Sarah J. Leitz MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Gateway Medical Office
1700 NE 102nd Ave
Portland, OR 97220

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.1
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 168 Ratings
  • 21 Comments

Sarah is an excellent doctor. A good listener, good communicator and an all around nice person. She conveys that in her actions regarding my care. As a patient in leaving I was feeling confident about myself and my care.

December 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my doctor and her team are the best

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My primary dr. was not available when I came in for an urgent visit. So, I was given *Dr. Leitz. She was friendly, concerned, and addressed my problem immediately. I was so impressed with her concern and care. I asked to change doctors. Which I did. I am pleased that she will be my primary dr. in the future.

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Leitz has always provided top-notch care. She listens to me, asks questions that help to clarify, and communicates clearly about a plan. She refers me to others when indicated, and I really appreciate everything she does.

August 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a good experience

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I know my doctor's appointments were behind schedule, yet she gave my appointment all the time it needed and at no point did it feel rushed.

July 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Sarah Is a good Dr. enjoy her knowledge

June 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time seeing *Dr. Leitz. I presented with an unusual symptom & she conferred with a surgeon who operated on me [date] to figure out the cause. Within 3 hrs. she called me at home which put my mind at ease. I was impressed!

June 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I truly feel safe, comfortable, non judged, & welcome to tell Dr Leitz anything. She has been very good about addressing my concerns & issues without fat shaming me or judging me.

June 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent. I am always very pleased with Sarah's knowledge, professionalism, and desire to work with the patient but is firm in what she believes is right for the patient. Perhaps one of her greatest qualities is the ability to "listen", "ask questions", then diagnose the potentials problem(s) and alternatives. It is nice to have so much confidence in your doctor's knowledge!

June 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Sarah generally makes me feel cared about so I can talk more about what is bothering me. so I get better care.

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

You have a good Dr., give her a raise. :-)

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was obviously in a hurry and did not seem to care that I was in pain. She disregarded my concerns about using otc medication. She was rude and condescending.

February 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good - Dr. Austin is wonderfully friendly and at the same time professional, caring, compassionate, well-educated, thorough and efficient. I am grateful for her medical care.

November 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good visit - Dr. addressed all of my concerns and listened well. I like her!

November 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor, made good assessment of me and made appropriate recommendations for my future care - I liked her a lot!

November 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional in her job

October 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really liked Dr Austin

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Austin is an awesome provider!

September 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Only concern was the doctor ordered another test for me later in the day after she read the morning's test results, but I did not hear I was to go back in for another urine test. I called two weeks later with the problem continuing and found out at that time the doctor had ordered a repeat of the test.

August 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is a really great doctor. I just love her knowledge and willingness to share it.

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have always been interested in science. Growing up in Vancouver, British Columbia I loved watching the sea life and ecology. From there I moved to upstate New York for my undergraduate degree and have been in the United States ever since. I moved to Boston for medical school (Tufts University), where I spent time working in women's health as well as running a health clinic for the underserved population. I discovered Portland when interviewing for my internal medicine residency, which I completed at Oregon Health & Science University. I might be a Canadian, but I am here to stay!

About my practice

Staying healthy takes work, but can be fun as well. My belief is to work hard on preventive, proactive medicine to reduce chronic illness burden. I also believe that every patient is an individual with their own story. I have always been interested in primary care as I love to learn about my patients' stories and to work together to help them feel better.

How I thrive

Thriving for me includes staying mentally grounded and physically active. It includes daily physical activity such as skiing, sailing, hiking, or just a walk in the fresh air during lunch. Taking time to prepare meals with my family, friends and pets keeps my mind in the right place and ready to go.

Medical School ?

Tufts University School of Medicine
Boston

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine