Suzanne Marie Deschamps MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
West Salem Medical Office
1160 Wallace Road NW
Salem, OR 97304

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.7
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 224 Ratings
  • 76 Comments

Dr. Deschamps is by far the best doctor I've had, since childhood. I have full confidence in her and respect her judgement totally. I only wish more doctors could be like her, as everyone deserves the kind of treatment she provides.

August 22, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deschamps and her staff make me feel special and take extremely good care of me

August 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Doctor as usual was excellent.

August 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is the best. She listens well and is truly with you.

August 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor!!

July 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All good! *Dr. Deschamps is wonderful!

June 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love *Dr. Deschamps! So personable, kind, sympathetic and wonderful. Thankful for her.

May 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

suzanne Deschamps is personable and is AMAZING at doing her job.

April 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Deschamps was excellent, always caring, respectful and very considerate.

April 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very polite & understandable.

April 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is the best doctor you could ask for. She listens to my medical issues and acts on them accordingly!

April 09, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deschamps is excellent; I never feel like she is trying to hurry me out the door. She listens to me and provides me with options, reading material suggestions and other ideas. I know sometimes she is not exactly on time, but I am okay with that because I know she is giving other patients the same time/energy that they need, and that may be more than 15 minutes. Friendly, professional and caring - she is the best!

March 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is a very patient doctor who explains things until you are well informed. She is very positive & encouraging. She is warm & shows compassion. It is evident that she is very knowledgeable. I just LOVE her!!

March 01, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Des Champs is the best doctor I have ever had!

February 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent listening skills, compassionate and caring!

February 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a very good experience with *Dr. Deschamps. She was friendly, kind and was not in a hurry - She was wise in how she resolved my problem and asked if I had any other concerns to address - I hope she remains at West Salem Clinic for a long time!

January 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Deschamps is the best doctor! she didn't just put me on meds, she ran tests, blood work and consulted with another doctor to get what needed to be done quickly. she is kind and personable, I'm not just another patient, I matter.

January 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. D is the best primary care physician I have ever had. She is positive, caring and empathetic. I value and appreciate her.

January 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps was very nice, payed attention to my concerns and medical issues. Responded to my answer and explained thoroughly.

January 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I highly value my care by Dr. Deschamps. I would not want to leave Kaiser mainly because of her. I am dealing with a high amount of work stress that is affecting my physical health. I left the appointment feeling so good; feeling heard; feeling empowered and curious to try some new ideas like the plant based diet.

December 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. DesChamps is the best!

November 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is a very good doctor. No complains ever.

November 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deschamps was approachable, proactive, concerned and courteous. She listened to my concerns and addressed my questions. She connected me well with specialists and I have the impression she will be diligent throughout the care process.

November 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is the bomb! She shows "true" concern regarding my health care!

November 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I hadn't been checked by *Dr. Deschamps for some time and since she is my primary doctor, I wanted to see HER. I have been on a new medication and needed to tell her how I'm getting along. This is a very good doctor.

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very friendly, personable and professional service! Dr. & assistant are wonderful.

October 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deschamps is so caring. She really took time to listen to exactly what I was saying and then addressed every concern. I feel like I can trust her and her judgement.

September 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Deschamps is amazing. A very caring person.

September 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is amazing! She is kind and caring and I feel blessed to have her care for me and my family.

September 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love my doctor

September 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience = as usual.

August 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is a breath of fresh air

July 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciated dr deschamps and her living care!!!

July 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I understand that she is under some time constraints. And she is good about addressing the problem I came in with. I just always feel there's a bit of a rush.

July 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is an excellent care provider. She combines compassionate care with skillful/knowledge, excellent handling of medical records and referrals as well. She looks at her patients as whole people rather than through the eyes of a clinician.

June 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is a wonderful, caring doctor. She treats me with respect & kindness. She rates an A plus in my book. She's an answer to a prayer. God blesses her.

June 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Best!

June 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like Dr. Deschamps. I am very pleased with her as my doctor

May 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. is very caring and performs tests which I really appreciate. She really wants to find out what is wrong & get you well.

May 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish every Dr would be a compassionate and down to earth as Dr Deschamps. She is wonderful.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my very first visit/ exam with Dr. Deschamps, and I was very impressed with her. She was friendly, professional and put me at ease. I am very happy to have her as my primary care physician. // I hope to have Dr. Deschamps as my PCP for the rest of my life. She made me feel like my well being was important for her. I am 74 and have health issues, and she gave me confidence that she would do her best to provide me the care I need.

May 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had a very good experience the Dr. was polite and professional .

April 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Deschamps was very nice and eager to answer any questions!

March 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My new doctor was very friendly and she listened to me carefully when i talked. She gave me some good advice and she asked not to hesitate to contact her if I have some issues or concerns about my health. She's very comfortable to talk to and she reminds me of my previous doctors

March 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

best care provider I have ever had

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is very easy to talk to and understood my needs. Only first visit, but I look forward to working her through the years.

February 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Like the dr. very much.

February 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deschamps was wonderful! I was so nervous, but she made me feel at ease and though my apt wasn't long it felt like I was in there for a long time because she asked the right questions and allowed for me to share my concerns and needs. She was efficient and kind. I was very grateful with her demeanor and how my first apt went with her.

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

most excellent !!!

December 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I absolutely love *Dr. Deschamps! She has always given me more then enough time to address my concerns and to immediately schedule any additional appointments I might need. She is kind, considerate and a great listener! [name]

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Susan Deschamps MD is the most kind and caring individual I have ever met. She takes the time to listen to my concerns and really talks with you not at you.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is an excellent, competent, and caring doctor. We feel very lucky to have her care for everyone in our family. She is the best!

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Suzanne Marie Deschamps is AWESOME! She is friendly, upbeat, personable, and explains things as she proceeds - I always feel comfortable with her and her nurse assistant

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful Doctor and friend for 10 + years.

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is the best ever!!

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Deschamps is wonderful.She is a great asset to you team. She is a dear, sweet caring women .

August 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps is the best, most compassionate, kind and patient doctor I have ever seen.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Deschamps has been my primary physician for several years and I am very confident that my health will be taken care of. She is so easy to work with. She makes time for any issues that I have.

May 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Suzanne Deschamps is one of the two finest providers I have ever been acquainted with. I couldn't hope for a more responsive, genuinely caring, knowledgeable provider. She's the best!

May 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Could not ask for a better dr. than *Dr. Deschamps - very excellent, takes time, does not rush and displays genuine care & concern.

April 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Suzanne Marie DeChamps is the sweetest kindest doctor ever, ever, ever!!! She is warm and kind and compassionate!! But she is also professional, dedicated, wise and trustworthy at the same time!!

March 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. was rushed. Did not give me options to stay on hormones.

March 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deschamps is very caring, punctual and detailed about my care. She doesn't skip a beat!! She is very easy to talk to and takes my feelings and thoughts into consideration with my health care decisions. She also responds well with kp.org messages. This is why Dr. Deschamps is the best Dr. in Kaiser.

February 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deschamps seemed friendly, but I felt rushed during my appointment. It was my first appointment to establish care and I wish she would have spent a bit more time. There really wasn't a plan of action determined and it left me feeling a bit unsure of the quality of care I would receive. To her credit, she did put in my referral to the dietician which I greatly appreciated.

February 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good I feel really confident with my doctor

February 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

AWESOME!!! WE LOVE OUR DOCTOR AND HER STAFF VERY MUCH!!! WE HAVE GREAT CONFIDENCE IN HER/THEM!!!

February 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

[name] and Dr. Deschamps are great.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Extremely pleased to have Dr. Deschamps as my primary physician.

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love *Dr. Deschamps.

December 31, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Deschamps always takes the time to ask specific and questions about my overall well being and demonstrates genuine concern in providing advice. I truly appreciate the time and care she provides while in the exam room.

December 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I absolutely love *Dr. Deschamps. She is caring, easy to talk to, puts me at ease and moves quickly to attend to any concerns I have had. Her attentiveness saved my life. [name]

November 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good, even took care of my flu shot // Dr. DeSchamps always treats me like a person.

November 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Dechamps is always excellent // always treated well

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor; always look forward to seeing her.

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Deschamps is one of the best physicians I have ever had the pleasure of seeing.

October 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

August 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am originally from Toronto, Canada where I completed my education (BS and MD) at the University of Toronto and family medicine residency at Queen's University. I decided to choose family medicine as a career for several reasons - a love of science and connecting with people. I graduated with Honors and Alpha Omega Alpha. I was a varsity volleyball player and wanted to play my fifth year at University of Toronto! I have been practicing family medicine, full spectrum care since 1996. I am married with two daughters and love living in Salem, Oregon since 2007.

About my practice

I enjoy the clinical diversity, preventive care approach and lifelong learning involved with being a family doctor. In family medicine, you are the first point of contact for your patient and that is so important. Behind each clinic door is a unique person with unique concerns. We are part detective, advocate and coach. At Kaiser Permanente, we have a wonderful network and integrated system to allow full spectrum patient centered care which is so important to delivering quality care to my patients.

How I thrive

I enjoy many sports and commute to work year round on my bike or walk. I feel so lucky to be able to live and work in an area with so much natural beauty and wildlife and the ability to do this! I am working on my black belt training in Tae Kwon Do with my family.

Medical School ?

University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine
Toronto
Canada

Medical Training ?

Family Medicine
Queen's University School of Medicine
Kingston ON

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine