Thomas H. Gibbs OD
4.9 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.9
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.9
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.9
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.9
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 321 Ratings
  • 63 Comments

love the Dr. and assistant, they were both very nice and helpful

June 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs is one of the most caring and knowledgeable doctors I have ever encountered in my life. His style, professionalism combined with a very good amount of friendliness/caring/understanding of your situation is truly remarkable.

June 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciated explanations provided by Dr. Gibbs. Highly recommend him.

June 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gibbs s terrific! Thank you!

May 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs took the time to make sure my vision was the best it could be.

May 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

very informative. provided clear options.

April 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gibbs was excellent. looking forward to seeing him in a couple years

April 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gibbs is awesome

April 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs has a great patient / doctor rapport and seems both knowledgeable and relatable.

April 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs is one of the finest specialists in the business. His ability to obtain all the information needed to make a diagnosis is exceptional. It is rare to find someone with his expertise.

March 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gibbs and the Optical Department have always worked to give me and my family the best service and results for our contact lens/glasses needs.

March 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs was very thorough and kind.

February 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best experience I've had with an eye doctor and I've been going to eye doctors for 25 years.

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience with Dr. Gibbs! Personable, knowledgeable, easy to talk to. I have been through so many eye exams that I rarely have questions or concerns, but Dr. Gibbs made sure to review the necessary information with me without belaboring the basics.

February 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Appreciated advice and recommendations Dr. gave - above and beyond the basics.

February 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gibbs gives me great confidence - he is an excellent listener, he spent a generous amount of time trying to problem - solve my medical (optical) concern. He was provided eye care for me for years, and I am much appreciative of his excellent care. [name]

February 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

no hitches at all. Great clinician.

January 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I would/will recommend Dr. Gibbs.

January 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gibbs is great.

December 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent

November 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

eye pressure a bit elevated, in reviewing last 3 pressures, made decision to refer for further early glaucoma screening. Thanks!!

November 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service. Very competent. Enjoy seeing him, as I have been seeing Dr Gibbs for a number of years now.

November 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gibbs & [name] (assistant) were fabulous. They answered questions I didn't even know I had. Thank you!

October 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love seeing Dr. Gibbs - he's terrific!

October 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think Dr. Gibbs is an excellent doctor - he's clearly knowledgeable, but he's also easy to talk to, so I feel very comfortable asking questions. When I book an eye appointment, he's my doctor of choice.

October 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gibbs is the best optometrist I have ever work with - Kaiser is very lucky to have him! As a high myope _____ a difficult to fill prescription, I know he has done the most precise job nailing the prescription. I am very grateful for his expertise.

September 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good a pleasant experience.

September 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent

August 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr Gibbs has always provided me the highest quality professional and personal service. he took the time to removes my case before the appthe enabled me to make my own choices

August 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs was excellent in explaining why I was experiencing my symptoms and all the options available to me.

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Absolutely excellent care provider.

August 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doc Gibbs is friendly, answers all my questions directly but with compassion, and laughs at my jokes

August 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gibbs was wonderful - he was thorough, he listened to my concerns and addressed them all. I would recommend him in a heartbeat.

July 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs was extremely competent and very friendly.

July 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs was excellent and I am thankful that I got to see him on such short notice. He was very thorough and explained exactly what was going on for me. I couldn't be more happy with Dr. Gibbs as a care provider.

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very sensitive to questions.

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gibbs is caring, efficient and thorough. He is vary knowledgeable as well.

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs is the best! He takes the time to explain everything, and he is an excellent listener.

June 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gibbs is the best optometrist I have ever had. He is extremely thorough, knows my complex history at each visit, and takes time to fully understand my concerns. He also is never too rushed to answer my questions. He always seems to come up with suggestions to improve my vision. I am lucky to have him as my provider.

May 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He went above and beyond his busy schedule to fit me in between office visits and staff meeting when I had been previously scheduled with another colleague who had a family emergency and had to cancel my apt.

May 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was extremely pleased with Dr. Gibbs's willingness to answer all my questions to my satisfaction and in a way that made sense to me. He even addressed some concerns I mentioned about my son, which I felt was above and beyond. In addition, I found him extremely personable. What a wonderful professional.

May 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt like he listened and was open to ideas

May 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs is very patient in listening to my concerns. also very personable. He is just a nice guy.

May 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Gibbs is terrfic!

April 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always, Dr Gibbs is superb

March 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very much enjoyed this visit. Great service.

March 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gibss and his nurse assistant were very nice and thorough.

February 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs is a very competent and wonderful doctor. I really enjoyed my visit.

February 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best eye care experience I have had at Kaiser.

January 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs is the best and I recommend him all the time to others. He takes the time to answer my questions and is always courteous and helpful.

January 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Thomas H. Gibbs was great. He was respectful, kind, funny, and listened to my concerns. After examining my eyes he went through each concern and explained what he saw in relation to the concern, which was really comforting (luckily I had no major issues). He offered up some options for what I could do to ease my eye strain and encouraged me to pick an option that was best for me and my life. In fact, he improved my work because he suggested computer glasses to reduce eye strain, and they have been a life saver. I don't look angry when I leave work now or when I'm working on spreadsheets. I didn't realize how much working on monitors and under standard office lighting affected me. Thomas Gibbs was someone I would recommend and I look forward to going back to him in the future.

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs is phenomenal. I am so happy to have seen him at all of my KP eye appointments. He gives good explanations of what is going on during the appointment, he is thoughtful and thorough, and I find that he helps me to truly understand what is going on with my eyes. I cannot say enough good things about Dr. Gibbs.

December 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

By far the most engaging medical professional with whom I have interacted. I have had eye problems from birth and he is the first clinician who has actually stopped to really talk to me about it and think about what he could do to improve the situation for me.

October 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs did a great job. He was engaged and projected genuine concern for giving premium care and for the best possible outcome. Thanks!

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Every one that I saw that day from *Dr. Gibbs and his nurse/assistant to [name] helping me on the optical center - will I could not have ask for more wonderful people - They are not only nice and courteous they were (are) very knowledgeable - Be thankful you have them.

October 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I ask for him every time!!!!!!

September 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs is great at explaining things and makes the whole thing educational. Really a great OD, seen him several times before, and I've been seeing an OD about every year for around 23 years. Best OD since Dr. [name] when I was a kid. // Gibbs et al were wonderful, effortless.

September 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs is top notch. You're lucky to have someone of his caliber. I give him an A+++ rating.

September 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Gibbs was great too!

August 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent Provider!

August 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs is terrific - funny, competent and knowledgeable.

August 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

was delayed in getting into the exam room d/t lack of tech but Dr Gibbs came out to get me himself.

August 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Gibbs is a wonderful doctor, one of the best our family has had. He is clear, informative, and sets patients at ease with his positive demeanor

August 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Born in John Day, Oregon, I grew up in Bend, though I never imagined I could Thrive in the Willamette Valley. After attending the College of Optometry at Pacific University in Forest Grove, Oregon, I lived for a short time in Wenatchee, Washington and then moved to Puyallup, Washington where I was in private practice for 12 years. In 1997 my wife (also an Oregonian), our two kids, and I moved back to Portland where I began working here at Kaiser Permanente Northwest.

About my practice

I enjoy being an Optometrist. I enjoy people. I have found contact lenses to be a rewarding part of my practice. I believe most of us can understand and deserve to know what is going on with us physically and visually, especially if it is explained in a simple, clear way, something I attempt to do with my patients.

How I thrive

I enjoy skiing, running, and working around the house (I unfortunately find myself doing far more of the latter and not enough of the prior). I am involved in vision-screenings that provide vision care to the underprivileged, and I also enjoy working with the youth (okay, and sometimes the adults) at my local church. Mostly, what makes me Thrive is having been blessed with a wonderful wife and two great kids.

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?