Samuel A. Hughes MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Mt. Talbert Medical Office
10100 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 52 Ratings
  • 9 Comments

*Dr. Sam Hughes is an excellent surgeon, communicator and demonstrates compassion and integrity; both clinical, and personal.

November 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hughes speaks a little too fast for me. He did slow down a bit when I asked him to. I am hearing impaired.

May 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hughes is an excellent physician and a great ambassador for Kaiser!

May 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I couldn't be happier with *Dr. Hughes and his staff.

May 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hughes took his time to explain my options, and was very concerned for my overall well being.

February 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hughes is kind and understanding and tells it like it is.

December 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Third surgery with *Dr. Hughes. Would highly recommend this practice.

September 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My overall experience with *Dr. Hughes and his staff was absolutely wonderful. The man gave me my life back after a very successful complicated surgery. He fully explained the whole process with me and he let me make the choice to have the surgery cone. I would recommend him to any body. The man is wonderful. // *Dr. Hughes is the best their is. He knows his job. I thank him and the good Lord for guiding his hands and skill in which he performed the surgery.

September 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hughes is very profecional and explained to me not only one option, but also another option if need it. He will contact me by phon after my tests are done and give me my answer. I was impressed that he will give me phon consult so I don't have to find someone to drives me 40 miles for my answers. I really appreciate *Dr. Hughes. Thank you.

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Born and raised in San Diego, California, I have lived on both coasts and feel at home in the Pacific Northwest. I came to medicine a little late, after studying Latin and Greek at the University of Pennsylvania. Seeing my parents' experience as both my grandmothers passed away rekindled in me an interest in medicine and the service it can provide. Neurosurgery allows me to channel my interest in humanity into medical practice. Our nervous system translates a sea of electrical impulses into our very thoughts and actions and caring for those delicate structures provides me a deep and abiding fulfillment.

About my practice

As a neurosurgeon, I treat a variety of brain and spine conditions. Two things I like about working at Kaiser Permanente are our comprehensive mandate and the wide range of conditions our members face. Whether it be traumatic injuries, tumors, or even degenerative conditions that compromise a patient's quality of life, my colleagues and I do all we can to provide high quality care in a timely, appropriate fashion.

How I thrive

I am the father of three young children. Raising children seems to me a lot like practicing medicine. It means caring for others before yourself, planning for misfortune while hoping for success, and enjoying others' success as much as, if not more than, your own.

Medical School ?

University of California, San Diego School of Medicine
La Jolla

Medical Training ?

Neurosurgery
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?