Thomas H. Johnson MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Radiation Oncology Center
3620 N. Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.6
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.8
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 208 Ratings
  • 51 Comments

*Dr. Johnson was very friendly & spent a considerable amount of time talking to us & explaining the procedure to us. He was very congenial which helped to relieve the anxiety we have over having radiation treatments.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Both my husband and I were VERY impressed with *Dr. Johnson & his staff he spend a lot of time with us explained treatment options, plan of care etc. The other people we met were empathetic and very knowledgeable.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson was very kind, very informative and my husband and I liked him a lot.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with the care I received. *Dr. Johnson and staff treated me very well explained everything to me. I was very nervous on the visit for the first treatment, but they assured everything would be fine, which is was. Thank you.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson was very informative and patient with all our questions.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson is very caring, and takes the time to talk about your concerns.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Wonderful doctor kept me always at ease.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He spent plenty of time answering questions, I never felt rushed.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good experience.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson showed interest, compassion, and sensitivity.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson was great! I saw him for a consultation for treatment of uterine cancer. Naturally, this is a sad and worrisome time for me and my family. *Dr. Johnson explained everything thoroughly and answered all of our many questions. I felt confident in his expertise and experience. He even had us laughing at times! Both my husband and I came away feeling confident that he was the correct doctor for me and that he would do his best to insure a positive outcome.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It has been a positive experience. Dr. Johnson is such a smart doctor, yet went over everything in a way that put me and my husband at ease. I pray that the treatments are effective, but if I need more I feel confident to return to *Dr. Johnson and staff.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson is an excellent dr.! Explains things well a very kind and gentle person. No complaints -

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson did an excellent job of consulting me and my husband our options with extensive information to help make my decision about treatment. I felt he took plenty of time with us to ensure we understood the information and to make sure and answer any questions we had. We appreciate the effort and time to address my case and I would definitely refer him, and Kaiser's radiation clinic, to anyone. Thank you so much.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson was kind & extremely professional.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All the staff was friendly and very helpful. *Dr. Johnson was very thorough and helped me to understand all my options and ease some of my worries. He called me right away with test results. I will always be grateful for that. He is very knowledgeable and made me feel confident with my care.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I received excellent care - I believe *Dr. Johnson and staff are the very best.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson is awesome!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson is excellent.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I cannot say enough about the care and caring of *Dr. Johnson and the entire staff at oncology radiation. They made me feel like a person - not a patient/number. *Dr. Johnson always takes the time necessary to ensure that I am comfortable, understand about the treatment, and that I don't have any other questions.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very sensitive M.D.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Johnson and his staff are the best!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson was very friendly and professional. He explained upcoming radiation treatments in a clear and concise manner. He answered my questions honestly. I respect his experience and expertise in his field. He seems genuinely concerned for his patients well being.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson was exceptional and very kind, professional, and took the time to explain the process and treatment plan.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I know *Dr. Johnson is busy but he has been through us explaining the procedure I'll be going through. Very caring! I have gotten great care. He listens to my concerns & answers my questions. I couldn't have asked for a better doctor. So appreciative.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The radiology staff are excellent. *Dr. Johnson is the best. He spent time speaking with me and shows concern and compassion for me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been a patient and fan of K.P. for over 40 years and *Dr. Johnson and his staff represent the best of the best! Dr. Johnson showed extreme concern for my well being, as he has for twelve years and spent more time answering our questions then we expected possible. Dr. Johnson and radiation oncology are exactly what ALL medical care in the USA should be! [name]

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I want emphasize how caring and supportive Dr. Johnson and his staff have been during this treatment. They made me feel like a person, not a patient or disease. Dr. Johnson was very caring and I never felt rushed.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson was awesome. He thoroughly and clearly explained my cancer diagnosis. he outlined the best treatment plan for me. he fast tracked my contacts with medical oncology and tests that needed to be completed. Dr. Johnson was clear, concerned, and thorough. He took the time to explain everything and answer all of my questions.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson provided excellent details about my condition and probable treatment, and answered all questions, even looking up additional information that he didn't have easy access to. Appreciated his thoughtfulness and concern.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Should have an excellent star for *Dr. Johnson!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson was very personable, yet serious/reserved, & knowledgeable about possibilities for my future treatment, if needed. He was a very good listener & spend time delving into my mindset, since I know very little about lymphomas/or cancer in general It was a good visit overall.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Johnson took time with me and explained his views about my problem. I agree with him.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

At a time of concern & uncertainty on my part, I received compassionate care from everyone. I encountered at this facility Dr. Johnson was particularly informative & comforting & never made me feel rushed or like I asked too many questions. Thank you!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor & staff. Very concerned and empathetic. Takes plenty of time to explain issues and helps make tough choices easier to decide.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson made the best out of a very depressing disease. I appreciate his honesty and concern. // Dr. Johnson was very compassionate and helped me to understand my diagnosis and the treatment I would receive. I greatly appreciate his time and understanding. the fact that he's been treating people for over 30 years and he still makes each patient feel important says a lot about the wonderful Doctor he is.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson is great!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson was exemplary in every way. He was very empathetic, professional, skilled, and very knowledgeable. I am very thankful to have a doctor that I know is well able to help me to get well.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. Johnson was excellent in knowledge and concern for me

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson showed caring and concern for my understanding of my overall 'status'. He reviewed scans and explained and supported me (emotionally). I'm incredibly grateful for his concern he showed for me and my prognosis; and, greatly helped to educate me in what is going on with my health. I trust him; and, he explained what he was checking out at my last visit. With his explanations to me, he went above and beyond usual medical practice. A gem!! Lucky me.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson matter-of-fact showed little empathy for new diagnosis of cancer. Interrupted twice during visit with pager going off and then staff having him sign prescriptions. I didn't feel radiation would be a good treatment option for me based on this visit and info *Dr. Johnson provided.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson is amazing. He always walked me.through every procedure and explain to me everything. So I was always comfortable in every procedure.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson is the best! Very professional and thorough with a caring attitude. I have 100% confidence in his advice.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like and trust *Dr. Johnson. He treated me as an equal and took time to find information for me that I did not have.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience with breast cancer involving surgeries, chemo & radiation over the last 12 months in the last year I have ALWAYS experienced exceptional customer service and genuine concern for my well-being during a very stressful uncertain time in my life. Thank you *Dr. Tom Johnson & KP.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson is on my list of favorite doctors!

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson was exceptionally thorough and patient with me in explaining/interpreting my CAT and MRI results.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have _____ I saw *Dr. Johnson for radiology Rx times 3. I felt perfectly at ease - the treatments & the follow up one. *Dr. Johnson answered all of my questions & concerns.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson shows understanding of making visit comfortable and relaxed.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The whole Radiation experience was far better than what I had anticipated - everyone was helpful and kind and went smoothly. *Dr. J's manner put me at ease throughout.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson listened to me, answered all my questions. He took the time to call me at home. Great dr.

October 17, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Virginia. I completed my college, medical school, and post graduate training in Virginia. I moved to Portland, Oregon in 1983 and started at Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU) as assistant professor of Radiation Oncology. In 1985, I entered private practice with Radiation Oncologists, PC. I have been treating Kaiser Permanente patients since 1985 and exclusively at Interstate Radiation Oncology Clinic since 2006.

About my practice

I practice general Radiation Oncology at the Interstate Radiation Oncology clinic. While I see all types of cases, I specialize in Gynecological cancers. I also have an interest in complimentary medicine. I appreciate the robust electronic medical record at Kaiser and the collaborative evidence-based approach to patient care.

How I thrive

While I enjoy my practice of medicine, I relish time spent at home with my family. I am a history buff (WWII), enjoy sports car restoration, and play basketball for fun and exercise.

Medical School ?

Virginia Commonwealth University, Medical College of Virginia
Richmond

Medical Training ?

Radiation Oncology
Virginia Commonwealth University, Medical College of Virginia
Richmond VA

Board Certification ?

Therapeutic Radiology
American Board of Radiology