Sean E. Jones MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 188 Ratings
  • 58 Comments

*Dr. Jones is an experienced and knowledgeable physician. We feel fortunate to have him as our treating physician.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Amazing. Always amazing!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

In my experience, *Dr. Jones is unique in that he can direct medical care in a way that so involves me as his patient that I feel truly in partnership with him. I trust him implicitly to always have my best interests in mind.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good is not enough to accurately describe this experience. I also need to express my pure pleasure in having *Dr. Jones as my provider. He continues to be informative and witty.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Sean Jones has been my doctor for many years. I recommend him to everyone that joins Kaiser and asks for a doctor suggestion. He is smart, personable, and keeps up to date on everything! He is an excellent doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jones has been my primary since we joined Kaiser; he has always been great at listening to my problem{s} and his advice and knowledge has been right on point. I'm thankful for his service.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jones was great. Instilled confidence immediately. Responded to every one of my requests and recommended other courses of action for me to consider.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sean Jones has become my "go to doctor" when my PCP is not available.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a good experience with *Dr. Sean Jones.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best doctor I ever had. Everyone very polite & friendly. Efficient system.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Jones was very cool. Relatable & kind & he recommended NOT filling Rx until I tried _____ methods for a week 1ST. I really liked that. I usually choose a woman provider but didn't care for the female I saw first time - *Dr Jones rocked.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Exceptional doctor. Assessment and treatment is obviously empirically driven, but he is warm, personable and caring. Very clear communicator. I never feel as if he is rushing through the appointment.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sean Jones came highly recommended and he did not disappoint. He listen carefully, proactively addressed issues/concerned, made appropriate referrals. I fell very fortunate to have him as my Internist.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Jones is an excellent and caring dr. he is always very thorough and attentive. I appreciate him a lot.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Jones is a great doctor who is easy to talk to. He keeps up on everything and asks questions and suggests strategies that are relevant to someone my age (76). You are lucky to have such a long standing, top notch person! And so am I...

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jones is the best.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the first time that I have met *Dr. S. E. Jones. Very good experience overall: Clear, concise, straightforward and even threw in a little humor. Much appreciated. I definitely would recommend *Dr. S. Jones to others. Thanks again.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great help, exceeded expectations, all issues dealt with, outstanding care provider.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Jones always attentive, going over our last meeting and things I had experience earlier in the year. Asking questions, answering my questions, making suggestions to me of things available and things I might want to consider in terms of taking better care of my health...All good.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jones was the most thorough doctor I have ever seen!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A good visit that helped me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Jones was kind and courteous. He provided excellent care when I was in a lot of pain

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Jones is a superb doctor. I am fortunate to be under his care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have a lot of allergies to medication and am breastfeeding. Provider spent time to research best prescription option. Was wearing my baby, provider worked around that nicely

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always, *Dr. Jones was the right combination of everything great.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sean Jones have been my doctor for over 20 years. I have great confidence in him. [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Sean Jones is an extraordinary MD. He listens, learns, advises so well. I appreciate his wonderful care over years of tough questions, choices, outcomes. I'm alive today because *Sean Jones cares about me. Thank you.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very satisfied with mt provider. always feel reasured. with my care

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am glad to be Dr. Jones' patient. I appreciate the time he spends with me, the questions he asks, the thinking he lends to my challenges.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good appointment with Dr. Jones. Complicated thing, health issues. Sometimes they take some time to figure out. He took the time.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a good visit. *Dr. Jones listened to my problem and took measures to help my problem. I am getting better.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Jones has been my provider for at least 20yrs and I trust him with all my health cocerns

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish you could clone *Dr. Sean Jones. Caring, compassionate, excellent listener, and intelligent. Always aware of latest medications and treatment options. Always uses reflective listening when we discuss my concerns about losing weight and lack of mobility directly related to obesity.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good doc!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased with *Dr. Jones (his attention & detail, thoroughness, professional demeanor, humor) and his staff.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I respect *Dr. Jones style in assessment & treatment of my concerns. He listens carefully, asks specific questions to get more information, outlines alternate ways of approaching the problem, tells me what he would recommend, & then asks what I would prefer to do. Thank you *Dr. Jones.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Sean Jones is terrific!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate very much Dr. Jones presence to and attentiveness to the situation. He listens well and takes the time to genuinely respond to questions and provide the necessary information.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Considering it was almost closing time, he was calm and took the time to deal with my problem.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jones listens well, takes time needed when doing his exams, informs me about his thought process in making decisions about testing and treatment, is an experienced diagnostician, and involves me in treatment decisions. I have complete confidence in Dr. Jones and feel fortunate to have his care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

kind and caring. validated my concern and offered reassurance. my visit did not feel rushed. in fact he took a moment to confirm I didnt need anything else. there was a bit of a wait, but i know it's because he takes the time to give excelent care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Sean Jones is just an extraordinary doctor and my husband and I feel so lucky to have him as our physician.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Sean Jones is the best!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Sean Jones has been my primary dr. over 20 yrs. - he's a caring compassionate doctor & listening - was wonderful when I lost my son to a stroke. He is one I trust my health to!!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jones is always very attentive and thoughtful.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I came in for an issue of pain in my foot - I left with the doctor ignoring that issue to press on another issue he thought was more important. (Slightly elevated blood sugar). I didn't feel listened to and was dismissed without the dr. truly addressing the issue I came in for.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was truly appreciative of the amount of time and informative care and conversation that I experienced in this visit with Sean Jones.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

HE ALWAYS LISTENS TO ANY CONCERNS OF MINE AND HE GOT TESTS AND OTHER EXPERTS ON MY CASE QUICKLY

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Plenty of time. Knowledgable about symptoms I raised. Very familiar with my history. Interested in me. Great experience.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Jones was recommended highly to me by my mother, for whom Dr. Jones has been the primary care physician for an extended period. For my first visit and consultation, Dr. Jones was friendly, listened carefully and was forthright in manner. Dr. Jones' follow-up to my visit has been prompt and thorough, and I am appreciative of his being my primary care physician.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Jones spent a lot of time with me and did an excellent job of following up and following through with his care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Jones is an exceptional primary care doctor, and I am glad to have the chance to work with him about my care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel safe and cared for by *Dr. Jones - an excellent doctor!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Sean Jones is the best m.d. I've ever experienced. None better!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

this care provider always answers questions and provides background info.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate being one of Dr. Jones patients. He brings himself to our appointments - his experience, determination, intellect, kindness and empathy. I feel like I am respected as a person.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

If only you could clone Dr. Jones.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thanks to *Dr. Jones and Kaiser staff, I had an appointment within discovering I was developing shingles. Thanks to prompt attention and medication plus an inoculation for shingles 2 years ago, I had a very mild case. Thanks, guys.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am a native Northwesterner with grandparents from Tillamook and St. Johns, Oregon and Wallace, Idaho. My father was a high school history teacher and my mother was a social worker in the Seattle, Washington school system working with pregnant girls. I grew up in Seattle and came to Portland, Oregon to attend Reed College and majored in biology. After graduation I thought I was heading towards the study of evolution and environmental biology but two years of research at Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) and Columbia University got me headed towards medicine and I started at Yale Medical School with a direction towards basic science research. My course changed as I found that I had the heart to be a good doctor and applied to primary care residencies and ended up back in Portland, Oregon where I have been since 1986. My family is my greatest joy. My wife and I live in the Irvington neighborhood. We have four fine children all of whom went to Grant High School.

About my practice

Medicine has been a great experience for me. It combines my love of science and my family's values of social responsibility. But, I still have aspirations to be a forest ranger someday. I am quite aware that the history of medicine is full of good intentions that proved to be ineffective or even harmful to patients. My interest in medication safety started with my thesis at Yale on adverse effects of medications used to control hospitalized patients who were acutely agitated. I am fond of the saying that has been attributed to Mark Twain that states, "to a kid with a new hammer, everything looks like a nail." Medicine has too readily started pounding with new drugs and devices before we really know how safe and effective they are. Of course we want to take advantage of new breakthroughs but again we must recall that lots of things seemed like a good idea at the time and proved to be disasters later. My work with the Regional Formulary and Therapeutics Committee keeps me up to date on medication therapy and I am honored to be in a position to impact the care that Kaiser Permanente organizes. I feel very fortunate to have met so many great patients over the years. I learn from them and hopefully I impact their lives in a meaningful way at times. I believe that time heals most things but that my job is to be on the ball when either action or reassurance is needed. I believe that each of us has the ability to make our lives and our health better. Some are dealt terrible hands and the road is hard and my job is to try to help make it better.

How I thrive

Thrive to me means Music and Nature. I am a terrible singer but can't resist in the shower. I am a second rate guitar, banjo, and ukulele player but I keep working at it. I like to hike and be out in the wilds but I also feel fortunate that I live in a neighborhood right in Portland that is an urban forest of hawks, coyotes, salamanders, and outstanding trees. I will keep playing basketball as long as the body holds up. But, baseball is the best sport by far.

Medical School ?

Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
St. Vincent Hospital and Medical Center
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine