T. Ruth Chang MD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Gateway Medical Office
1700 NE 102nd Ave
Portland, OR 97220

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 141 Ratings
  • 18 Comments

*Dr. Chang has been excellent in her response to my immediate concerns at the time of the visit. She is able to give me information in respect to my knowledge and experience as an RN. Most of all, I have never in my years as a patient in different hospital _____ received the continuity of care needed in my chronic health issues. *Dr. Chang always methodically brings my chronic issues up to date by checking in as to their progress of my concerns. I feel confident he is aware of my heart issue and treats me as a person with my individual needs. She shows genuine concern and enjoyment in seeing me as one of her long time patients.

February 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always feel like I'm in good hands with *Dr. Chang. She is courteous, sensitive, cheerful and open-minded.

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

this was a walk in visit. wait was shorter than I would have expected. care by everyone and Dr Chang was excellent

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Chang is wonderful!

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chang was very professional and friendly. She discusses each step as she goes through my physical (wellness check).

November 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Chang is a fantastic primary care provider.

August 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Dr. Ruth Chang; she is so caring and professional as is her staff.

August 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Chang is a great physician. a partner in my care.

July 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best doctor I've ever had the pleasure of working with!

June 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Ms. Chang is a very good doctor. She is not only friendly but also caring. And she can say Chinese and Taiwanese, making me feel familiar and understood my health conditions clearly. Thanks a lot!

June 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Chang is truly one of your "top professional doctors" in my opinion. Please, insure *Dr. Chang receives the utmost recognition available from Kaiser Permanente.

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Chang is always helpful, informative and compassionate. I hope you never allow her to leave KP - I'd have to change my insurance to follow her.

April 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Appointment started 30 minutes late. The doctor apologized for the delay.

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Chang was so kind and understanding. I felt I needed to speak to a doctor immediately and she took me seriously and answered my questions.

February 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i have great confidence in Dr.Chang. We partner together under her leadership.

January 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with my entire visit.

December 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Couldn't be happier with Dr. Chang's care and service

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Chang, Is Great.

September 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Taiwan and raised in central Pennsylvania. After high school, I moved to Louisiana, where I earned my undergraduate degree. I completed my public health and medical post-graduate degrees in Michigan, then moved to Portland for my residency. My husband, our two sons, our parents, and I now call Portland home.

About my practice

As a Family Medicine doctor, I enjoy caring for infants and children as well as adults. I also perform basic in-office procedures that improve the health of skin and toenails, and that are specific to women's health. My goal is to treat your family as I would my own.

How I thrive

When I'm not at the clinic, I enjoy cooking and playing guitar and piano. Exercise is my main release from the day-to-day demands of being a working mom. I also enjoy studying martial arts, which has been a passion since college.

Medical School ?

University of Michigan Medical School
Ann Arbor

Medical Training ?

Family Practice
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine