Robert J. Wendland MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Tualatin Medical Office
19185 SW 90th Ave.
Tualatin, OR 97062

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 279 Ratings
  • 84 Comments

He understands by health issues and responds to those issues.

July 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good experience with Dr. Wendland. He answered a number of questions for me which were very helpful.

July 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wendland and his nurse assistant are excellent

July 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful Doctor!! I would highly recommend him!!

June 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wendland is the best doctor I have ever had.

June 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a one-time appt. with *Dr. Wendland. I thought *Dr. Wendland to be conscientious & friendly. I would see him again if needed.

June 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wendland is very good at listening and explaining.

May 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good visit - He mentioned things (possible need for CPAP review) which I had forgotten I wanted to discuss.

May 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wendland is an excellent doctor, am very pleased that Kaiser has such a professional, dedicated provider.

March 14, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always, excellent and professional service. Dr. Wendland answered all of my questions. Some were related to my reason for the visit but several were not. He answered each questions completely. Thank you again.

February 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wendland never makes you feel rushed. (He has a great sense of humor too.)

February 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wendland is fabulous. I did not feel rushed. He took time to hear my concerns about blood pressure and gave me a wealth of information. He was very friendly and thorough. Dr. Wendland represents Kaiser very well. I feel very fortunate to have him as my primary doctor with the experience that he has.

December 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent I.M. appt. *Dr. Wendland was very thorough & knowledgable. Best physical/wellness check I can ever remember having with KP.

December 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have great confidence in *Dr. Wendland.

November 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wendland is excellent!

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wendland is excellent!

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As usual, care was excellent. I have great confidence in Dr. Wendland.

October 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wendland is a great doctor, who is careful to listen to my concerns and spends the time with me to do a skillful & expert evaluation. He remembers me and is warm & personable. If he is sometimes behind schedule, I know why & totally respect him for taking the time & care that patients need.

September 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love our *Doctor Wendland!

July 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wendland has proven he makes a difference not only from a medical abilities, but his calming personality.

July 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was first time I have seen this MD but he was certainly very good in giving me an injection of cortisone in my left knee.

May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm very happy with the care and treatment I've received from Dr. Wendland. His attention to making a personal connection with his patients is something I have a deep appreciation for.

May 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he was very interested about my concerns and took the time to look at what I know is a problem // I felt this was a very good doctor and since I had been wanting to change doctors I am hoping to be able to change to him.

May 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good! Best PCP to date!!

May 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have already recommended several co-workers to *Dr. Wendland. He is truly an asset to your organization.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased with his care.

April 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

lovely person and terrific Dr

April 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wendland and his MA were very professional and compassionate. They stayed late to accommodate my appointment and gave excellent care. He is a wonderful doctor.

April 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctors comments helpful

April 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have never seen *Dr. Wendland before but right away his demeanor made me feel confident and relaxed. He answered my concerns. I was so impressed with his warm & caring manner that I wished I could have him as my permanent care provider.

March 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

maybe the best doctor i have ever had!

March 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Bob is just the greatest, ever. Very caring.

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wendland, EXCELLENT DOCTOR!

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

doctor Robert [Wendland] is excellent. was very pleased to meet with him.

February 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wendland is the best! Very thorough & down-to-earth & helpful. Always go away feeling better!

December 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time with *Dr. Wendland visit went well and the injection for my knee worked out very well.

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have a high regard for *Dr. Wendland. He's a fine physician.

November 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wendland has an outstanding bedside manner that makes him very easy to talk to. He is an astute listener with a natural caring, empathetic style that gives me confidence in his advice. He has helped me become a more compliant patient because I feel trust that he has my best interested at heart. I believe that I am very fortunate that *Dr. Wendland is my primary physician. He is an excellent ambassador for Kaiser Permanente.

November 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We connected very well

November 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He takes time but I think he gets backed up. He is an excellent doctor!

November 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

October 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

it was a first time visit and the doctor spent much more time then expected. he was very thorough and very nice.

October 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wendland is the best ever doctor. He is so SMART. I just love him. Please keep him forever. [name]

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Wendland answered all my questions. He is a great doctor & smart. [name]

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor. He is very thorough & efficient. Remembers discussion, in past appts. Excellent "listener." His kind, calm & gentle manner & friendly personality are so comforting.

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He LISTENED, asked pertinent questions, had several tests (blood & E.C.G. all of this truly relieved my anxiety. If I already did not have an assigned doctor, I would be most willing to have *Dr. Wendland for primary care. [name]

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The VERY BEST doctor, I've ever had at Kaiser. Very smart, lots of common sense & new ideas to stabilize my health. Get me off two meds which helped a lot. THANK YOU.

June 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Other than an initial delay in getting to see the doctor, my visit could not have been better. That said, I appreciate that when Dr. Wendland arrived, he was friendly, thorough, and he did not act rushed, or abbreviate my physical exam in order to rush out of the room to the next patient.

June 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Doctor!

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was very good about explaining and helping me with what to do to take care of my problem. Absolutely no complaints.

May 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good listener.. above expectations in all areas.

May 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful personable manner.

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wendland is the very, very best MD I have ever had, at Kaiser. Smart, listens, cares, teaches you how to care for yourself, patient, thorough & does not rush to get "out the door." I DO NOT MIND WAITING FOR HIM. "Super-Doc!"

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wendland was receptive, good-natured and made me feel at ease.

March 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very through exam. very pleased with my care. physician asked great questions.

March 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wendland was way behind schedule and clearly was not going to get his lunch break. But this did not affect in any way the time he shared with me. He was not hurried. He gave me all the time I needed without coaxing me along or hurrying through any part of the exam. Thank you, Dr. Wendlund, for giving up your time for me like you did.

March 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

wasn't hurried, felt comfortable.

March 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wendland is wonderful. He listens, answered all my questions, and anticipated future needs. I am beyond happy that he is my doctor

March 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I loved that Dr. Wendland was receptive to my questions and was curious enough to ask me questions about my health perspective.

February 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with my Kaiser Care and my new doctor.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good visit all around

February 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Doctor was thorough, but I was disappointed in the wait time and pre-care.

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wendland took the time and care more doctor's at Kaiser should do, they could learn a lot from his excellent bedside manner.

January 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wendland looked at my note card to verify we had covered everything I was concerned about.

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wendland spent ample time with me, getting to know me and my medical history. I have never had a doctor spend that much time with me and it gave me confidence that they have my best interest in mind. Excellent doctor!

January 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Wendland has been awesome.

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the longest time a Doctor has spent talking to me in a very long time. It was great. It gave me time to remember most of the things I wanted to talk to him about.

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Truly an amazing Doctor. I was very distressed with the condition I had and he spent a great deal of time getting to know me; discussing my condition and assuaging any concerns I had going forward. He covered not only my current condition, but reviewed other issues thoroughly. Great knowledge and topped it off with a good sense of humor.

January 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Overall very good experience.

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Please send my special thanks to Dr. Wend land as he really heard me and was very empathetic as well as professional.

December 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good doctor, took the time to ask questions and get to know me.

December 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best primary care I have ever had at Kaiser so far!

December 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had a great experience with my new doctor.

December 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had an excellent visit. Glad to be with the doctor and staff

December 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is one of the best Dr. Thus far. I felt comfortable with him and he made my visit feel safe. // I understand that the Dr. W builds a great rapport with his patients and I don't mind waiting because he does the same with me.

December 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Wendland is too good to be true!

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr wendland is wonderful! Really helpful. A GREAT DOC. Spent time with me and really helped me. He takes the time needed, not like other docs who want get you in and out without helping you. Don't lose him!

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Wendland coached me into scheduling an appointment I was supposed to make but didn't. He is reassuring and my husband and I are delighted we chose him as our primary care physician. // Both my husband and I were impressed with Dr. Wendland.

October 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The BP machine was not working well & I believe the wrong BP was recorded - but no note was made. This was a get-to-know you visit & I didn't feel *Dr. W. talked to me about my health as much as he should/could have.

September 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit and I was very happy & satisfied with my care from start to finish.Really liked *Dr. Wendland.

September 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It's been a long time since I had a PCP of this quality & caring. I have several medical concerns of which the complexity in managing them effects each other, and it is an enormous relief to find a physician who listened to what I said was affecting me, and what sort of help I needed to overcome medical difficulties that are otherwise greatly affecting my life. Just very grateful to have found Dr. Wendland for my medical care. // The delay before being seen by Dr. Wendland was well worth the wait.

September 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Doctor. Very understanding, and thorough.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt so well cared for by a doctor who wasn't even my normal provider. It was nice to feel listened to and treated like I was his own patient.

September 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor, who was not my usual doctor, was caring and understanding. He explained was meds he was giving me. when to take them, and what they were for. I felt very confident with my emergency care.

August 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in the Portland, Oregon area and graduated from Stanford University with a Bachelor and Master of Science in Biology before attending Saint Louis University School of Medicine. I returned to the Bay Area for Internal Medicine residency at Santa Clara Valley Medical Center. I met my wife during medical school and started my career in Portland at Northwest Internal Medicine in 1990. We moved to Kansas City to be near my wife's family, where I practiced at Kansas City Internal Medicine for 21 years. We have three children who live all across the country. We are excited to move back to Portland to start the next chapter in our lives and be close to my family. I look forward to all that Portland and the beautiful Northwest has to offer.

About my practice

I enjoy getting to know my patients. I decided to pursue internal medicine and primary care because of its broad scope of patient health conditions and personal issues. I stress patient education and explain the "whats and whys" while emphasizing preventive health and wellness. I feel honored to care for patients and their families from ages 18 to 100+.

How I thrive

I support thoroughly the notion that "laughter is the best medicine," and am always prepared to share jokes and funny stories with friends, family, and patients. By maintaining a positive outlook and keeping things in perspective - despite health conditions and concerns - I always try to keep an even keel attitude and help my patients do the same.

Medical School ?

Saint Louis University School of Medicine
Saint Louis

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Santa Clara Valley Medical Center
San Jose CA

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine