Robert E. Dexter MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Gateway Medical Office
1700 NE 102nd Ave
Portland, OR 97220

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 111 Ratings
  • 18 Comments

Dr Dexter was a breath of fresh air and hoping that he helps me with all of my health issues that I have been having for over a year.

July 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I thought *Dr. Dexter hit a home run. He covered all the bases. I felt respected, informed and the confidence to do what's necessary for better health and coping with the future.

June 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am happy that *Dr. Dexter is my PCP. His patient skills are remarkable. I instantly felt comfortable with my dr. I felt like he genuinely listened to my concerns and I feel he addressed all of them in a timely manner. I feel confident in my care going forward. Thank you *Dr. Robert Dexter.

June 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dexter is personable, has a great sense of humor and is an excellent doctor & clinician. He takes ample time accessing and discussing my medical condition and follows through at every step of the process. He has quickly earned my trust and respect.

May 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a great experience. Dr. Dexter was very personable and went above and beyond to assist me in getting my Medical needs met. Very satisfied!

May 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had my first appointment with *Dr. Dexter and knew right then, I have a doctor who will keep me healthy & alive & monitor me. He looked me straight in the eyes, knew my file history, was very EASY to talk with. At my coming appt., we'll discuss tests taken and take it from there. This doctor listens. I know he's going to do his very best to keep me healthy so, what more can you ask for! I'm at ease & happy.

April 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very happy with the care provided

April 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He was a great doctor.

April 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time visit with *Dr. Dexter. Found him to be very concerned and aware of problems.

March 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor

February 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a new doctor for me. He must have done a thorough look at my records because he knew what was done 25 yrs. ago. I liked his concern and attitude for my wellbeing I will continue to see hi. [name]

January 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter and the Gateway Clinic have been very good with both my care and my wife's care. Thank you! We live in [other city] but gladly go to Gateway for our family care. It's worth the time and drive!

December 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dexter was personable, knowledgeable and helpful and a good listener.

October 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good doctor will not change do not get rid of him.

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent Dr. and staff

August 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Dexter was outstanding!

August 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

An excellent visit.

August 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter is a kind and thoughtful.

July 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have a long history with Northwest Permanente - I was born at Bess Kaiser Hospital here in Portland. After growing up in Washington, living in California and Colorado, my family and I have moved back to Oregon to live life between the mountains and the ocean. I have practiced both inpatient and outpatient medicine and have settled as a hospitalist, where I enjoy the challenges of acute hospital care and the privilege of helping people through their times of illness. My wife is a Pulmonology and critical care physician who works with Northwest Permanente as well, and we enjoy our time away from work raising our two children, spending time at Mt. Hood and at the beach, and enjoying the many benefits of living in Portland.

About my practice

As a hospitalist at Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center, it is an honor and a pleasure to be part of a large team who works together to take care of our members when they are hospitalized.

How I thrive

Outside of the hospital I stay active in many ways I enjoy rowing, cycling, snowboarding, cross country skiing, surfing, and I am always looking for a new sport to learn and enjoy. Together with my wife and children, we lead an active lifestyle, and just keeping up with them is often an activity in itself. In addition, we recently brought a golden retriever puppy into our lives, and have now committed to trying to keep up with him as well.

Medical School ?

University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
University of Colorado
Denver CO

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine