Soames F. Boyle MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 223 Ratings
  • 67 Comments

Dr. Boyle has always been very friendly and professional during our visits.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I can only say wonderful things about Dr Boyle. She is clinically, professionally, and personally great.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased with my doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle is a great doctor - Very personable - Very willing to listen to your problem.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Boyle is very professional, knowledge as well as personable. An outstanding addition to the program.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle is simply outstanding as my oncologist.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Boyle prompt and efficient. She listens carefully and attentively. I didn't have to wait very long in the exam room before she came in. I am sure that she read carefully the results of my biopsy.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

From the front desk check in, to the medical assistant, to *Dr. Boyle all is well. Nice, efficient staff. Good discussion & explanations from *Dr. Boyle.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle is the BEST. She is a good listener, easy to understand, personal and supportive. I'm so thankful she is my doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle, as always, was very professional yet friendly during our visit for my CLL treatment. She answered all my questions completely.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have utmost confident in *Dr. Boyle, she is pleasant and knowledgeable.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Boyle is an outstanding Oncologist/Hematologist. I trust her judgement when making treatment decisions.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like *Dr. Boyle, she is very to talk to.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first visit with *Dr. Boyle after my previous oncologist left Kaiser. *Dr. Boyle was totally prepared to continue my treatments and brought additional information/plans as we move through my immunotherapy. I have been and have total confidence in my medical team and treatment plans lead by *Dr. Boyle.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love Dr Boyle! She is informative & sensitive. Gives the straight facts. Listens & addresses your concerns. Follows your lead on how much information you are needing at the time. Very responsive to emails!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Boyle is a professional at every level. She provided me with the information I needed to hear, options available and provided answers to my concerns. // Dr. Boyle brought in representatives from other ares to provide chemotherapy options for me to consider.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle is an outstanding doctor... Kind and compassionate and incredible smart/competent. She cares deeply about her patients & helping us deal with cancer, chemo & it's side effects. Best oncologist in the world!!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first appointment with *Dr. Boyle. My former doctor left Kaiser. I reviewed her biography as asked her to be my new doctor. So far I am pleased. I believe that she has a good understanding of my situation.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is a good through MD.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

First time with this doctor. I like her. Look forward to working with her regarding my medical care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am extremely pleased with my oncolgoist who listens to my questions carefully & makes carefully thought out and studied recommendations Sincerely [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

With more than 15 years of oncology care I have had enough patient experience to be very confident in my opinion of *Dr. Boyle. I rate her very highly and hope to have more years of excellent care under her management.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle is such a wonderful caring doctor. She is truly there for you. [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Boyle is excellent. She communicates very well and spends the time necessary at each appointment. I respect her opinions and care proceedures.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle & her staff are excellent health professionals in every way.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Boyle is an absolutely outstanding doctor...compassionate, kind and unbelievably well informed about best practices in oncology. She consistently spends time during each appointment making sure I clearly understand my prognosis, all treatment(s) and any concerns for future treatments I may have. I feel extremely fortunate to have such an utterly amazing doctor!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle is knowledgeable, professional and listens. What you want a doctor to be.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Soames Bayle is the type of provider we all want when we need medical help. She is interested, informative, helpful & personally connected with my problem. I enjoy meeting with her. She should share her 'bedside' manner to other providers, so they may learn positive approaches to their patients. She is REALLY great!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Boyle is what ALL doctors should be! Intelligent, well versed in her field and kind.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle is the best hematologist I have seen. I'm very glad I found her. She started a treatment plan that worked right away after 6 YEARS of struggling under the care of various other doctors.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle excellent & her staff would like to recommend others to her. Excellent dr.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Boyle is the best.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle is amazing - I recently was waiting for a M-Protein result for my cancer - She picked up the phone and called me versus email - As always I'm impressed with my care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Ms. Boyle is the best! I am in remission due to her care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Boyle is a wonderful, wonderful doctor. She's well informed, well prepared for my visits each time, compassionate, kind and I have the greatest confidence in her ability to care for me. She's scholarly and I don't know how I could survive this without her amazing care. // Always a very short wait for Dr Boyle. She's extremely efficient and remarkably organized.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Boyle is a top notch Oncologist/Hematologist. I'm always impressed with Dr. Boyle's knowledge and advice. She's the best!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Boyle has been great. I am now very satisfied.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle went beyond my expectations for my care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Clearly I could not be happier with my treatment. I know I am very fortunate to have *Dr. Boyle as my physician!!! The whole staff there are so positive and cheerful which must be highly valued given the long-term life expectations of terminal cancer patients such as myself.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My wife is retired RN and we both love *Soames Boyle- have utmost confidence in her knowledge and ability.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Routine breast cancer follow-up visit. *Dr. Boyle has been a wonderful doctor, knowledgeable, professional, empathetic, a pleasure knowing her.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love *Dr. Boyle!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

love Dr. Boylle and [name]. both are caring and helpful in any way needed.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely satisfied with *Dr. Doyle.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt every confidence in *Doctor Boyle and her staff which may my problem seem manageable and my quality of life could continue. Thank you.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

wish you hada #10. Dr Boyle is that good !!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle is a caring empathetic oncologist. I wish all were like her. She explains a complex problem in a way that a non-medical person understands, she does not try to force you unto anything to which you do not feel confident about or that one wants to get more information about. She presents a complete picture (or as much as she can as each patient reacts differently) of available treatments. I think she is a very welcome addition to the oncology dept.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As my wife is a retired RN with over 40 years experience, the fact we both are extremely satisfied and grateful to have Soames as my oncologist speaks volumes. How fortunate for Kaiser and the oncology patients that she has chosen to practice there

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Boyle has good bed side manner.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Boyle is a fine Oncologist. She has always been on top of her game when I have my in-clinic appointments. Multiple Myeloma is a difficult blood cancer to treat and Dr. Boyle has the expertise to deal with it.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle is awesome. I believe she knows what to do. Very personable and approachable.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everything was covered and left with all info needed. Questions were answered and left with a good feeling

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle and her nurse were both very thorough and competent during the examination. Both were very friendly and courteous during my visit.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been very impressed by *Dr. Boyle's willingness to talk and make herself available to me as I try to make the right decision for me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love, love, *Dr. Soames & all who work with her.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Soames is a caring & knowledgeable doctor. I recommend her highly.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My last experience was very good. Dr. Boyle Listened to my concerns and did her best to answer all our questions.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle is knowledgeable and kind.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a very good experience with both *Dr. Boyle & nurse.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Boyle has a very good beside manner.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I regard *Dr. Boyle with a high degree of confidence. To my mind she is a TOP NOTCH ONCOLOGIST!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It seemed she was rushed to get through the appointment. She did provide good information and assistance despite her hurried energy.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Boyle is great

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Had a follow up question that I sent Dr Boyle via email. She responded clearly and promptly.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Have had good relationship with this care provider and I am very confident and pleased.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Consultation with *Dr. Soames Boyles, MD was a very good experience.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Boyle is compassionate and kind. One feels she is geniunly concerned with the overall well being of her clients

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in Portland and, after 15 years of school and training in California, I am very happy to be home again. My introduction to oncology was by way of a college class entitled "The biology of cancer." I was always fascinated with cancer as a disease, and during a year of basic science research in hematology I realized how much I valued the patient interaction as a way to bring meaning to my lab work. I appreciate working for Kaiser Permanente where we have so much support to focus on providing the best care for patients with cancer.

About my practice

I am board certified in hematology, medical oncology, and internal medicine. My practice focuses primarily on bleeding disorders, clotting disorders, and cancers of the blood and immune systems.

How I thrive

I love spending time with my family - my husband, our two children, my parents, and sister. I enjoy running, yoga, skiing, tennis, and rediscovering the beautiful Pacific Northwest.

Medical School ?

Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California
Los Angeles

Medical Training ?

Hematology and Oncology
University of California (Davis)
Sacramento CA

Internal Medicine
University of California (San Diego)
San Diego CA

Board Certification ?

Hematology
American Board of Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine

Medical Oncology
American Board of Internal Medicine