Susan L. Mikkelsen MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Kaiser Sunnyside Medical Center
10180 SE Sunnyside Road
Clackamas, OR 97015

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.6
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.6
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 107 Ratings
  • 23 Comments

*Dr. Mikkelsen is very responsive to my needs and answers all my questions at a level I can understand.

June 29, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As a new patient at the CF Adult Clinic, I appreciated *Dr. Mikkelsen's help in refilling prescriptions I needed (originally from my previous doctor in [other city/state]).

June 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mikkelsen and her assistant (nurse that did breathing test) and was there throughout visit were both extremely knowledgeable, had good bedside manners and were very comfort aware, as well as friendly.

February 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really liked *Dr. Mikkelsen - she was very professional & super nice!!

January 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She provided excellent care: Listened to my concerns, looked up my previous medical history, asked question to fill in information. She also reassured me of appropriate follow-up tests and care. I felt much better after this visit about my lung condition and need for subsequent follow-up.

December 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A very pleasant experience. *Susan help me ease my fear about my condition my husband was very impressed with her.

October 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mikkelsen has my total confidence as a participative partner in my health management. She is clear, concise, and honest in her evaluations of my health in both diagnosis and prognosis. She has always been totally honest with me. Couple those actions with compassion concern for my needs and those of my wife in regard to my health. [name]

September 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doing good job.

September 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor gave me straight information on my condition and show me the x-ray on what going on, will be meeting me some more to see what need to be done set up, after care -

May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

SUSAN MIKKELSEN AN EXCELLENT DR.!!

April 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I owe *Dr. Mikkelsen my life. She is amazing and deserves a raise!!

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very impressed with *Dr. Mikkelsen and her assistant.

December 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always. I had an excellent experience.

November 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm never disappointed with my care at K.P. but *Dr. Mikkelsen really impressed me. She took so much time getting history & explaining my condition & options for tx.

October 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor! Very good explanations.

August 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Mikkelsen is an outstanding caregiver.

July 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Mikkelsen was very knowledgeable and answered all my questions. She was also very friendly, wish all doctors were as good as she was.

July 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr. did a great job of explaining cat scan & issues out there requiring the cat scan in [date] to check. She took time to answer our questions & make sure we understood.

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I could not be more pleased and thankful for this provider. Since I've been seeing her she treated and resolved a symptom I'd had for years, related to [diagnosis] I'd had. She asks many questions & listens attentively to my replies. She has responded promptly to emails and prescribed treatment ASAP. She consistently goes far beyond what one could expect from a provider.

May 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I needed more explanation about why my medication needed to be doubled.

February 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very thorough & explained things well.

December 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The doctor was very happy with my improvement and I was very please too.

October 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciated the phone call after appointment to see how I was doing 2 weeks later. I needed more care & she took care of me on the phone with another prescription & CT scan.

September 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I grew up in a small town in Iowa and completed college, medical school, and my Internal Medicine residency in Iowa and Minnesota. I ventured west to complete a fellowship in Pulmonology and Critical Care at Oregon Health & Science University, and the Pacific Northwest's wonderful outdoor recreational opportunities have kept me here.

About my practice

My practice involves working in clinic as well as in the hospital. In the hospital, I see members with lung problems and also take care of those in the intensive care unit. I am a part of the team that cares for members with cystic fibrosis. I am analytical and have a straightforward approach when dealing with problems.

How I thrive

For me, living well involves running. Since my freshman year on the cross country team, I have continued to run most days. My local church feeds my spiritual life. I have done medical missions abroad and volunteered at free local clinics.

Medical School ?

University of Iowa College of Medicine
Iowa City

Medical Training ?

Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Critical Care
Hennepin County Medical Center
Minneapolis MN

Internal Medicine
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis MN

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine

Critical Care Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine

Pulmonary Disease
American Board of Internal Medicine