Ryan R. Downey DPM
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Skyline Medical Office
5125 Skyline Road South
Salem, OR 97306

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 170 Ratings
  • 31 Comments

I have huge respect for Dr. Downey. He is very personable with a great bedside manner. He always answers all my questions and, in a way that I understand completely. He listens to all my concerns and never has dismissed them, making me feel like I'm stupid or ill-informed. I trust him completely. I recommend him to anyone that asks. He is fantastic! // I had foot surgery in [month]. I'm back with no reservations about having my other foot done because of my experience with the staff and Dr. Downey.

August 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

effective referral for orthotics n guidance from dr downy. took appropriate amount of time to explain

August 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was more than pleased upon meeting and relating to *Dr. Downey. He listens well and seems committed to give excellent care. He was (is) approachable and up front with truth and concern. I am pleased with the opportunity to call *Dr. Downey "my podiatrist.

July 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

July 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very at ease and confident with this surgeon.

May 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Downey & his team are great. He spent time, examined my foot thoroughly, & answered all my questions. I have full confidence in him & his staff.

April 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Appreciated that I could email *Dr. Downey with additional questions after my visit and he was quick to respond.

April 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care provider was very professional & knowledgeable. Care provider spent all the time needed to answer my questions as well as describe my problem thourally = much appreciated.

March 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very kind patient and didn't rush me in and out

March 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Downey is a very professional doctor.

January 11, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience. Doctor & staff were knowledgeable, efficient & friendly. I was able to get in quickly -

January 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Downey is a great guy - Very knowledgeable and gave me as much time as I needed to answer my questions and explain everything to me.

January 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Downey has been instrumental in healing a foot wound that has taken 3 years to deal. New ideas;... - I'm never had foot problems before - Now I'm glad to be back to trouble-free feet - Thank *Doctor Downey.

January 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been very pleased with both his professionalism and his personal touch.

December 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Outstanding care provider ~~~ patient, professional, and personable!

November 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Downey made me feel very welcome to return for further treatment & care as I might need it. I left the office feeling like he cared about me. This was my second appointment with him. Thank you.

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was excellent ...

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Downey was amazing - One of Kaiser's best doctors! A+. he was knowledgeable, well spoken, easy to understand & caring. This was a preventative visit for foot care. He welcomed being pro-active to help myself. I already followed his suggestions.

October 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Downey suggested other options I had - appreciate that.

October 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He didn't seem to take my pain and frustration or the length of illness seriously.

September 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR. DOWNEY IS EXCELLENT DOCTOR. I AM PLEASE I GOT SUCH GOOD CARE.

September 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Downey was excellent!! Explained my situation, magazines, etc., extremely well!

August 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very nice doctor and nurse. Thank you.

August 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased that Dr. Downey made the effort to explain the problems he saw and provided options for dealing with them. He was friendly and personable. I feel very confident in his ability to help me with my foot pain.

August 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Downey was EXEMPLARY AND RENEWED MY FAITH IN KAISER'S CHOICES OF PODITRISTS. A TRUE ROLE MODEL FOR THE FIELD!

July 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Downey replaced my previous doctor - He has been most attentive to my condition and has given me new options to think about for my foot care. He's down-to-earth and friendly, but very serious about patient care. I want to have him perform my hammer toe surgery. I trust him.

June 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been having foot trouble since injuring my feet on a bike. Dr. Downey was GREAT! He explained the problem to me, offered ways to improve the situations and helped me locate professional help outsdie the Kaiser plan.

June 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly and efficient!

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The solution *Dr. Ryan offered has made a HUGE DIFFERENCE in my mobility. Very pleased!

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Was my first visit w/*Dr. Downey. He was very nice, helpful, kind, humorous, & did a good job.

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. seems very well informed and educated about his specialty.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Vancouver, B.C., and studied kinesiology (human movement and biomechanics) in university. While earning my degree, I also worked at a sports medicine clinic and became certified as a pedorthist, designing custom foot orthotics, braces, and orthopedic shoes. After getting married and starting a family, I enrolled in podiatry school. We moved to Cleveland, Ohio, where I attended the Ohio College of Podiatric Medicine, graduating as salutatorian of the class of 2007. My residency training was at Legacy Health and Kaiser Permanente in the Portland area, and I have enjoyed practicing in the Northwest since 2010.

About my practice

My approach to patient care is from the ground up, and includes total wellness -- keeping people active without pain. I also consider myself an educator, helping patients to understand their conditions and play active roles in their recoveries. I perform all aspects of foot and ankle care, but specialize in biomechanics, surgical reconstruction of deformities, and diabetic limb salvage. My goals are to find practical and effective solutions to each patient's foot or ankle problems, and to be proactive, delivering health care as opposed to disease care whenever possible.

How I thrive

My wife and I believe life is better when you eat well and stay active together, and we have instilled this philosophy in each of our three daughters. Two are collegiate volleyball players, and the third is a competitive gymnast. I enjoy golf (especially when my wife lets me win), soccer, and basketball. I also love working with my hands, which serves me well in surgery, as well as in woodworking and home renovation. I always have a project in the works and a long "honey-do" list. I stay connected professionally by serving as a board member on state and regional podiatry associations, and in my community by speaking to high school students and volunteering for the Special Olympics Healthy Athletes program annually.

Medical School ?

Ohio College of Podiatric Medicine
Independence

Medical Training ?

Podiatric Medicine
Legacy Health/Kaiser Permanente
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Reconstructive Rearfoot/Ankle Surgery
American Board of Podiatric Surgery

Foot Surgery
American Board of Podiatric Surgery