Tamara L. Oren MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Gateway Medical Office
1700 NE 102nd Ave
Portland, OR 97220

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 153 Ratings
  • 43 Comments

Dr Oren is great, and completely professional

July 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Tamara was AWESOME!

June 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was kind, thorough and she listened to me.

June 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Oren always takes time with me and never seems rushed. She is always concerned about problems I may have. She is the BEST!

February 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Orin was very through and went the extra mile to research my records. She made me feel like I was her only patient and explained everything to my understanding. You need more like her.

February 07, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I value the time Nd professionalism of my physician

January 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Oren is a consummate professional. She is thorough, good listener, concerned about ones health issues, and a pleasure to have as my primary care provider.

January 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have gone to Dr. Oren for about a year now, I find her to come across cold, suspicious, & disinterested. I do not feel any compassion/empathy from her. I saw her concerning symptoms I had for over 2 weeks, & felt completely dismissed by her.

September 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Oren is a wonderful and compassionate doctor.

September 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciate and respect dr Oren that she is honest and concerned about my health and well being

July 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The Dr. was caring and felt my needs were met.

July 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Oren is the very best doctor I have ever had. She is caring, courteous, and very professional.

June 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Oren & her asst. [name] are always very caring.

June 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

she was rude and rushed there my appointment. felt she as too preoccupied with how much time she didn't want to spend on me to actually listen to me. I felt unheard and unimportant.

May 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was also impressed with the attention and care received from Dr. Oren. This was the first drop in schedule which happened to be with her. Thanks Dr. Ore.,

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Oren is a skilled physician who conveys a strong interest in her patient's health. Professional & caring.

March 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She was wonderful although it felt rushed.

March 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always *Dr. Oren is kind and really listens. Always involves me in any decisions that need to be made. Even when I disagree with my health decisions she is supportive but make sure I understand what the consequences could be. I am very happy with *Dr. Oren.

January 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have had Dr. Oren now for quite a few years. She always gives me her undivided attention, even if she's out of breath when she comes through the door. She always shows great concern and care.

November 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I couldn't be more pleased with a doctor. Dr. Oren provides excellent care!! She shows genuine concern and I always feel at ease when I see her.

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Oren has been a great Doctor for me and my family

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Oren is very personable and provides excellent service.

August 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would give higher if offered she is wonderful! I'm very lucky to have found her

August 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Oren and her nurse were available at the time scheduled. They were both respectful, courteous, and treated me as though they had all the time I would need for my appointment, which was a regularly scheduled check up.

July 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is fantastic. I could not be happier.

July 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Oren and her nurse [name] always provide great care.

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

June 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

She didn't listen to my concerns and refer me to OBY

June 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Oren is the best. Period.

June 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent experience! Thank you!

May 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Oren is great! She is knowledgeable and caring.

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Outstanding experience. Dr. Oren is a conscientious, thorough, and caring provider. I feel that she is the very best.

April 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doc is the greatest doc ever. Love her!

February 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This is a new care provider for me and I was extremely impressed with her and her professionalism. Selecting a new care provider can be overwhelming when you've had the same one for so long. I'm sure I made the right choice in choosing her.

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Oren looks like a softy, but don't be fooled she is a tuffy when your in her office. Shes honest with you, lets you know when your ideas don't go along with hers. She does this in such a way as to not offend you, but you realize she's the DOCTOR.... not you. Love her ways and do recommend her to other Kaiser people I know.

January 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

GOOD EXPERIENCE

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Oren has always been friendly, courteous, professional, yet gracious.

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Oren is a wonderful and knowledgeable physician.

December 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

took a while to see a provider. When the doctor came she was so rushy. did not give me time to ask. allowed me only 20 minutes for the appointment. I was shock of her attitude.

November 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Oren is wonderful - worth her weight in GOLD.

November 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have to take my elderly mom to her appointments. Dr. Oren has NEVER done a full exam on my mother in the year and a half that I have been taking her. I have pointed things out to her and she gets very short with me. My mother has dementia so I am her legal guardian now. She has had issues with her skin and other things and the only way Dr. Oren deals with the matter is to prescribe a pill.

November 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

just changed primary dr. was very impressed with her throughness

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Oren, as always, was well prepared, familiar with my issues, excellent communication, checked with me if I fully understood the conversation and my follow-up responsibilities. We all made great use of our time together - very productive!

September 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Hawaii and attended University of California, Irvine, for my undergraduate degree in dance. I later changed my focus to medicine and completed my pre-medical training at Portland State University. I attended medical school at Oregon Health & Science University and carried out my residency at the Swedish Medical Center in Seattle. Having fallen in love with Portland, I returned after residency to practice with Kaiser Permanente.

About my practice

I am very happy with the way Kaiser Permanente integrates primary and specialty care. As a family medicine provider, I see patients of all ages, often within the same family; caring for both children and adults enriches my practice. I take seriously my role as a guide, helping as a child grows and develops. In addition, I do skin-bump removal and toenail care through our procedure clinic. I see patients who have suffered trauma and minor injuries and provide sutures as needed. My practice philosophy is to create a dialogue with my patients that explores treatment options for their medical care.

How I thrive

I believe strongly in keeping active. I walk daily, hike on weekends (when the weather permits), and practice swing dancing and Argentine tango. I enjoy cooking and travel and have hiked in New Zealand, Peru, and Ireland.

Medical School ?

Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine
Portland

Medical Training ?

Family Practice
Swedish Hospital Medical Center
Seattle WA

Board Certification ?

Family Medicine
American Board of Family Medicine