Robert C. Foege MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office West
3325 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 157 Ratings
  • 48 Comments

*Dr. Foege is a true professional - He is kind and sensitive to my pain - I have every confidence in his care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is an asset to NW Perm.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege and staff were excellent. I think very highly of *Dr. Foege and his staff and already have recommended to... husband.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleased with *Dr. Foege and staff and feel confident in the treatment and care I received.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is a wonderful dr. He's very courtesy, and so concerned about your problems. Dr. Foege is the best.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care by *Dr. Folge and his office & assistants this time and at all times. He works hard at combating my back pain. I would surely recommend. It just has never come up my life style would be a lot different without him.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is a very caring and kind physician. He explained the procedure in detail and answered all of my questions.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My *Dr. Folge is excellent.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is amazing! I know that another dr. could do the same procedure, but I love the way *Dr. Foege treats me as an individual. Not a number.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Foege, as always is well informed and shares information easily. I feel he keeps up with latest info and I feel safe in his hands.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel *Dr. Foege really listens to my concerns. He has been really, the only dr. who has cared about my pain and how he can make things better for me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is very compassionate pain physician. I appreciate his desire to find alternative/appropriate answers for pain despite my difficult case. His professionalism is also appreciated.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Foege continues to provide ongoing pain care for me. Based on similar care that I previously received in [city], he is highly competent and very responsive. I am pleased to recommend him highly and without qualification as one of your best doctors.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is kind, gentle, respective the best shot giver.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience was great and I highly recommend *Dr. Foege. He is exceptional.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The best.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a shot to my lower spine. The doctor, nurse & assistant were all very, very good. I have zero complaints!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I can't say enough about the care *Dr. Foege and staff give me. Without them I would have quite a painful life. Don't know what I would do without *Dr. Foege and his care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Foege is very easy to talk to, was patient & listened to my concerns, related information to my particular issue.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Foege has been very concerned and caring during each of the visits and has arranged each time for treatment of the pain, at the earliest possible date. I have been very pleased with each visit and treatment. I would highly recommend that anyone with a similar condition should see him for pain relief.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Foege is an excellent doctor, he has grest knowledge in his field great bedside manner. I hope you give him a raise because he deserves it.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr. discussed options and explained his rationale for recommending his specific course of treatment.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is excellent. I trust him completely.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR Fogue was amazing. enough said.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege has excellent technique giving epidural injection.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

provider exuded confidence and intelligence and it was easy to develop trust

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Didn't appear the doctor was very interested in me as a person, rather seemed a bit flat and nonchalant.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege has been a marvelous provider & I trust him completely. He is very knowledgeable, competent & compassionate.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr is very very goodI've had him before and I am so very glad he will do procedure himselfI have great confidence in him

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is excellent.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is great! Never have to wait to be seen for appointments.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful experience - first time meeting w/Dr. took all the time needed to explain options & answer ALL of MY QUESTIONS. Awesome!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Foege is excellent to work with and shows an "I Care" attitude. I would highly recommend him to anyone else seeking treatment. // Dr. Foege explained exactly what to expect with my upcoming procedure and also showed me what was creating my intense pain.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Forge is just super. So kind, he listens so well & shows a lot of interest. He was great skills _____. I appreciate with very much.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good - exceptional experience.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is an excellent compassionate doctor who spents a lot of time talking with me, answering questions and going over options.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is a BETTER THAN EXCELLENT provider. He is kind and compassionate, has taken care to think through my case, and has formulated several possible approaches. He inspires confidence.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor had not reviewed my record. He spent most of our time together to familiarize himself with my record! Why not do that before meeting the patient?

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege applies great effort, compassion & _____ regarding my pain issues.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My original dr. retired (didn't know had to get a new dr. *Dr. Foege was & is an excellent caring dr. Would HIGHLY recommend him!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent staff and *Dr. Foege is terrific, his explanation of upcoming lumber branch block was so informative. Showing me my spine x-ray and that of a normal back was very interesting and informative.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Explained to me in detail my condition & things I could do to reduce recurrence. Recommended a book about back & neck pain, which I purchased great book.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All excellent.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The problem with the visit is that by info from computer dr made decision based on that before ever seeing me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel confident that the care I received from the care provider was excellent.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege really cares about getting me relief from my pain.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is an excellent physician. Excellent bedside manner very concerned about patient.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up on the East Coast. I studied philosophy in college and planned to become a professor but soon realized that I wanted to help people in a more hands-on way. This quest led me to the West Coast, where I studied acupuncture before enrolling in medical school at the University of Washington in Seattle. I fell in love with Portland during my internship year, then returned east to complete an anesthesia residency and pain fellowship training in Boston. I worked as an anesthesiologist in a level-1 trauma center in Brooklyn, New York, but always wanted to return to Portland. Living here is the fulfillment of a long-held dream for me.

About my practice

Kaiser Permanente allows me to focus my energy on taking care of members. I believe in the power of education, and I try to empower my patients to make choices that are best for them. I believe that the things people can do for themselves to improve their health and decrease pain are much more powerful in the long run than the things doctors or medications can do for them. In particular, I believe that opioid medications (medications related to morphine) have a very limited role in the management of chronic pain. In my role as a pain physician, I support patients' efforts to achieve positive change. I always try to help empower people to manage pain in a way that makes sense for the long term.

How I thrive

I enjoy running, biking, hiking, skiing, social dancing, and shooting sports. I also love talking about ideas, reading aloud, memorizing poetry, going to museums, and seeing movies. I thoroughly enjoy exploring Portland and the surrounding areas!

Medical School ?

University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle

Medical Training ?

Pain Medicine
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston MA

Anesthesiology
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston MA

Board Certification ?

Anesthesiology
American Board of Anesthesiology

Pain Medicine
American Board of Anesthesiology