Steven E. Lester MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Westside Medical Office
2875 NW Stucki Ave
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 115 Ratings
  • 21 Comments

*Dr. Lester was very nice, friendly and professional. I think he is a very good doctor.

April 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lester is so good at explaining everything and answers all of your questions. Very professional.

March 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr.Lester and RN [name] were absolutely wonderful as were the appointment check in woman.

March 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have full confidence in *Dr. Lester.

February 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Stephen E. Lester is a great source of comfort in information. He is direct, compassionate, and a great listener. I feel and have felt taken care of throughout this process by *Dr. Lester. A very kind and smart doctor - give him ALL the raises under the sun, he deserves it.

November 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lester was very sensitive to my fears and is a great listener. He is a great clinician!

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I very much appreciate *Dr. Lester. He's willing to listen to my fears and continues to seek answers to whatever is going on with me. I'm thankful he listens and does not dismiss my concerns.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. LESTER IS A VERY WONDERFUL DOCTOR.

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good personality I think he is very good. Just a nice doc.

August 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both care provider and nurse were very welcoming, concerned about my privacy and my feelings overall. Very confident I would use them again.

June 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lester is awesome. I am glad he's a Kaiser doctor! He is kind, sensitive and very thorough.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lester is patient, relatable, and very open to formulating a care plan w/the patient's input. He also has fantastic bedside manner.

March 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The man's a gem.

February 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lester is an exceptional surgeon. Not only. Personable, but cheerful, informative, & sensitive to concerns.

January 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with my care -

November 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lester is a wonderful surgeon.

November 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

On my first visit with Dr. Lester, I felt that he was not so patient friendly. I am trying to find the right words. I was very nervous about maybe having cancer due to a lump on my back. He did explain everything.

October 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor!

October 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I shall refer MD *Steven E. Lester any time - Thank you.

October 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lester is a fine man. He is very concerned with the patient care. I am glad he did my surgery.

September 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lester is wonderful I have nothing but the highest opinion of him and the service and attention I have received through him and Kaiser Permanente.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

When I was young we moved a lot because my father, who was also a doctor, was still doing his training. We finally settled down in Spokane, Washington where I went to high school. I played piano and was on the ski team and did a little wrestling. I went to college at Washington State University (WSU) in Pullman, Washington where I met my wife who was also pre-med. I lived in a fraternity. After college I moved to Seattle where I had my favorite job ever working at the Seattle Zoo. After medical school we moved to Portland, Oregon where I have been ever since. I have three daughters who are mostly grown up now. My wife and I recently hiked the entire length of Forest Park (in segments), and we travel when we can.

About my practice

My main special interest in surgery has been in laparoscopy, especially for the treatment of reflux. This area has advanced substantially since the time I finished my residency so it has been very interesting to be a part of that change. I have also had a special interest in applications of computers to medicine.

How I thrive

I struggle to thrive like everybody else, but I love to read and learn new things. I still maintain the hope that someday maybe I'll have this world figured out.

Medical School ?

University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle

Medical Training ?

General Surgery
Emanuel Hospital and Health Center
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Surgery
American Board of Surgery