Shikha Arun MD
4.5 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Sunset Medical Office
19400 NW Evergreen Parkway
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.5
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.4
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.5
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.5
    Explanations
  • 4.6
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 89 Ratings
  • 19 Comments

I am pretty high maintenance as we deal with some chronic medical issues. My provider always shows me compassion and understanding.

April 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really like *Dr. Arun.

March 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Arun is a joy. Friendly! Courtesy and no B.S.

February 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was extremely impressed and put at ease by Dr Arun. I was worried about changing pcp's with my new insurance, but she was great and made me feel a lot better about the change.

February 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My actual visit with Dr. Arun was wonderful. She is a knowledgeable and caring Physician.

January 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I enjoyed meeting my new PCP. She was very nice.

January 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Arun was fantastic. She was friendly, thorough, attentive, and sensitive while discussing a fairly embarrassing problem. She immediately performed an exam to diagnose the problem and gave me clear instructions on treatment and follow-up. Thanks!

December 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very good experience with her as this was first time with her, I felt at ease and she was a professional.

November 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm very pleased with *Dr. Arun and her staff.

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I, sadly, felt that some of my questions were not answered.

July 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I will never see this provider again. She did not even examine me, asked 3 questions about my family history and based on my "no" answers and a lab result from 8 months ago, decided that I did not have any serious ailment. She could not answer my questions or give a good explanation for anything.

July 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had a couple of visits. The care provider did a good job.

July 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

my dr. was very caring and nice, she make me compfortable

May 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was very caring and nice, but I feel more could have been done for the pain I am experiencing. I do not think stress in the main cause and feel I need more evaluation.

April 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor Shikka Arun is an exccellant doctor. i met her for the first time and her help and guidance are excellant

April 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Arun is a breath of fresh air. Loved her personality, attention to detail, and sense of caring. Wish all doctors were like her.

April 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

overall rating excelant and i will reommend to anyone

April 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Arun is among the best.

March 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Arun was great We probably will stick with her.

February 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am board certified in internal medicine and have been practicing in Portland since 1997. After graduating from King Georges Medical University, India, I did my internship in Portland at Providence St. Vincent Medical Center. I feel lucky to be practicing medicine, a profession that allows me to combine science with humanity. I appreciate being able to use the latest scientific advances to help people in concrete and satisfying ways.

About my practice

My philosophy is to care for patients as I would members of my own family. As an immigrant, one of the parts of my job I most enjoy is getting to know a wonderfully diverse group of people and working to provide individualized care for them, consistent with their cultural preferences and values. I see my role as a health coach, helping our members get the information they need to make health-care decisions for themselves. My goal is to leverage the latest medical advances while remaining empathic to each patient's needs. I believe that if patients pay a little bit of attention to good health early in their lives, they can experience benefits over time. As an internist, I find it especially rewarding to help patients with complex and long-term issues such as diabetes, hypertension, and heart disease. I also have a special interest in transgender medicine and was one of the early physicians treating trans patients in Portland. I have given many presentations on transgender care to residents, faculty, and staff, both locally and internationally. I work closely with a small number of associate clinicians who may follow up with my patients when I am away, ensuring excellent, consistent care. Finally, I encourage my patients to use all of the KP technological tools, including the online account, which enables them to refill prescriptions, check lab results, and view portions of their medical records.

How I thrive

As a way to relax, I enjoy sipping tea and watching British whodunits late into the evening with my husband. I enjoy spending time with my family and friends, having conversations about all things under the sun. I have been teased by friends about my latest "hobby of the month;" lately, I am trying to learn Indian vocal music! I have previously dabbled in acting, flower arranging, tailoring, and cooking. I must enjoy the process of learning for its own sake!

Medical School ?

King George's Medical College
Lucknow
India

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
St. Vincent Hospital and Medical Center
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine