Saskia van der Wal MD
4.7 / 5
  • Spanish
(503) 813-2000
Sunset Medical Office
19400 NW Evergreen Parkway
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 96 Ratings
  • 29 Comments

This was my Medicare wellness visit. I was very happy with Dr. Van der Wal.

June 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good service.

March 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love *Dr. Van Der Wal - she always shows empathy, is concerned about my health and takes the time to listen. Dr. Van Der Wal never makes the visit rushed. She is an awesome doctor and I appreciate her!!

January 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is the second time now I feel doctor is in a hurry, not really taking the time to check on what the problem is. I feel like she is going more trough "the manual".

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am pleased with my choice in PCP. Dr. VanDerWal is helpful and non-judgmental in all of mine and my child's inquiries.

January 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent!

November 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

For some reason I think *Dr. van der Wal was out of focus that day. Usually she is very good.

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is amazing and I trust her completely. I like how honest and real our conversations are. I truly appreciate her.

October 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

amazing experience all around! the most understanding doctor I have EVER seen. Thank you so much. I am so happy.

October 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr VanDerWal is a 5 out of 5 truly the definition of healer .

October 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

New patient for this doctor. Really enjoyed the interaction and look forward to working with her.

September 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my provider has always taken the time to sit and talk and try to solve my concerns, it's when I step out from my doctor on urgent matters that I encounter rush with a bit of rudeness

August 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was great! Provided excellent service. She listened to every single one of my concerns and provided a solution. She was able to give me answers or at least a referral for health concerns ive had for years and that were dismissed by other doctors.

July 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr was very informative and listened well.

May 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr VanDerwal is always caring and kind. She takes action about my requests and gets things done for me. I like her.

April 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had a very nice experience at kaiser. Dr. Van Der Wall was very nice and receptive to my needs and concerns!!

March 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Van der Wall was great, very easy to talk to. I feel very confident in th care I received and would recommend her to friends and family.

February 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Van Der Wal exceeded my expectations.

November 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Van Der Wal was very sensitive to my autistic daughter's needs and I appreciated the concern and empathy she showed towards her.

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The concern & care as well as courtesy given by *Dr. Van Der Wal was excellent I would recommend *Dr. Van Der Wal to you who is in need.

October 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very friendly and intelligent.

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience. Both the nurse and doctor were very helpful and explained things great.

May 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very nice. Great about getting me worked in. and Dr. Van Der Wall did a good job getting through my first list of concerns and addressing them. She prescribed all needed meds and referring me to where I needed to be. it was a very productive visit. She was very affable.

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she takes great care of me! // van der Wal is the BEST!

April 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This visit was to establish *Dr. van der Wal as my new primary care doctor, as my previous one has semi-retired. *Dr. van der Wal spent a lot of time with me, and listened to me. She asked good questions and brought fresh perspective to my concerns. I feel the relationship will be a great fit.

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleasant visit.

December 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very pleased with this appointment and look forward to having her as my new primary care provider. It was a great experience.

November 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We did not cover all of my concerns and then I was told she needed to excuse herself to see another patient.

November 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great job

August 20, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nací en Suecia, pero crecí en Puerto Rico. Recibí mi título universitario en Psicología y Literatura Latinoamericana, y asistí a la facultad de Medicina en San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hice mi residencia en la UC (University of California) en San Francisco, y luego trabajé durante 8 años con la población latina menos favorecida en una clínica comunitaria, en la zona urbana de East Oakland, California. Conocí a mi esposo, nativo de Cuba, y decidimos mudarnos con nuestra familia a las exuberantes tierras del Noroeste del Pacífico. Extrañábamos la lluvia, y, aunque la precipitación no es tropical, ¡no deja de ser fresca y estimulante!

I was born in Sweden but grew up in Puerto Rico. I received my undergraduate degree in psychology and Latin American literature and attended medical school in San Juan, Puerto Rico. I completed my residency at UC San Francisco, then worked for eight years with the Latino underserved population at an urban community clinic in East Oakland, California. I met my husband, a native Cuban, and we decided to move our family to the lush lands of the Pacific Northwest. We had missed the rain, and though the precipitation here is not tropical, we find it fresh and invigorating!

About my practice

Me apasiona practicar la Medicina Familiar en todas sus variedades. Aunque ya no atiendo partos, he tenido años de experiencia en el área de atención prenatal de bajo riesgo y el cuidado de los recién nacidos. Disfruto particularmente de atender a familias de diferentes generaciones. Utilizo un enfoque holístico, ya que muchos factores de nuestra vida pueden afectar nuestra salud. Soy bilingüe desde el punto de vista cultural y lingüístico, y valoro la diversidad en todas sus formas. Me emociona mucho formar parte del módulo para latinos de la Clínica de Sunset y brindar atención culturalmente sensible a nuestra población latina y de habla hispana.

I am passionate about practicing full-spectrum family medicine. Though I no longer deliver babies, I have had years of experience providing low-risk prenatal and newborn care. I particularly enjoy treating multigenerational families. I use a holistic approach as so many factors in our lives can affect our health. I am culturally and linguistically bilingual and value diversity in all its forms. I am very excited to be part of the Latino Module at the Sunset clinic, providing culturally sensitive care to our Latino and Spanish-speaking population.

How I thrive

Me esfuerzo por mantener un equilibrio entre mi trabajo, mi familia y mi tiempo personal, ¡lo cual no siempre es fácil! Mis actividades favoritas son cocinar para mi familia y amigos, bailar, hacer senderismo, trotar, leer y viajar. Hago yoga y meditación de forma habitual. Mi pequeña hija es la luz de mi vida.

I do my best to balance work, family, and personal time, which is not always easy! My favorite activities are cooking for family and friends, dancing, hiking, jogging, reading, and traveling. Yoga and meditation are a part of my regular practice. My young daughter is the light of my life.

Medical School ?

University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine
San Juan

Medical Training ?

Family Medicine
University of California (San Francisco)
San Francisco CA

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine