Scott J. Brown MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 96 Ratings
  • 28 Comments

He is very family centered and really listened to our input. He is caring and we trust him implicitly.

April 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown and his staff are so kind and understanding. *Dr. Brown is patient, and very thorough w/explanations. My daughter, his patient, is at ease and very comfortable w/him. She actually asked why we don't go see him more.

April 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown was patient, caring, and considerate of our concerns. He was thorough in his assessment and did a great job at answering questions. He's an excellent doctor!

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr.Brown went above and beyond in response to the horrible weather we've been having. He reached out to us and made sure we could keep our appointment by providing us with options so we could do what worked best for us - telephone or in- office or re-scheduling. We really appreciated that.

January 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Brown is an absolutely amazing provider. He is very knowledgeable in his field and addressed many of the concerns and questions I had. He gave me a lot of information for my daughters condition both in our office visit as well as a list of resources in my area. I look forward to continuing to work with *Dr. Brown.

December 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Brown was friendly enough during our visit but he didn't really listen when I pushed back on some of his observations. I was disappointed.

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Brown was excellent & very informative!

October 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is wonderful! Super knowledgeable, instills our trust and confidence. He's great with our son - very patient. We feel supported by *Dr. Brown and that he's watching out for our son's best interest.

September 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown handled my sons care perfectly. We received diagnosis that day along with follow up info & care needed. Received in mail a few days after appt. *Dr. Brown is very caring, patient and complete. Would highly recommend.

September 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown couldn't be a more amazing doc! Not only does he know his stuff, but I was so impressed by his rapport with my daughter. He was kind, patient, caring and incredibly attentive. He picked up on nuances with her behavior in one hour that have never been noticed by specialists who have know her for years. It feels like we are finally getting help for things that have been long over looked. *Dr. Brown is a gem!

September 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Working with *Dr. Brown has been one of the best experiences at KP.

July 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Couldn't be happier w/our doctor.

July 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown was very comforting and easy to talk to. He showed genuine concern for my son, and was thorough in his assessment. I left feeling educated and supported, and feel comfortable contacting him again in the future if need be.

July 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed with *Dr. Brown specifically. He was very prepared for my son's evaluation and had clearly read the information I had sent ahead of time (I often find practitioners do not read charts). He made us feel very comfortable and has an excellent bedside manner. He spent a great deal of time talking with us and was quite thorough.

July 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown was professional and knowledgeable. He showed real empathy and concern for our son and family. He took extra time to explain things to us when we had questions, and offered a follow-up phone appt. for us to ask questions. He is kind and a good physician; he is cognizant of the impact a child's medical issues have on the family, and demonstrates empathy in that context.

June 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel both me and my son really connected with the doctor. He did not rush and ensured my understanding of everything he told me.

June 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown took the time to listen and interact with us and our son. He gave us a detailed report in a very timely manner and provided us with a lot of resources for seeking help and support for children with [diagnosis].

May 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown was fantastic with my daughter. He spent a great amount of time with her & was very attentive to her needs.

May 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience!

May 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Brown was very good and answered all our questions.

April 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We really appreciated that the Dr. did not seem rushed or in a hurry to get us through & out the door quickly. He seemed relaxed & ready to spend as much time as necessary with my child in order to get as much information as he could to help with our next step in my son's care.

April 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Brown was amazing!!! I think he was one of the best providers we've ever had at KP. Thank you!

March 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is magnificent. 100% what you would hope for and more in care and evaluation of our son. Professional, kind, non-intimidating, and well spoken.

February 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great office staff, wonderful dr.

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is great! He always goes over all options & listens to my concerns. He also talks about what the next step could look like. My son loves his bow tie.

November 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is fantastic! He was very sweet & compassionate and gave diagnosis with genuine sympathy!

October 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Braun & the rest of the staff were really helpful, professional & knowledgeable. Thank you!

August 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brown is amazing! My son is 7 years old with autism. This appt. with *Dr. Brown was by far the best & most beneficial doctor appt. in all 7 years. Keep *Dr. Brown forever - he is worth it!

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in the beautiful mountains of Salt Lake City, Utah. Armed with na

About my practice

I work with children who are struggling with many types of developmental, learning or behavioral challenges. As a parent, I recognize how central these issues are to every facet of daily life, and how difficult it can be when problems arise. I am a strong advocate of fostering positive parenting skills and helping parents see beyond diagnoses to better understand their child's unique profile of strengths and weaknesses. I see children for concerns about developmental delays including autism and learning problems. I also work with behavioral issues such as ADHD, anxiety, and sleep problems. I see developmental-behavioral pediatrics as "reading between the lines" of childhood in order to enable each child the best chance to learn, grow and achieve.

How I thrive

I love spending time at home or outdoors with my wife and daughters. I'm an amateur bike commuter, and enjoy crisp morning rides while the world is still snoozing. I love books and am constantly dreaming of the perfect afternoon browsing the stacks at Powell's Books or in a shady backyard hammock with a warm beverage and a Patrick O'Brian novel. I am also an avid letter writer (the old pen-and-ink-with-a-stamp kind), and I enjoy connecting with family and friends with my trusty fountain pen.

Medical School ?

Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine & Science
North Chicago

Medical Training ?

Developmental and Behavioral
University of California (San Diego)
San Diego CA

Pediatrics
Children's Hospital Medical Center of Northern California
Oakland CA

Board Certification ?

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics

Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics