Scott J. Brown MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 62 Ratings
  • 38 Comments

*Dr. Brown was amazing! He took the time to explain all our options, and gave us helpful tips.

June 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Brown was wonderful with my child! I couldn't have asked for a better expierience in such an unsettling diagnosis.

May 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish all doctors were like *Dr. Brown. He is an old-fashioned kind of doctor that stops time to talk to you about your concerns. I loved him! Thank you for making our family feel validated for a change!

April 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is a wonderful physician. Having access to such a wonderful highly specialized children's doctor has made a world of difference for our family. I only wish all special needs/autism families had access to a dr. like him. He makes lives better.

March 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is great! He was compassionate, thorough, and an excellent communicator. I think it's wonderful that Kaiser patients have access to him. My son does not need another appointment with him but I would happily return if he did. *Dr. Brown had great insight and really provided the perfect 1 time consult.

February 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is involved and compassionate. He and his staff are very committed & helpful.

December 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Brown is a empathetic, patient, and genuine provider. Although that was our last appointment with him, I would recommend him 100%.

November 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is an asset to specialty care at Kaiser. He is an amazing provider who listens to parents and children. He is knowledgeable and competent, confident, kind, and overall the best specialist we have seen for our child.

October 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor did not care about my concerns, was only interested in talking down to me and stating that I was chasing a red herring and my concerns meant nothing. As a mom of a special needs child when things change with them that are disconcerning and out of the norm for my child I want to have them addressed and if I want to chase that red herring it is my right to make sure my child is OK and not manifesting a new issue.

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thank you *Dr. Scott J. Brown for seeing my baby girl back in [month]. She really enjoyed playing with the doll house in your office. Your understanding & professionalism was respectful and humbling and I appreciate your service that you offer to our K.P. family and the community! XOXO momma [name]

October 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciated how sensitive *Dr. Brown was to the anxiety level of [child]. [child] gets very anxious about meeting w/people alone and when *Dr. Brown realized that, he allowed me to sit in on their 1-on-1 to give [child] some extra comfort resulting in a much more successful visit.

August 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown was very personable with our child and informative with us parents. Was understanding and concerned.

June 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown was great w/my son & explained everything very well to me & even offered to explain more to my husband.

April 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is very family centered and really listened to our input. He is caring and we trust him implicitly.

April 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown and his staff are so kind and understanding. *Dr. Brown is patient, and very thorough w/explanations. My daughter, his patient, is at ease and very comfortable w/him. She actually asked why we don't go see him more.

April 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown was patient, caring, and considerate of our concerns. He was thorough in his assessment and did a great job at answering questions. He's an excellent doctor!

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr.Brown went above and beyond in response to the horrible weather we've been having. He reached out to us and made sure we could keep our appointment by providing us with options so we could do what worked best for us - telephone or in- office or re-scheduling. We really appreciated that.

January 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Brown is an absolutely amazing provider. He is very knowledgeable in his field and addressed many of the concerns and questions I had. He gave me a lot of information for my daughters condition both in our office visit as well as a list of resources in my area. I look forward to continuing to work with *Dr. Brown.

December 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Brown was excellent & very informative!

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is wonderful! Super knowledgeable, instills our trust and confidence. He's great with our son - very patient. We feel supported by *Dr. Brown and that he's watching out for our son's best interest.

September 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown couldn't be a more amazing doc! Not only does he know his stuff, but I was so impressed by his rapport with my daughter. He was kind, patient, caring and incredibly attentive. He picked up on nuances with her behavior in one hour that have never been noticed by specialists who have know her for years. It feels like we are finally getting help for things that have been long over looked. *Dr. Brown is a gem!

September 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Working with *Dr. Brown has been one of the best experiences at KP.

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Couldn't be happier w/our doctor.

July 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown was very comforting and easy to talk to. He showed genuine concern for my son, and was thorough in his assessment. I left feeling educated and supported, and feel comfortable contacting him again in the future if need be.

July 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with *Dr. Brown specifically. He was very prepared for my son's evaluation and had clearly read the information I had sent ahead of time (I often find practitioners do not read charts). He made us feel very comfortable and has an excellent bedside manner. He spent a great deal of time talking with us and was quite thorough.

July 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown was professional and knowledgeable. He showed real empathy and concern for our son and family. He took extra time to explain things to us when we had questions, and offered a follow-up phone appt. for us to ask questions. He is kind and a good physician; he is cognizant of the impact a child's medical issues have on the family, and demonstrates empathy in that context.

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel both me and my son really connected with the doctor. He did not rush and ensured my understanding of everything he told me.

June 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown took the time to listen and interact with us and our son. He gave us a detailed report in a very timely manner and provided us with a lot of resources for seeking help and support for children with [diagnosis].

May 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown was fantastic with my daughter. He spent a great amount of time with her & was very attentive to her needs.

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience!

May 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We really appreciated that the Dr. did not seem rushed or in a hurry to get us through & out the door quickly. He seemed relaxed & ready to spend as much time as necessary with my child in order to get as much information as he could to help with our next step in my son's care.

April 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Brown was amazing!!! I think he was one of the best providers we've ever had at KP. Thank you!

March 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is magnificent. 100% what you would hope for and more in care and evaluation of our son. Professional, kind, non-intimidating, and well spoken.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great office staff, wonderful dr.

December 29, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is great! He always goes over all options & listens to my concerns. He also talks about what the next step could look like. My son loves his bow tie.

November 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is fantastic! He was very sweet & compassionate and gave diagnosis with genuine sympathy!

October 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Braun & the rest of the staff were really helpful, professional & knowledgeable. Thank you!

September 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is amazing! My son is 7 years old with autism. This appt. with *Dr. Brown was by far the best & most beneficial doctor appt. in all 7 years. Keep *Dr. Brown forever - he is worth it!

August 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in the beautiful mountains of Salt Lake City, Utah. Armed with naïve zeal and a biology degree from the University of Utah, I set out on my odyssey to become a doctor. First stop was medical school in Chicago, Illinois, where I learned the true meaning of winter and the pain of being a Cubs fan. Next, it was on to Oakland, California for residency, while squeezing in some time for kite flying by the bay. After residency I spent two years “in the trenches” working as a general pediatrician. Deciding that I preferred playing with toys to giving shots, I made one last stop in San Diego for a fellowship in developmental pediatrics. Not yet completely satisfied, I uprooted my very patient wife and three lovely daughters yet again and moved to Portland, Oregon in 2014 where we feel that we are home at last!

About my practice

I work with children who are struggling with many types of developmental, learning or behavioral challenges. As a parent, I recognize how central these issues are to every facet of daily life, and how difficult it can be when problems arise. I am a strong advocate of fostering positive parenting skills and helping parents see beyond diagnoses to better understand their child's unique profile of strengths and weaknesses. I see children for concerns about developmental delays including autism and learning problems. I also work with behavioral issues such as ADHD, anxiety, and sleep problems. I see developmental-behavioral pediatrics as "reading between the lines" of childhood in order to enable each child the best chance to learn, grow and achieve.

How I thrive

I love spending time at home or outdoors with my wife and daughters. I'm an amateur bike commuter, and enjoy crisp morning rides while the world is still snoozing. I love books and am constantly dreaming of the perfect afternoon browsing the stacks at Powell's Books or in a shady backyard hammock with a warm beverage and a Patrick O'Brian novel. I am also an avid letter writer (the old pen-and-ink-with-a-stamp kind), and I enjoy connecting with family and friends with my trusty fountain pen.

Medical School ?

Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine & Science
North Chicago

Medical Training ?

Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics
University of California (San Diego)
San Diego CA

Pediatrics
Children's Hospital Medical Center of Northern California
Oakland CA

Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics

Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics