Steven A. Long MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Westside Medical Office
2875 NE Stucki Ave
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 167 Ratings
  • 35 Comments

Doctor was very thorough and listened very well - I really liked this and felt that he really performed an excellent exam. He took my needs seriously - GOOD experience.

June 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Long and his team were outstanding, helpful and thorough. The experience was pleasant.

June 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel that I can always tell him what my concerns are,

April 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Steven Long is the greatest! He is kind, compassionate, knows his field and my [condition]. He is so personable & caring. I just love him! Give him a big raise! [name]

March 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Although the visit indicated that no further improvement can be made to my throat issue the explanation was good.

February 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Long is a wonderful doctor. I can not think of anything I would ask to change.

February 06, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We have had good fortune of having *Dr. Long's care for our daughter over several years.

January 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would highly recommend *Dr. Long.

November 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The provider did an excellent job of reassuring me about the mass (cyst) on my tongue. He took the time to answer all my questions and even came back into the room to answer another question I had after the exam was completed. He performed the procedure painlessly and took care to insert the tubing in my nose very gently. Five stars.

November 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best care ever!

October 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Long set my expectations and lived up to them... Thanks

October 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Long is real, human, knowledgeable. Thank you! [name]

October 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Long and his staff were very congenial and I enjoyed my visit. // Great experience and I would certainly recommend him to others.

October 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Long is an excellent physician. He has been able to treat a long term issue that no one else could handle. He is efficient and responsive to my input. I feel very lucky to be his patient.

September 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Long was friendly and very professional. I would request him again it concerns _____.

September 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Long was informative, to-the-point, efficient, friendly.

July 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love, love, love *Dr. Long. He is such a wonderful doctor, kind, patient, skillful and genuinely interested in my care. I would recommend him to anyone who has my same diagnosis. He does a procedure for my vocal cords that seems to be complicated but does it gently, quickly and successfully every time. I cannot say enough good things about his doctor!

June 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Long is very knowledgeable and was able to articulate to me what his findings and recommendation were.

May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was my 2nd visit to *Dr. Long. Very helpful, kind & good at his job! Thanks!

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor is so kind.

April 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been a patient of *Dr. Long for over 16 years. Wonderful relationship!

April 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Long is a very caring doctor. Listens to you & wants to help out for a solution always. Need more doctors like *Dr. Long.

March 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love love love .Dr. Long. . He is kind, compassionate and very good at what he does.

February 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor!

September 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very impressed! With every visit I'm confident that I'm well taken care of.

July 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good

June 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Long is treating me for a chronic condition. I feel very confident with *Dr. Long's care.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Long and his nurse are excellent! A perfect blend of expertise and outstanding people skills!

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent kind doctor // always a good visit to Dr. Long

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Long has been my ENT care provider for more than fifteen years and found my throat cancer in [date] and coordinated my successful treatment!

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

everything about Dr Longs office is excellent, no complaints at all

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

November 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Loved *Dr. Long and his medical assistant. *Dr. Long is very knowledgeable & patient. He explained the procedure very clearly. His instruction on what I needed to do were very clear. I will recommend him to others.

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Long is simply THE BEST!

October 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

During the entire time that I have seen Dr. Long, he has always been concerned about my welfare and solving my vocal problem. My vocal problem has been very stressful and long term, once finally getting a referral to Dr Long I felt hope that I had a chance of being able to speak again. I felt very well taken care of the entire time .

August 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I continue to enjoy practicing at Kaiser Permanente Northwest, where I have worked for about two decades. My wife is also a physician, and we have three children with whom we camp, hike, ski, read, and watch movies, among many other activities. I have always enjoyed talking with people who have different views of the world, and my practice provides me with an opportunity to meet many individuals with all sorts of life stories. Some of my more memorable experiences include the year I spent as an exchange student in Greece; time spent in West Africa; bringing my family to live with a family in Quetzaltenango, Guatemala, for a month; and the time I still spend every year seeing patients in a small town in the Sacred Valley of Peru.

About my practice

I chose to specialize in otolaryngology because it gives me the chance to see a wide variety of patients, from newborns to centenarians, and gives me the chance to operate on all areas of the head and neck. I completed a fellowship in laryngology/voice disorders at the University of Tennessee. I spend about half of my time working in this subspecialty and enjoy the challenges it provides. It is very gratifying to be able to give back someone's ability to communicate, sometimes after years of vocal disability.

How I thrive

I get great pleasure from helping and watching my children as they develop their own interests and sensibilities. I try to exercise as much as possible, and I am happiest when I am outdoors in the mountains with my family. I feel fortunate to have chosen a profession that is rewarding in so many ways. One of the extra benefits of being a physician is that I can use my skills in overseas medical work, which has been a wonderful experience. For the last seven years I have taken my skills to Coya, Peru, where over the course of a week my partner and I see about 200 patients and operate on their ears, noses, and throats. It is a great pleasure to work in that very different environment and know we are helping people who otherwise would not receive medical care.

Medical School ?

University of Southern California School of Medicine
Los Angeles

Medical Training ?

Laryngology and Voice Related Disorders
University of Tennessee
Memphis TN

Otolaryngology
Loma Linda University
Loma Linda CA

Board Certification ?

Otolaryngology
American Board of Otolaryngology