Rowena L. Manalo MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Rockwood Medical Office
19500 SE Stark St.
Portland, OR 97233

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.2
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 141 Ratings
  • 58 Comments

Have had Kaiser for about [time] yrs. and overall have had good experiences with my care. *Rowena Manalo especially. Always had the right evaluation for what was wrong with me.

June 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best Doctor I have ever had.

May 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo has been a very good and thoughtful dr. for me for MANY years. Taken personal care for me - At least I felt that way. Which makes you feel some one care about your health & general wellbeing as well. I would gladly recommend her to all - They would be so lucky to have her - THANK YOU *Dr. Manalo.

May 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she always answers to any concern that I might have, and always listens (not all doctors listen).

April 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

wonderful doctor AND PERSON

March 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor addressed all of my questions on my list. // I am very happy she is my Doctor.

February 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo also explained to me how to use the inhaler and really emphasized rinsing my mouth after use so I don't get _____ & how important it is to clean the inhaler. I never feel rushed when I see *Dr. Manalo. She answers all my questions which I turned into many as I have aged.

January 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Manalo gave her total attention and concern during my appointment. Dr. Manalo was very caring and informative. Awesome doctor!

January 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo is wonderful. I can tell how much she cares for her patients!

November 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Manalo is always competent, efficient, caring and warm! she and her staff take very good care of me!

October 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Waiting time was long, but *Dr. Manalo always spend with all her patients "very patiently and friendly." I'm appreciate her care always.

October 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo is a wonderful doctor!! So easy to talk to and I NEVER feel rushed!!

October 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good doctor

June 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love my doctor . Dr Manalo .

June 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Even tho it was late, she gave me ample time to discuss all concerns. I feel that she really cares for her patients.

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. [Manalo] is the best. She makes you feel so comfortable and explains things in a great way, easy to understand, almost anticipating any questions I might have.

May 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had *Dr. Manalo for several years - she is very caring, listens and works with me for OLD AGE care - love her very much. [name]

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Manalo is delightful! Pleasant, thoughtful and professional.

April 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo is the best doctor I know.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the Dr. I saw was very nice and personable and I will be back to see her again.

April 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

always great to see Dr. Manalo. She takes the time to talk to me.

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo is always top notch!

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Rowena Manalo is awesome always concerned about my health & needs. Always seems to know what is best for me.

February 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am always impressed by the professionalism of Dr.Manalo. She is very attentive to my health issues, and in this case, gave me valuable information about my life challenges.

January 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo is always warm, welcoming, caring as well as efficient and knowledgeable. She is terrific!!

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I didn't think it was possible to find a primary care provider I liked as much as my last one, but after only one visit with Dr. Manalo, I'm very happy with my choice. She is kind, caring, respectful, and approaches medical care with a holistic approach. After one visit, I adore Dr. Manalo.

December 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have come to greatly appreciate this provider. I have confidence in her care & diagnosis, she is efficient, thorough, patient, caring, and a clear communicator.

November 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love *Dr.Manalo.

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We always like *Dr. Manalo.

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Manalo and her staff providing outstanding care. Doctor Nanalo is in high demand but always takes the time to be through, to listen and address all of my concerns and develop a plan we both agree on. I am so fortunate to have her as my primary care provider.

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Even though my husband's main health concern is progressive dementia, we both appreciated *Dr. Manalo's encouragement as we face this part of our lives. [name]

August 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

An appointment with Dr. Manalo is always an excellent experience. She is obviously very concerned about me personally and anxious to provide the care that I need. She never gives me the impression that she is anxious to move on to the next patient but rather gives me the time that I need. That is a very important consideration for me.

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good isn't enough to describe Dr. Manalo. She is excellent! Very knowledgeable and caring.

July 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience. She is the greatest!

July 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love my PCP. She is very knowledgeable & I trust her. Thank you Kaiser!

July 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had excellent experiences with this doctor.

July 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I believe Dr. Manalo and her staff are excellent providers. She always listens to what I have to say and I understand her and her staff completely. Thank you,

July 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love my doctor and how she cares for me.

July 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo has been my family's primary physician for 10 years! We love her. She is knowledgeable, kind, practical, informed on latest info which she shares. We are so thankful to have *Dr. Manalo be our family's physician.

July 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo is 5 star - you need to keep her and get more like her!

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The best *Doctor Rowena Manalo I ever had, my health is really good. God bless her.

May 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo is very professional. Always listens and gives feedback. She is a fabulous dr.

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always, *Dr. Manalo is a wonderful, caring doctor.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo and her staff do an excellent job. I am fortunate to have her as my primary doctor. I especially appreciated the assistant coming out and telling me that there would be a delay in seeing *Dr. Manalo.

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is a great doctor.

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Monalo is wonderful

March 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good, she put my mind at ease. Wasn't rushed.

February 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manolo is a wonderful caring well educated sensitive dr.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I perceived *Dr. Manalo to be a little behind schedule from what I overheard. But with me she was still very kind, patient, & thorough while being efficient with her time, even when I had extra questions. She laid out an action plan in stages so I did not need to RETURN for the next step, while we stay in communication by email.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am so happy to have Rowena Manalo for my Doctor. She is genuine in her concern for my health. Concerned about my family. I would not dream of ever changing Doctors. I have 100% confidence in her.

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo is kind, attentive and thorough. She genuinely cares and offers support and assurance. Her suggested resources are helpful and pertinent. I very much appreciate our working relationship. I whole heartedly trust her!

November 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Manalo is a provider who CARES!!

November 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Manalo is an excellent diagnostician. She was accurate and treated me with the correct medication and advice.

November 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is the first time I had met Dr.Manalo I was very impressed with her. She was very nice, thorogh and knowledgeable. It was nice meeting her.

October 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr Manalo's straightforward and kind approach

October 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would highly recommend my doctor. She is great!

October 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always have and always will continue to appreciate Dr. Manalo! She is the best!!

August 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from Toronto, Canada, and was inspired to study medicine by my family doctor, who was a medical missionary in Africa. I still remember her making house calls and coming to visit me when I was sick.

About my practice

Being a Family Medicine doctor is a joy and privilege. It allows me to care for entire families, from newborns to grandparents. At Loma Linda Medical School we were taught to practice "whole person care," which recognizes that the mind and body are connected and that all patients' background stories affect their current health. During my residency with Kaiser Permanente in Fontana, California, I grew proud of its approach to high-quality preventive care, across the socioeconomic spectrum. I enjoy helping my members change their lifestyles to prevent and manage chronic disease.

How I thrive

I love spending time with my husband and two daughters, hiking and traveling. I love reading! Running helps me relieve stress, and I enjoy spending time cooking with friends. I am passionate about improving the health of our community and am working on connecting community leaders to help prevent conditions such as diabetes (especially in our children) and make it easier for people to create healthy habits.

Medical School ?

Loma Linda University School of Medicine
Loma Linda

Medical Training ?

Family Practice
Southern California Kaiser Permanente Medical Care (Fontana)
Pasadena CA

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine