Robert E. Dexter MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Gateway Medical Office
1700 NE 102nd Ave
Portland, OR 97220

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 51 Ratings
  • 9 Comments

Excellent doctor

February 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter is a kid, holistic doctor in that he understands how larger factors, including our environment & political situation affect or may affect, health. He seems very intelligent & perceptive. I FEEL SAFE IN HIS CARE.

January 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter and the Gateway Clinic have been very good with both my care and my wife's care. Thank you! We live in [other city] but gladly go to Gateway for our family care. It's worth the time and drive!

December 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dexter was personable, knowledgeable and helpful and a good listener.

October 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good doctor will not change do not get rid of him.

August 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent Dr. and staff

August 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Dexter was outstanding!

August 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

An excellent visit.

August 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Dexter is a kind and thoughtful.

July 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have a long history with Northwest Permanente - I was born at Bess Kaiser Hospital here in Portland. After growing up in Washington, living in California and Colorado, my family and I have moved back to Oregon to live life between the mountains and the ocean. I have practiced both inpatient and outpatient medicine and have settled as a hospitalist, where I enjoy the challenges of acute hospital care and the privilege of helping people through their times of illness. My wife is a Pulmonology and critical care physician who works with Northwest Permanente as well, and we enjoy our time away from work raising our two children, spending time at Mt. Hood and at the beach, and enjoying the many benefits of living in Portland.

About my practice

As a hospitalist at Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center, it is an honor and a pleasure to be part of a large team who works together to take care of our members when they are hospitalized.

How I thrive

Outside of the hospital I stay active in many ways I enjoy rowing, cycling, snowboarding, cross country skiing, surfing, and I am always looking for a new sport to learn and enjoy. Together with my wife and children, we lead an active lifestyle, and just keeping up with them is often an activity in itself. In addition, we recently brought a golden retriever puppy into our lives, and have now committed to trying to keep up with him as well.

Medical School ?

University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
University of Colorado
Denver CO

Board Certification ?