Stephen T. Gancher MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center
10180 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 118 Ratings
  • 28 Comments

Dr. Gancher is always a kind, compassionate, very professional doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care! Could not ask for anything better!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gancher & the staff was extremely kind & so helpful took extra time to explain everything.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Listens to my concerns and explains in detail options available. Very beneficial.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor could have been more concerning and sympathetic. He seemed to be occupied with the thought of getting me through my visit rather quickly.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gancher was one of the best drs. I have ever visited he listened & explained options of treatment. Great experience overall.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gancher was very easy to have a conversation with. He took time to explain details and to answer my questions. Very nice appointment overall. Thank-you.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gancher is an excellent doctor, I have confidence in him, and appreciate the care he gives me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gancher is always very prompt // Dr. Gancher is a wonderful, professional, kind, compassionate physician. He has helped me tremendously over the years

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have received care from Dr. Gancher for many years. I think he tries to help me within the limits of Kaiser. He even offers the opportunity to get second opinions. so compassionate. // Dr.Gancher always listens to my concerns and ideas. He includes me in the problem solving.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gancher does excellent work. This difficult treatment is done so well that the pain and trama is reduced to a minimum. I have strong confidence in Dr. Gancher.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. [Gancher] has been extremely thoughtful while listening to my feedback in order to customize my treatment to meet my needs. I believe I am receiving the best of medical care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Doctor. I feel confident the differentials of my symptoms were explored and I was included in the decisions for the next best steps for my care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Every [time period] I come to see *Dr. Gancher for several injections each appointment. The shots hurt. I appreciate his concern and offering ice to help with the pain.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gancher is an outstanding clinician with clear attention to details - just all his visit notes!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Gancher's plenty knowledgeable and should be doing this job - BUT, his social skills and compassion (expression of) are SORELY lacking. ALWAYS in a hurry running to next patient so seems impersonal. I am sure he is a nice man OUSTIDE of the office/practice - he just needs to SLOW DOWN and get to know his patients. This builds trust and makes a less - stressful appointment.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The thing I appreciated the most was the amount of time he spent with me. I was nervous and fearful of the outcome, and he answered all my questions, thoroughly and courteously.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best doctor ever!!!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gancher is an excellent doctor.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. G is the best.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gancher and everyone who work in the module with him has been very professional, kind and helpful.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit with *Dr. Gancher answered every question I had. Did feel a little rushed but he's a neurologist, I don't expect to be the priority. He was very thorough when I'd asked to see my MRI, which was greatly appreciated.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like *Dr. Young. He makes me feel that his interest in keeping a healthy and happy patient. I love his sense of humor. Instead of telling you what you need to do, he guides you right by answering all your questions and possibly some things you may not have thought of. Ultimately easier to make a decision.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everyone who worked with me was terrific! We (my husband & me) were very pleased with *Dr. Gancher and the staff.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am lucky and delighted to have *Dr. Gancer care for me. The amount of work he and his staff do including going past the _____ in helping me to function is phenomenal. I am very happy with *Dr. Gancher.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am grateful for *Dr. Ganchers high levels of competence and caring and I feel safe having him as my neurologist.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the doctor came in unprepared. he had to look up a prior email he had sent to me regarding my abnormal MRI. I never got a clear answer to any of my questions. He couldn't explain how the damage to the right side of my brain was effecting me. He ordered another MRI scan but didn't explain what he was looking for. I left this appointment feeling more confused and frustrated than I did prior to the appointment

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm originally from the San Francisco Bay area. After attending medical school in the South, I moved back to home for internship and became interested in neurology. I was fortunate to secure a residency position in Portland at Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU), became interested in Parkinson's disease and academic research, and joined the OHSU faculty. I found patient care to be more fulfilling and joined Kaiser Permanente in 1996.

About my practice

I have been in practice in the department of Neurology since 1996. I subspecialize in the treatment of Parkinson's disease and other involuntary movement disorders, and am an expert in the administration of botulinum toxin (Botox) injections for medical illnesses. I am also experienced at treating movement disorder conditions with deep brain stimulation and am experienced at DBS programming, as well as programming vagal nerve stimulation devices for the treatment of epilepsy. In recent years, I have developed a special interest in cerebrovascular disease and serve as the stroke director for Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center.

How I thrive

Balance in life is important. Although I love my job, I also value my time off. I especially enjoy being outdoors and love hiking, biking, and gardening; it is a great way to relax. Enjoying our cool, rainy weather has helped me to take advantage of all of the opportunities the Northwest has to offer.

Medical School ?

Bowman Gray School of Medicine of Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem

Medical Training ?

Parkinson's Disease and Movement Disorders
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Neurology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Neurology
American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology