Ryo A. Shohara MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 211 Ratings
  • 68 Comments

*Dr. Shohara has been wonderful for that matter everyone I have dealt with in the Oncology Department has been great to work with. They are very caring people who show a great deal of compassion for the patients.

June 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shohara is always wonderful. He takes the time to answer questions and makes me feel comfortable and confident.

May 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Doctor during my whole cancer experience

March 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always have a favorable experience with Dr. Shohara and his staff. Thank you.

February 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara & staff have been through, caring, and always willing to answer my questions.

January 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had great care. *Dr. Shohara was fabulous and very knowledgeable, compassionate and a great listener.

December 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor in oncology has been my best supporter and confidence builder. very knowledgeable about treatments and meds.

December 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shohara takes the time to listen, does not try to rush through and explains things thoroughly. I appreciate his sincere care each time I see him.

November 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shohara is one of the best doctors I have been associated with. He is approachable and competent.

November 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara listens to what I have to say, and knows how stress affects me and after tests, scans have been done he calls me to know the results instead of waiting week to find out results. He's a great doctor.

November 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara is professional, personable & caring.

November 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated Dr. Shohara's friendly, chatting-at-the-kitchen-table, unrushed manner. This visit was particularly comforting in that he did not make me feel like I was taking up too much of his time, nor that I needed to refrain from asking any more questions than absolutely necessary.

October 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

After 5 year of being my oncologist *Dr. Shohara & staff are still #1 in our book. Keep up the good work.

August 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shohara is wonderful. He is thorough, friendly, sympathetic and kind. I can't imagine having a better oncologist.

July 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara is amazing! I'm so lucky to have him as my doctor!

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very forthright with critical information.

July 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I cannot speak too highly of Dr. Shohara. He listens, he explains, he involves me in decisions about my treatment, he makes me feel hopeful without giving false hope. I have a serious health problem, but I feel that I am getting excellent care, and I leave my appointments feeling as good about things as can be expected.

July 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shaohara's manner during the appointment was excellent. He was competent, caring and careful. He was given information that was new to me, and not knowing what questions to ask, later I felt unsure about what my treatment was about. But I trust him and will proceed.

July 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with the medical service.

June 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased w/*Dr. Shohara. He is a very caring doctor. I surely will recommend him to friend who might be looking for an oncologist.

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always, *Dr. Shohara is always positive, and shows concern and is a friend, along with everyone in the oncology dept. It has not been an easy tourney but I'm grateful for the time given to me and the way it was handled. Thanks.

June 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shohara and his staff are wonderful to me. I am very happy that I got him to care for me.

May 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have complete trust in *Dr. Shohara and the other staff who work in the clinic.

May 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Outstanding Dr. & nurse.

April 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara has the ability to explain things clearly and with great compassion. There is always a certain amount of anxiety when seeing my oncologist, but *Dr. Shohara's upbeat personality helps a lot. I often come with my spiral and list of questions. He always takes the time to answer each one. I never get the feeling he is rushed - even if he might need to move along the appointment. I do appreciate the excellent care I am receiving.

March 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shohara and the staff at the Oncology Clinic are so helpful. // Very personable and caring.

March 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel *Dr. Shohara is one of the nicest and caring doctor I have ever met.

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

If I could give Dr. Shohara a rating higher than "Very Good," I would. He is extremely kind and thoughtfu, honest and straightforward in the most caring way. He listens to and addresses my concerns very clearly and thoroughly. I never feel rushed by him. Even though going to the doctor is not on the top of my wish list, I actually do look forward to seeing Dr. Shohara.

February 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara always talks to me & also to my family looking into our eyes. His explanations/answers to my questions sound evidence based & convincing. Very much appreciative of his friendly & positive attitude.

January 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Being diagnosed with cancer has been the most terrifying experience of my life. Dr. Shohara always takes all the time I need to ask questions, help me make decisions, provide options and even lets me have a good cry sometimes. I know he has many patients and that the work must be difficult, beyond imagination, but he is always able to do whatever he can to make things less difficult in every way possible. Thank you.

January 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Shohara is a very brilliant Dr and I pray he will be around for many more years. He is very easy to talk to and ask questions.

January 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shehara and all of the staff are the BEST!

December 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Specifically, though I transferred to *Dr. Shohara after my primary breast cancer tx, I have utmost confidence and trust in his care!!

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I adore *Dr. Shohara - Kind, compassionate & great sense of humor!

November 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara is absolutely wonderful. I am SO happy to have him over looking my care!

October 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara is very compassionate, answers all my questions, makes me feel confident in the care I'm receiving. I never feel rushed by him. I feel that he genuinely cares about how I'm doing. He includes my husband in the discussion.

September 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara takes time to answer any questions - my app. was late in the day, but he didn't seem in a hurry. He's very personable in his professionalism. Very Very good!

August 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As I mentioned earlier, I arrived for this appointment with some real concerns, and I felt that Dr. Shohara spent extra time with me addressing my issues, making me feel much better.

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have the greatest confidence in *Dr. Shohara's care.

July 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very comfortable with *Dr. Shohara and faith in his judgment.

July 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have just completed my 5 years of treatment for breast cancer ending it with *Dr. Ryo Shohara. You can tell that *Dr. Shohara loves his work and cares about his patients. He takes his time making sure you know all the options, answers all your questions and helps you make the best decisions for the best results for your treatment and also for your future health. I will recommend *Dr.Shohara whenever possible. Thank you *Dr. Ryo Shohara.

July 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Shohara is a consummate professional - When leaving his office I feel confident in his expertise and that he and Kaiser are providing the best in cancer care.

July 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara and his team are great.

July 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

this doctor is so amazingly good!

June 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Every time I go to Dr Shohara's office it is a good experience. I appreciate the time, patience, and care I receive each time.

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara is new to me since my last doctor retired. Felt very comfortable with him. He and his staff are caring and showed concern, compassion and professionalism. Oncology is a difficult specialty and I don't like to go (no one does?!) but this was a positive experience.

May 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had *Dr. [name] during my active cancer treatment - & was pleased with my care. *Dr. Shohara took over & brought it up another notch. I genuinely like him & will miss him in coming years if my cancer stays in remission. 1st rate!

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor and every nurses are very good too. I feel good.

April 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Shohara is very knowledgeable about his subject area. He presents his diagnosis and your treatment in a kind and caring way that you can understand. He is always in the moment and present when he is with you.

April 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shohara is not only very knowledgeable but he has such compassion and it shows. He is a good listener and sits down and talks with you and treats you like family. I truly felt at ease after my visit.

March 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara is extremely attentive to my needs. He always takes the time to listen to any issues I may have. He gives me the benefit of the doubt when I am unsure of what my medical problem is instead of dismissing my concerns as far fetched or "in my head". I really appreciate his effort in my care.

March 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara has made this difficult process as good as it could be with his understanding, patience, care, time and willingness to listen and answer all questions. I consider it a gift that he is my oncologist.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good experience. Dr. Shorhara is very clear and diligently covers all areas so the patient understands purpose and what to expect during treatment. He's great!

March 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Even though I know he was running behind, I didn't feel rushed. He took calm and careful time to answer all my questions.

March 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara is a great dr.

February 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shohara treated me with respect and answered/discussed all my questions and concerns. Very happy with him and the other doctors on the team who have treated my breast cancer.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good & got good inform.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my last visit to oncology! (Were pretty sure.) For the last 5 1/2 yrs. I have received nothing but loving care from all involved with my care for breast cancer. *Dr. Shohara has been my oncologist for the last couple of years. He & *Dr. [name] were wonderful caregivers.

December 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shohara takes wonderful care of me. Everyone at this clinic is wonderfully awesome. A bright spot in my cancer treatment.

December 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Highly recommend *Dr. Shohara.

November 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shohara is the nicest person. He is so caring and listens to my concerns and explains things to me so I can understand them. He is an asset to Kaiser!

November 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Couldn't be better!

October 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Impressed with *Dr. Shohara, efficient, friendly, informative, competent.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated the personal interest taken in my care.

October 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Due to traffic - problems, I was late for my appointment, but the doctor worked me in. I didn't even wait 5 minutes I think he took his lunch hour to see me. He is a great doctor and person!

October 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm so blessed to receive the care by dr Shohara. He shows a super concern on my condition. Amazing care and following through on my lab results. I truly appreciate him

October 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The nurses and my doctor are wonderful!

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shahara is the best dr. we have ever meant he's informative, he's kind, humorous, knowledgeable, he listens with interest, he's an excellent dr.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Being an oncologist has been a lifelong calling for me. I knew I wanted to be a doctor when I was seven years old and had my appendix removed. That vision expanded to specifically wanting to be an oncologist when several family members passed away from cancer in my early teenage years. I love Portland. The Northwest has an incredible culture that I really enjoy. I grew up and went to medical school in Northern California, and did my medical training in New York. I wanted to join Kaiser Permanente because of the incredible integrated model of care. I feel my patients are strongly supported with a robust network of excellent doctors and clinical staff. I also love that the insurance options are better defined because of the integrated model. I spend significantly less time navigating insurance systems for my patients.

About my practice

I deeply care about people and forming relationships with patients throughout treatment. I always work to develop a deeper understanding of my patient and their medical needs. Oncology allows me to share very unique experiences, and I am grateful to my patients for giving me the gift of treating them. My focus is on the patient's goals. I believe in open and honest communication around options. I am forthcoming with information about treatment possibilities and quality of life considerations.

How I thrive

I enjoy Portland, Oregon and always find ways to thrive in this amazing city.

Medical School ?

University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine
San Francisco

Medical Training ?

Hematology and Oncology
New York Presbyterian Hospital (Columbia Campus)
New York NY

Internal Medicine
New York Presbyterian Hospital (Cornell Campus)
New York NY

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine

Medical Oncology
American Board of Internal Medicine