Robert S. Unitan MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center
10180 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 93 Ratings
  • 15 Comments

Very thorough & friendly.

March 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service as always! Top notch!

January 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Unitan is an amazing provider. He is personable & engaging. I highly recommend him.

September 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

If I could rate a six I would.

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He appeared to be in a hurry with my pre-op appointment. No patience - Concern on his part. Nervous with this procedure & this dr. made me feel more anxious.

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Physician was personable and informative regarding my sleep methods. Enlightening. I'm confident in a health improvement as a result. [name]

May 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased with my care provider & all staff.

April 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Unitan was very n ice and was a good listener when I expressed my concerns about surgery. I enjoyed talking to him.

April 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. very friendly and listened to what I said.

September 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very caring and courteous service, I was impressed. Provider was wonderful and had a very uplifting manner.

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit w/*Dr. Unitan. Great experience, seemed genuinely interested in me.

June 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked *Dr. Unitan very much -

May 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Unitan was so attentive and compassionate. It helped me get information and calmed my concerns. He is a wonderful doctor. Kaiser is lucky to have him.

May 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr.Unitan was friendly and responsive. He helped put my mind at ease about upcoming surgery by reviewing the process and providing information about website medical claims reputation for joint replacement surgeries.

February 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The overall experience was excellent.

August 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Born and raised in Southern California, I have been a Kaiser Permanente member since I was about seven years old. I have wanted to be a doctor for about as long as I can remember. As a visiting fourth year medical student, I fell in love with Oregon and have lived here ever since. My wife and I met during residency; she is an anesthesiologist and Assistant Chief Medical Officer at Kaiser Westside Medical Center. We have two beautiful children.

About my practice

As Director of Optimization and Innovation, I am the Northwest physician responsible for kp.org, Kaiser Permanente's website and online patient portal. I help oversee the implementation of telemedicine technology that helps connect patients with their physicians and other care providers. I am also the physician lead and co-inventor of the Patient Support Tool (PST), a web-based population health data application. It is used by both primary and specialty care physicians and their staff to make sure every patient gets the care they need. I enjoy seeing patients in the pre-operative clinics at both Kaiser Sunnyside and Kaiser Westside Medical Centers, helping them get ready for their upcoming surgery.

How I thrive

I spend nearly all of my free time with my family. We enjoy hiking, biking, gardening, and travelling around the beautiful Pacific Northwest.

Medical School ?

Temple University School of Medicine
Philadelphia

Medical Training ?

Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Critical Care Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine

Clinical Informatics
American Board of Preventive Medicine