Steven J. Spindel MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Westside Medical Office
2875 NE Stucki Ave
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 58 Ratings
  • 15 Comments

Care was very good.

May 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely good experience. *Dr. Spindel even made time to see me for a related matter just after I left this appointment. This was greatly appreciated and allowed me to deal with the issue the same day.

October 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Spindel was very attentive to and knowledgeable of my health conditions. He was very frank and forthcoming when discussing my medial issues to me and also to my family. *Dr. Spindel is an excellent doctor in my opinion. Thank you.

June 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Lake is amazing! She is so nice, and always explains things in a way I can understand.

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Spindel is excellent. very professional, courteous and caring. really listens and assesses with all the facts. knows his specialty inside and out.

June 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Spindel was very attentive and most impressed was that he himself wrapped my wound rather than putting it off to a nurse. That showed the care he as as well as a humility not often seen in drs. as well-qualified as he.

May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Spindel saved my life over the last 2 years! He is WONDERFUL!

March 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

love Dr Spindel! So professional and upbeat! Answers every question with care, makes needed referrals. wish he could be my PCP. !

December 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Spindel is AWESOME!!

December 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had an excellent experience with *Dr. Spindel. I appreciate his knowledge, skills, care & concern for me. He always asked me if I had any questions. I am glad *Dr. Spindel is on my team.

November 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Spindel has quickly become one of my most favorite physicians. He asks great questions, listens, advises & understands the integrated KP model really well - & I felt confident that he was pulling in all of the right resources at the right time.

November 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would highly recommend *Dr. Spindel - he took the time to explain my... and told me what I needed to know.

October 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated *Dr. Spindel's expertise, but he often cut my answer short on multiple occasions, which made me feel he did not value my input.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Spindel is one of the best dr. he was very precise, confident, thorough and confirmed my understanding I would recommend him. He was a 10+.

January 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This appointment was a followup scheduled while in the hospital. I found Dr Spindel to be very pleasant and quite informative. He was very thorough in his assessment of my condition and provided a great deal of information regarding treatment and prognosis.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I chose Infectious Disease as a specialty because I enjoyed the detective work that goes into taking care of patients with complicated problems. I have been in practice since 1995 and came to Kaiser Permanente Northwest after having been in private practice in Portland for almost five years.

About my practice

Our Department of Infectious Disease cares for hospital patients in the Portland metropolitan area. In Portland, we staff clinics on both sides of town and we also travel to Salem to see clinic patients. We use evidence-based medicine to provide the best practices for antibiotic and vaccination policies at Kaiser Permanente. We collaborate with the Department of Gastroenterology for the care of our chronic Hepatitis B and Hepatitis C patients. Some of our doctors work in the Immune Deficiency Clinic, while others provide oversight for our Travel Clinic. It gives us the opportunity to provide care for a diverse variety of patients and illnesses.

How I thrive

My hobbies revolve around spending time with my family. We enjoy camping, hiking, geocaching, and taking the occasional RV trip in our 1988 Minnie Winnie (the engine has only caught fire once). I attend campouts with my son's Boy Scout troop and activities with my daughter in Girl Scouts. We also get out and root for the Timbers, Blazers, and once or twice a year attend a Mariners or Seahawks game. We've always had Shelties and our current two are named Monte and Moira.

Medical School ?

The George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences
Washington

Medical Training ?

Infectious Disease
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston TX

Internal Medicine
St. Vincent Hospital and Medical Center
Portland OR

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Infectious Disease
American Board of Internal Medicine