Robert C. Foege MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office West
3325 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 134 Ratings
  • 30 Comments

The Dr. discussed options and explained his rationale for recommending his specific course of treatment.

May 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is excellent. I trust him completely.

April 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR Fogue was amazing. enough said.

March 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

provider exuded confidence and intelligence and it was easy to develop trust

March 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege has excellent technique giving epidural injection.

March 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Didn't appear the doctor was very interested in me as a person, rather seemed a bit flat and nonchalant.

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr is very very goodI've had him before and I am so very glad he will do procedure himselfI have great confidence in him

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor & my nurse staff are wonderful.

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege has been a marvelous provider & I trust him completely. He is very knowledgeable, competent & compassionate.

December 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

October 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I just love this doctor. He's concerned for my heath explains every concern, he's just so warm, caring, I'm very comfortable with him. I wish he was my primary care doctor. I'd trust him with my life. I just love this dude.

October 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is excellent.

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is great! Never have to wait to be seen for appointments.

July 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This experience was A+ and this doctor was excellent in explaining everything he did and what I could expect to happen.

June 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Foege is excellent to work with and shows an "I Care" attitude. I would highly recommend him to anyone else seeking treatment. // Dr. Foege explained exactly what to expect with my upcoming procedure and also showed me what was creating my intense pain.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful experience - first time meeting w/Dr. took all the time needed to explain options & answer ALL of MY QUESTIONS. Awesome!

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Forge is just super. So kind, he listens so well & shows a lot of interest. He was great skills _____. I appreciate with very much.

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is an excellent compassionate doctor who spents a lot of time talking with me, answering questions and going over options.

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good - exceptional experience.

March 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is a BETTER THAN EXCELLENT provider. He is kind and compassionate, has taken care to think through my case, and has formulated several possible approaches. He inspires confidence.

March 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor had not reviewed my record. He spent most of our time together to familiarize himself with my record! Why not do that before meeting the patient?

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel confident that the care I received from the care provider was excellent.

December 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Explained to me in detail my condition & things I could do to reduce recurrence. Recommended a book about back & neck pain, which I purchased great book.

December 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My original dr. retired (didn't know had to get a new dr. *Dr. Foege was & is an excellent caring dr. Would HIGHLY recommend him!

December 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent staff and *Dr. Foege is terrific, his explanation of upcoming lumber branch block was so informative. Showing me my spine x-ray and that of a normal back was very interesting and informative.

December 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege applies great effort, compassion & _____ regarding my pain issues.

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege is an excellent physician. Excellent bedside manner very concerned about patient.

November 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All excellent.

October 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Foege really cares about getting me relief from my pain.

August 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The problem with the visit is that by info from computer dr made decision based on that before ever seeing me.

August 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up on the East Coast. I studied philosophy in college and planned to become a professor but soon realized that I wanted to help people in a more hands-on way. This quest led me to the West Coast, where I studied acupuncture before enrolling in medical school at the University of Washington in Seattle. I fell in love with Portland during my internship year, then returned east to complete an anesthesia residency and pain fellowship training in Boston. I worked as an anesthesiologist in a level-1 trauma center in Brooklyn, New York, but always wanted to return to Portland. Living here is the fulfillment of a long-held dream for me.

About my practice

Kaiser Permanente allows me to focus my energy on taking care of members. I believe in the power of education, and I try to empower my patients to make choices that are best for them. I believe that the things people can do for themselves to improve their health and decrease pain are much more powerful in the long run than the things doctors or medications can do for them. In particular, I believe that opioid medications (medications related to morphine) have a very limited role in the management of chronic pain. In my role as a pain physician, I support patients' efforts to achieve positive change. I always try to help empower people to manage pain in a way that makes sense for the long term.

How I thrive

I enjoy running, biking, hiking, skiing, social dancing, and shooting sports. I also love talking about ideas, reading aloud, memorizing poetry, going to museums, and seeing movies. I thoroughly enjoy exploring Portland and the surrounding areas!

Medical School ?

University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle

Medical Training ?

Pain Medicine
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston MA

Anesthesiology
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston MA

Board Certification ?

Anesthesiology
American Board of Anesthesiology

Pain Medicine
American Board of Anesthesiology