

June 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bettencort is hands down the best Kaiser doctor that I've ever been to see. Always courteous, helpful and caring.

April 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bettencourt excellent "bedside manner" with true empathy of care...I have absolute trust in him and enjoyed my visit.

April 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great Care Given by Doctor Bettencourt

April 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bettencourt is the best Dr I have seen in years. I was very pleased with his customer service and knowledge. Top notch

April 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bettencourt talked to my 10 year old about her injury, her rehabilitation, and ways in which to prevent future injuries. This was so important as she had to decide it was important to complete her follow-up care. It was up to her to help herself get better, and she was willing to do the work because he talked "to" her instead of "over" her with me. He was warm and enthusiastic, and put her immediately at ease.

March 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great Doctor, very happy with his care!

March 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bettencourt is the best doctor you have at Kaiser.

March 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Bettencourt is helpful and friendly PCP.

March 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bettencourt was thorough and friendly. I learned a lot from my visit.

March 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience.

March 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very personable, at the same time very professional.

February 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy to be back with Kaiser and was thrilled to be able to keep Dr. Bettencourt as my physician. He was a big part of the success I've had with my arthritis treatment (precision placement injection), that has worked so tremendously for me!

January 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like Dr Betencort he is friendly and knowledgeable and followed up with me the next day through kp.org

January 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bittencourt is a very good doctor I would recommend him to anyone.

January 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bettencourt is terrific - he's kind and a great doctor who genuinely seems to care. he listens, and I have great confidence in his diagnosis.

January 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was the most thorough in diagnostic testing and explanations of condition. He set realistic expectations for treatment, and was the most caring practitioner I've seen to date. I recommended him to a colleague less than a week after my appointment. Thank you!

November 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bettencourt is amazing my family enjoys his manner of care and are always impressed with his knowledge. At this appointment he went above & beyond - not only looking at my son but ordering labs to confirm my post-partum headache wasn't from [diagnosis] verses me waiting for the OBGYN to call me back. We look forward to our next visit.

August 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thank you for a great experience. *Dr. Bettencourt is very patient and attentive. Thank you.

August 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Bettencourt seemed completely uninterested in what I had to say about my condition and was rather condescending. His bedside manner was seriously lacking.

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bettencourt is a very courteous provider who makes you feel a valued patient. // I found that Dr. Bettencourt went out of his way to answer my questions and dealing with my concerns.

July 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. B. is one of the best and his nurse [name] is even better if that is possible.

July 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. B. was very attentive to my health concerns.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr. is very busy but took time with me

March 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Couldn't be more pleased with the professional and concerned care of Dr. Bettencourt. Best doctor I've ever worked with. At 57, I've had a few:)

March 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent first time experience with the new Doctor and his assistant. Excellent bed side manner.

February 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care provider took time to answer every question I had (and I had a list of them). Didn't feel rushed; got thorough answers from him. // Excellent service.

February 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

had a good experience.

February 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bettencourt is the best family doctor I've ever had.

January 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Well, could not be better

January 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great Doctor

December 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thoughtful, accommodating.

November 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Bettencourt was friendly and positive.

November 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my Doctor very much. He has a very good bedside manner.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was there for a wellness exam. The exam was short and I did not have the opportunity to discuss some issues which I had expressed to the doctor prior to the appointment. I did receive multiple vaccinations. The doctor also brought in an intern which I believe disrupted the time. I wish the doctor would have asked before abruptly leaving if there were any other issues we need to talk about. The phone interview prior to the exam was excellent but was not used during the exam.

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a health assessment that I brought up my good cholestorol problem. Dr Bettencourt expressed his desire to follow up on this. When he wrote the blood tests for my lab work, he failed to have the Cholestorol tested! Now I must return for another test.

September 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Was very impressed with Dr. Bettencort. He was extremely helpful, patient, and seemed genuinely concerned with my heart issues..

September 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent!

September 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Bettencourt is personable and easy to relate to.

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He said he would help me live forever, so far so good.

August 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in California and graduated college with a degree neurobiology and physiology from UC Davis. After graduating from Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, I completed my family medicine residency at the University of South Alabama, and am proud to say I have lived on all three coasts - East, West, and Gulf! I completed my Primary Care Sports Medicine Fellowship at University of South Alabama where I stayed on as faculty at the College of Medicine and as Team Physician for Division 1 athletics. After my wife and I had our first child, we decided to move closer to family, fell in love with the Portland, Oregon area, and I joined Kaiser Permanente in 2012.

About my practice

I feel that practicing medicine is a calling deep within. I believe "health is the first wealth" and love the idea of keeping people healthy so they can get the most out of life. Kaiser Permanente's approach to wellness, prevention, and complete care fits my practice philosophy well. Athletes and active people are a significant part of my practice. Currently I serve as Team Physician for Pacific University and provide physician coverage for local high school athletics. I am very excited to be on the planning committee and working within our new Kaiser Permanente Sports Medicine Team of specialists!

How I thrive

I spend most of my free time with my family - we love hiking and camping all over the Northwest. I sneak in as much trout fishing on these trips as my wife will allow. I love physical exercise, preferably outdoors. Exercise brings the mind, body, and spirit together for me. I love to spend several hours reading fiction and professional publications on the weekends when I get the chance.

Medical School ?

Jefferson Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University
Philadelphia

Medical Training ?

Sports Medicine
University of South Alabama
Mobile AL

Family Practice
University of South Alabama
Mobile AL

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine

Sports Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine