Samuel D. Weirich MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office South
3500 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 154 Ratings
  • 25 Comments

Dr. Weirich is amazing :-)

February 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was impressed by *Dr. Weirich as he was VERY complimentary of his staff.

February 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Loved *Dr. Weirich!

February 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Such a nice man.

February 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Weirich is very gentle when injects in my hand. Very talkative and listen to what you say. This is very important to me, he always checks my hands before the injections. Very friendly when he come into the room, shakes my hand, and always asks how I'm doing - this is how it should be.

January 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Weirich was very good explaining every thing about my wrist.

January 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Weirich & staff were fantastic! I feel confident & ready to move ahead with my needed surgery!

January 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The dr. is one of the best!

December 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Weirich best doctor I've seen a long time!

October 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is a wonderful Doctor, I trust him to do the surgery I need. He takes time with you, shows pictures, explains everything and answers questions.

October 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Above & beyond expectations!

September 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked *Dr. Weirich MD very much. He is kind and explains thing really good.

August 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thank you for such good care.

July 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I liked *Dr. Samuel Weirich on my first appt. He was straight forward, professional, and caring.

June 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Weirich and his nurse, [name] have been great.

June 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I found *Dr. Weirich to be more knowledgeable, courteous & caring than any - past orthopedic surgeon I have visited at Kaiser. I hope to have surgery completed by the dr. in the near future & an confident this surgery will be successful.

April 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A perfect visit. Everything explained. Very, very well cared for! Thank you.

January 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Staff/dr. was very professional that is all I require.

September 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am glad to see a new dr., *Dr. Weirich. He is very open informative, friendly and caring.

September 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very knowledgeable & pleasant.

April 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate the care and treatments that *Dr. Weirich has performed on my _____. I trust him completely. Glad he is staying with Kaiser - I will be following him with my care.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Weirich is a treasure - smart, articulate, takes time to explain.

January 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleased with my visit.

December 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent! All of my questions were answered fully. Total confidence in the dr. Great communication skills w/knowledge.

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really liked the dr. He explained everything so I understood everything that is going on and how to fix the problem.

August 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was raised in Northern California, spending my childhood summers on my grandfather's dairy farm in northwestern Montana. After high school, I attended college in Montana, receiving a bachelor's of science degree in chemistry. I met my future wife at medical school in Washington, DC. We received residency training in Texas and completed fellowships at the Harvard teaching programs in Boston. We feel fortunate to live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest, and my wife and I find our careers in medicine professionally fulfilling. Our family of now three daughters share a love for the outdoors and we enjoy snow skiing, bicycle touring, horseback riding, as well as camping and fishing.

About my practice

After fellowship, I briefly worked in academics at Beth Israel Hospital in the Harvard teaching system before moving to Portland. I worked in private practice for five years before joining Kaiser Permanente in 1999. Although trained in orthopedic surgery, my fellowship training in hand surgery has led me to pursue this challenging subspecialty. My dream of creating a dedicated orthopedic hand surgery service is now becoming a reality, and I find my collaboration with the assembled team of full time orthopedic hand surgeons particularly fulfilling.

How I thrive

My approach to life has evolved with the added responsibilities of family. My wife and I attempt to instill in our daughters a respect for life as well as the joys of pursuing our interests. I am an avid bicyclist and former competitive college swimmer, and these both remain a critical facet of maintaining some semblance of physical conditioning. I thoroughly enjoy the recreational activities offered here in the Pacific Northwest, especially those in which our entire family can partake. I particularly love to walk the forests, high desert, and beaches throughout all seasons. I find additional balance in my life through reading, music, the performing arts, film, and radio.

Medical School ?

The George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences
Washington

Medical Training ?

Hand Surgery
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston MA

Orthopaedic Surgery
University of Texas Health Science Center
Houston TX

Board Certification ?

Orthopaedic Surgery
American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery