Stephen T. Gancher MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center
10180 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 122 Ratings
  • 17 Comments

Dr. [Gancher] has been extremely thoughtful while listening to my feedback in order to customize my treatment to meet my needs. I believe I am receiving the best of medical care.

May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gander had a great personal touch and really listened, explored the prior drs notes, explained tx and went in a tx direction that seemed to make a lot of sense given where I'm at, so thank you very much!

May 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Doctor. I feel confident the differentials of my symptoms were explored and I was included in the decisions for the next best steps for my care.

May 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Every [time period] I come to see *Dr. Gancher for several injections each appointment. The shots hurt. I appreciate his concern and offering ice to help with the pain.

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Gancher's plenty knowledgeable and should be doing this job - BUT, his social skills and compassion (expression of) are SORELY lacking. ALWAYS in a hurry running to next patient so seems impersonal. I am sure he is a nice man OUSTIDE of the office/practice - he just needs to SLOW DOWN and get to know his patients. This builds trust and makes a less - stressful appointment.

December 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The thing I appreciated the most was the amount of time he spent with me. I was nervous and fearful of the outcome, and he answered all my questions, thoroughly and courteously.

November 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gancher is an excellent doctor.

September 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gancher and everyone who work in the module with him has been very professional, kind and helpful.

August 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. G is the best.

August 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best doctor ever!!!

June 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit with *Dr. Gancher answered every question I had. Did feel a little rushed but he's a neurologist, I don't expect to be the priority. He was very thorough when I'd asked to see my MRI, which was greatly appreciated.

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like *Dr. Young. He makes me feel that his interest in keeping a healthy and happy patient. I love his sense of humor. Instead of telling you what you need to do, he guides you right by answering all your questions and possibly some things you may not have thought of. Ultimately easier to make a decision.

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am lucky and delighted to have *Dr. Gancer care for me. The amount of work he and his staff do including going past the _____ in helping me to function is phenomenal. I am very happy with *Dr. Gancher.

February 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am grateful for *Dr. Ganchers high levels of competence and caring and I feel safe having him as my neurologist.

January 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Everyone who worked with me was terrific! We (my husband & me) were very pleased with *Dr. Gancher and the staff.

January 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good.

September 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

the doctor came in unprepared. he had to look up a prior email he had sent to me regarding my abnormal MRI. I never got a clear answer to any of my questions. He couldn't explain how the damage to the right side of my brain was effecting me. He ordered another MRI scan but didn't explain what he was looking for. I left this appointment feeling more confused and frustrated than I did prior to the appointment

August 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm originally from the San Francisco Bay area. After attending medical school in the South, I moved back to home for internship and became interested in neurology. I was fortunate to secure a residency position in Portland at Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU), became interested in Parkinson's disease and academic research, and joined the OHSU faculty. I found patient care to be more fulfilling and joined Kaiser Permanente in 1996.

About my practice

I have been in practice in the department of Neurology since 1996. I subspecialize in the treatment of Parkinson's disease and other involuntary movement disorders, and am an expert in the administration of botulinum toxin (Botox) injections for medical illnesses. I am also experienced at treating movement disorder conditions with deep brain stimulation and am experienced at DBS programming, as well as programming vagal nerve stimulation devices for the treatment of epilepsy. In recent years, I have developed a special interest in cerebrovascular disease and serve as the stroke director for Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center.

How I thrive

Balance in life is important. Although I love my job, I also value my time off. I especially enjoy being outdoors and love hiking, biking, and gardening; it is a great way to relax. Enjoying our cool, rainy weather has helped me to take advantage of all of the opportunities the Northwest has to offer.

Medical School ?

Bowman Gray School of Medicine of Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem