Susan E. Koch MD
4.6 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Sunnyside Medical Office
10180 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.6
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.5
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.5
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.6
    Explanations
  • 4.4
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 503 Ratings
  • 81 Comments

*Dr. Koch thought of a possible treatment for an issue after I left and researched it and called in a prescription to try and called me personally and also asked me to come back in 3 months. Shows she really cared about my issue.

May 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Can't say enough about how quick and detailed this visit was.

May 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Care provider (Susan Koch) , very good.

May 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koch, the best

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koch is a fabulous doctor. Friendly and compassionate she always explains things so you understand what the expectations are and what possible follow up might be needed. She is quick to follow up with lab results with the phone call in a few days.

April 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Susan Koch excellent physician.

April 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. [Koch] is always pleasant and a pleasure to visit.

April 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with the service *Dr. Koch & staff gave me.

March 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koch & staff are amazing - friendly & happy.

March 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

So pleased with the health care I received from *Dr. Susan E. Koch! Thank you *Dr. Koch!

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koch went out of her way to make sure I was seen at a specific time during the course of my treatment. She has provided excellent care.

February 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care provider did not seem engaged or knowledgeable. Did not get a good vibe from her.

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I totally respect and like *Dr. Koch. She is the BEST!

February 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very nice dermatologist,really knows her stuff.

February 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Susan Koch is top notch, very well acquainted with my skin. She always remembers me and not only me, who my children are! She chats while she busily goes to work on examining me, putting me totally at ease and instilling a sense of confidence. I like and trust *Susan Koch to the point that I don't have to worry about my skin cancer. She has also taught me how to protect myself & what to look for.

February 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch and her staff were all excellent.

January 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she is very helpful and concerned about my issues

January 30, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

first time seeing her and she was fabulous.

December 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very professional

December 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch was great. She even called me at home two days later with the good news that my test came back negative.

December 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was very thoural and friendly!

November 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is fantastic. Very knowledgeable and wonderful to talk to.

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koch is always awesome !

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

brief encounter, confident, skilled procedure, friendly. I would recommend her

October 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch is terrific.

October 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm simply blown away by Dr. Koch. She called me herself three times, once on that Saturday, the second when the biopsy results came in and once to order some more special blood work. Dr. Koch is one in a million and I'm truly grateful to be her patient. It's clear that she is a brilliant physician who cares deeply about all of her patients. ...by the way "very good" is not a high enough rating for her.

September 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch was wonderful.

September 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koch is very experienced and clearly highly competent.

August 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koch is the best Dr. I have ever had.

August 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have a lot of confidence in this Doctor // I was happy with my care

August 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

appreciated Dr.Koch's thoroughness and understanding of my concern.

August 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koch is always pleasant and _____ me as a friend - she always does a great job in diagnosing any problems I might have, I trust her expertise and knowledge. [name]

July 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koch does an excellent job. She listens to my problems and works to find a solution. She is also very good with follow-up.

July 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch very professional, caring, friendly, immediately putting me at ease.

July 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor was on time for appt. - no delays. Thank-you for being respectful of my time.

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I highly respect Dr. Koch. She took the time to call me to talk about a test report and then took the time to explain all my options. She was kind, helpful and patient with my crazy questions.

July 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My visit with *Dr. Koch was great!

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have seen Dr. Koch a number of times and am very pleased with her treatment of me and my concerns.

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koch was excellent!

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It would be nice if she smiled a little. She was very serious.

May 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience

May 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch is very personable and answers any questions that I have. I have seen her many times and I appreciate how she treats me.

April 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt as if i was just rushed by her to get the appointment overwith. Didn't seem like she really wanted to spend any time discussing what I wanted or what my opinion was on anything.

April 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

quality care

April 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Koch did not explain WHY she doing what she was doing. I had to ask her.

April 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Although this facility is far from my home, it is easy to get there. My doctor there is worth it.

March 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Pleased that dr. called me with results of procedure - Good follow up.

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor is very curt and not friendly. She didn't spend much time with me, and she basically said there was nothing she could do if the condition didn't improve in 2 weeks. This has to be the worst experience I've ever had with a Kaiser doctor.

March 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My son is an autistic adult. Dr Koch is always very patient and compassionate when dealing with him. Her follow ups, filling out required documents for his group home are always completed in a very timely manner even when her schedule is very busy. My son and I both think Dr Koch is awesome!

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koch had poor bedside manner throughout my appointment. She was incredibly judgemental and harsh regarding questions about my current beauty routine. She began diagnosing and recommending treatment before even looking at the problem for herself

February 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch is very efficient.

February 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience Dr. Koch is quick and to the point..Just the way I like it.

February 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She's great. Very efficient and kind.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koch provides fantastic care in all aspects of care and treatment.

January 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch was very professional and courteous. She explained what she was looking at and explained her results.

January 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*dr. Koch continues to do a great job for our family. She spends the time we need for such a difficult case & worked hard to coordinate follow-up care with OHSU.

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience. // I was very satisfied with the appointment . Every thing went smoothly, and I was out quickly.

December 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch was great and her assistants were super great!

December 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch is one of the best physicians I have visited at KP.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Support staff, including Dermatology Advice RN, and Dr. Koch were/are great. Very responsive and flexible in dealing with my concerns.

November 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch is excellent, both as a clinician and an educator. She is a great listener and very responsive to my questions and concerns. I was able to ask her about a couple other dermalogical issues in the same appointment and she was patient with me and offered some very good suggestions.

November 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very Good

November 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The visit was good.

November 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch is excellent doctor in my opinion. She answered all my questions thoroughly. She is pleasant and easy to communicate with.

October 22, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koch is so professional -- Always a good experience with Dr Koch!

October 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

while waiting I scanned thru one of the pamphlets. based on that, I did ask a few questions about other things beginning to happen and what I can do to fix the issues. it was hard to get specific info out of this doc. I found another pamphlet and then went on line when I got home to learn more. // deadpan personality. appeared to be in a hurry or maybe my issue just wasn't challenging?

October 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch even called me into the room and helped me with gown, etc. Excellent!

October 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koch was excellent. She called me twice at home to answer questions and to make sure I understood the next process.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would definitely reccomend Dr. Koch and hope to keep her as my dermatologist. She was thorough and pleasant.

October 04, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Koch is an excellent doctor. She has provided me with great service.

September 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was not very impressed with her approach and she never got closer than 4 feet from me. She didnt even look at my eye. Just talked to me about products I used and what I should do. I have been doing everything recommended. No results yet.

September 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She is a great Doc. I was a little worried and she called me on Saturday(!) to tell me I am fine. What a relief! Thanks Doctor Koch

September 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Once I got to see Dr Koch she was very good and I was satisfied with the level of her concern.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She did not look at my face carefully enough to see the rash (visit notes said none was present). She was unfamiliar with my other medical conditions. I did not feel that she included me in treatment decisions. I do not have confidence in her and I would prefer to see a different doctor next time.

September 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch is very kind and listens well. I love that she called a couple of days after the procedure to see how I was doing and to give advice. Feels like personal care.

September 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good advice on next steps. She was all right but in a very big hurry throughout the visit!

August 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch got me right in when I told her I had to be put on a waiting list to see her. I have had skin cancer in the past and I was concerned about some spots on my skin. Dr. Koch arranged to see me the next morning. I appreciate that.

August 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Koch was wonderful.

August 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was late for my appointment and the staff and doctor handled it with ease. Great job.

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience

August 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have enjoyed the practice of dermatology because of the wide variety of skin conditions I see. The opportunity to do surgical procedures allows me to correlate the appearance of a rash or a skin lesion with the microscopic picture. I feel privileged to work at Kaiser Permanente with many outstanding colleagues and a sophisticated computerized charting system, connecting the providers with one another and providing seamless coordination of care. Outside of my practice, I enjoy the outdoors and spending time with my family. Having grown up on the east coast, I appreciate the vast wilderness of the Pacific Northwest.

About my practice

I am one of a team of general dermatologists. As such, I see patients of all ages and evaluate and treat rashes, cancerous and non-cancerous skin growths, and hair conditions. I have a special interest in moles and melanoma.

How I thrive

Exercise is a major part of my lifestyle. I enjoy cycling, hiking, skiing and other winter sports, and swimming. I find that doing a variety of sports helps to hold my interest and avoids overuse problems. I also enjoy cooking. I am always delighted when the local berries are in season, as I make my own jam and pies.

Medical School ?

Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine
Hershey

Medical Training ?

Dermatology
University of California (San Francisco)
San Francisco CA

Pediatrics
University of California (San Francisco)
San Francisco CA

Board Certification ?

Dermatology
American Board of Dermatology

Pediatrics
American Board of Pediatrics