S. Christopher Hoffelt MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Radiation Oncology Center
3620 N. Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 207 Ratings
  • 68 Comments

The doctor made me feel very comfortable and I am confident that he will take good care of me

August 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. explained everything very well. Felt like maybe this cancer can be beat.

July 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt and his staff are some of the best care providers I have encountered while under Kaiser Care. Very thorough & caring. Answered all questions & concerns.

June 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I trust in Dr. Hoffelt ability to recommend treatment options that we both agree on. He is professional and friendly and I am grateful to have him as a part of my medical team treating my cancer.

April 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt & team have been excellent. Absolutely no complaints, just positives! Thank you!

April 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough, polite, and showed concern for the issue at hand. Very personable.

March 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt - always an excellent doctor!!!

March 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

An exceptional doctor.

February 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good

February 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Found *Dr. Hoffelt and all the staff to be very caring while still being professional. Were not in a hurry to get me out of there. I was very satisfied with my appointment

January 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt calls me with test results very promptly and even after hours to let me know the results. Much appreciated.

November 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was very thorough - very detailed and concerned. Very impressive on his question and analysis.

November 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Christopher Hoffelt is a great doctor! Caring, thorough - The best!!! Thank you!

October 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt is a 10

October 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had the dr. last year for treatment and was so pleased to have _____ this terrific treatment.

September 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The very best.

August 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt was very detailed and showed a good understanding of my condition and made a number of options very clear for me to decide what I wanted.

August 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The staff & *Dr. Hoffelt was so wonderful I felt very calm & had all my questions answered - this was my 1st radiation treatment.

July 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I loved the provider and the nursing staff, very friendly & thorough provider. Spent more time with me, than probably should have. Loved that!

July 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt is professional & I felt confident in his expertise.

June 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt is technically proficient. He is very thoughtful before he speaks and is a very kind doctor.

May 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The staff is great, always smiling and *Dr. Hoffelt is a very nice man and knows what he is doing. I would recommend him to everyone.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care Provider. Excellent.

April 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt is an excellent clinician & showed great care for my condition & explaining treatment options.

April 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This, *Dr. Hoffelt, showed concern for me as a person and not just a #. He is a very caring man for the whole person - also explained very clear the possible future treatment - "keep this doctor".

March 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very patient with me listened,addressed my concerns. Kudos to my Doctor would recommend him to anyone who asked about him.... Thank you

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service and care. Very efficient could not have a better health care experience, and *Dr. Hoffelt, wonderful staff.

February 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very happy with the time *Dr. Hoffelt took with me and my husband to go over my condition, scans, etc., and talk through treatment options. I did not feel rushed at all but rather I was treated with care and given all the information I asked for.

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffert is an incredible, caring doctor. Spent a lot of time w/me, & explained everything very well!

January 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt could not have provided better care for me. He sincerely cares about his patients and he provided us with lots of information. *Dr. Hoffelt is an excellent dr. [name]

December 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffeit - Great.

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR. Hoffelt was outstanding, he showed great concern and empathy everything we saw him.

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Been very happy with my care.

October 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt is one of those physicians you have to brag about. He is attentive, explains issues, and you can ask him anything. As his patient I have complete confidence in his care of me. I can't say enough good things. [name]

October 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was pleased with my visit w/*Dr. Hoffelt! He's a very good dr. and easy to understand as well as being sympathetic to my needs!

October 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would recommend him to anyone at any time.

October 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt is comforting, helpful, assuring. He's exactly who you need in your corner when fighting cancer. // Dr. Hoffelt was kind, sincere, thorough. He explained the test results, he listened to our questions and answered everything to our satisfaction. He set up a plan for treatment and his office followed up right away to schedule the next appointment. I would highly recommend Dr. Hoffelt !

September 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt laid it all out, the good and bad. I was relieved I was left feeling optimistic after he laid out his plan. I feel completely prepared for what is to come thanks to *Dr. Haffelt.

September 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Could not ask for better care. Thank you. [name]

September 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt has changed my life. Thanks to him and his team!

September 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent.

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional and informative!

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. H was so respectful of my decision not to proceed with radiation. He is one amazing Dr.

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt and staff are unmatched. Not very good, excellent, outstanding, the best of the best!!!! I don't believe they could be better. Please thank them all for me. [name]

July 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt was very kind, thorough and considerate.

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Christopher Hoffelt did a great job with my ease and preferences. I choose-d alternative medicine to treat my breast cancer instead of chemotherapy. Of course it wasn't his preference. But he was very professional, tolerant and helpful. I admired and appreciate him a lot because of that!!!

July 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had very good care.

July 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt was very kind and considerate. He spent a great deal of his time explaining my issues. He is a very caring physician.

July 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt seems like a very caring professional.

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I highly recommend *Dr. Hoffelt. He shows great concern for the patient.

June 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I REALLY appreciated Dr. Hoffelts straight forward manner. It gave me confidence that I was getting good information and treatment- I felt that he went out of his way to include me and my wife in all areas of the treatment.. I always knew what to expect and even how to go about handling it- No question i asked was too small to answer! Well done!! and Thank you!

May 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased with my outcome. *Dr. Hoffelt is my hero!

April 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a bit overwhelming but the doctor did an excellent job of helping my wife and I understand the situation and treatment.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt was very nice and professional. He is following my chemo treatments and if necessary will provide radiation treatments. He understands my questions and desires not to have radiation done -- he is very patient and understand my personal needs.

December 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor and his staff are making this "adventure" easier expierence.

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt was very good in giving me options & spent quite a bit of time with me to ensure I was informed & a part of the decision - would recommend him very highly.

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt was kind and knowledgeable. He answered all of our questions thoroughly. My husband and I left the appointment feeling confident that we understood the choices for future treatment.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Liked him really well answered all of my questions and my concerns. Treatment has been great. The whole staff are awesome! Very happy.

November 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm thankful to have *Dr. Hoffelt for my radiation oncologist. He is amazing & really cares about me & my family.

October 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt is almost certainly responsible for saving my life. My condition was extremely rare: I had a [diagnosis] tumor on the inside of my heart. He invented and designed a radiation strategy that destroyed the tumor with minimum heart damage.

October 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The entire staff from registration, to nurses, to technicians, and the doctor...all were very friendly, professional and informative. They made the radiation therapy a positive experience.

October 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt is very caring.

September 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Caring & compassionate doctor, staff and technologists.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt was very thorough in explaining & not recommending a scan.

September 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had 34 radiation treatments and other visits, I do not have one negative thing to say about everyone involved in my treatment. the entire staff is compassionate and caring. Dr. Hoffelt is very competent, yet also compassionate and spends time listening to you and trying to figure out best options for your health.

August 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt & his staff are above and beyond being sensitive and showing concern for me & my cancer.

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Cautious and very thorough. Had spent a good bit of time attempting to research my specific condition.

August 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt was patient thorough with explanations. Very positive.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was raised in North Dakota and Colorado, and since that time enjoyed living and working in the Northeast and Midatlantic regions before finding a permanent home in the Portland, Oregon area. Outside of family time, I enjoy a variety of sports, music, gardening, and other outdoor activities that enrich a pacific northwest life.

About my practice

I will always enjoy the challenge of oncology and continue to learn and improve with technology or practice changing evidence. In every patient encounter, my goal is to provide the best available facts, then discuss what may be best for each individual's system of values.

How I thrive

I feel great after hard aerobic exercise, usually playing basketball or running. Playing with the kids, gardening, and cooking are enjoyable parts of my day-to-day life.

Medical School ?

University of Colorado School of Medicine
Denver

Medical Training ?

Radiation Oncology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Radiation Oncology
American Board of Radiology