Thomas H. Johnson MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Radiation Oncology Center
3620 N. Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.9
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 236 Ratings
  • 37 Comments

I have appreciated the care shown since my cancer diagnosis and the promptness of care. Thank you!

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson was kind & extremely professional.

January 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very sensitive M.D.

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I received excellent care - I believe *Dr. Johnson and staff are the very best.

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson is awesome!

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Nearly perfect respect & treatment.

October 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson is excellent.

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Johnson and his staff are the best!

October 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I want emphasize how caring and supportive Dr. Johnson and his staff have been during this treatment. They made me feel like a person, not a patient or disease. Dr. Johnson was very caring and I never felt rushed.

September 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I cannot say enough about the care and caring of *Dr. Johnson and the entire staff at oncology radiation. They made me feel like a person - not a patient/number. *Dr. Johnson always takes the time necessary to ensure that I am comfortable, understand about the treatment, and that I don't have any other questions.

September 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson was one of the top physicians I have worked with at Kaiser along with [name], absolutely top notch. Made me feel great confidence and calmed me.

September 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson provided excellent details about my condition and probable treatment, and answered all questions, even looking up additional information that he didn't have easy access to. Appreciated his thoughtfulness and concern.

August 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been a patient and fan of K.P. for over 40 years and *Dr. Johnson and his staff represent the best of the best! Dr. Johnson showed extreme concern for my well being, as he has for twelve years and spent more time answering our questions then we expected possible. Dr. Johnson and radiation oncology are exactly what ALL medical care in the USA should be! [name]

August 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I know *Dr. Johnson is busy but he has been through us explaining the procedure I'll be going through. Very caring! I have gotten great care. He listens to my concerns & answers my questions. I couldn't have asked for a better doctor. So appreciative.

August 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson was awesome. He thoroughly and clearly explained my cancer diagnosis. he outlined the best treatment plan for me. he fast tracked my contacts with medical oncology and tests that needed to be completed. Dr. Johnson was clear, concerned, and thorough. He took the time to explain everything and answer all of my questions.

July 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The radiology staff are excellent. *Dr. Johnson is the best. He spent time speaking with me and shows concern and compassion for me.

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson was very personable, yet serious/reserved, & knowledgeable about possibilities for my future treatment, if needed. He was a very good listener & spend time delving into my mindset, since I know very little about lymphomas/or cancer in general It was a good visit overall.

June 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Johnson took time with me and explained his views about my problem. I agree with him.

June 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Should have an excellent star for *Dr. Johnson!

May 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

At a time of concern & uncertainty on my part, I received compassionate care from everyone. I encountered at this facility Dr. Johnson was particularly informative & comforting & never made me feel rushed or like I asked too many questions. Thank you!

May 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson is great!

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson made the best out of a very depressing disease. I appreciate his honesty and concern. // Dr. Johnson was very compassionate and helped me to understand my diagnosis and the treatment I would receive. I greatly appreciate his time and understanding. the fact that he's been treating people for over 30 years and he still makes each patient feel important says a lot about the wonderful Doctor he is.

April 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr. Johnson was excellent in knowledge and concern for me

April 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor & staff. Very concerned and empathetic. Takes plenty of time to explain issues and helps make tough choices easier to decide.

April 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson showed caring and concern for my understanding of my overall 'status'. He reviewed scans and explained and supported me (emotionally). I'm incredibly grateful for his concern he showed for me and my prognosis; and, greatly helped to educate me in what is going on with my health. I trust him; and, he explained what he was checking out at my last visit. With his explanations to me, he went above and beyond usual medical practice. A gem!! Lucky me.

April 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson was amazing!

March 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson is amazing. He always walked me.through every procedure and explain to me everything. So I was always comfortable in every procedure.

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My experience with breast cancer involving surgeries, chemo & radiation over the last 12 months in the last year I have ALWAYS experienced exceptional customer service and genuine concern for my well-being during a very stressful uncertain time in my life. Thank you *Dr. Tom Johnson & KP.

January 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really like and trust *Dr. Johnson. He treated me as an equal and took time to find information for me that I did not have.

December 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson is the best! Very professional and thorough with a caring attitude. I have 100% confidence in his advice.

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Johnson is on my list of favorite doctors!

December 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson matter-of-fact showed little empathy for new diagnosis of cancer. Interrupted twice during visit with pager going off and then staff having him sign prescriptions. I didn't feel radiation would be a good treatment option for me based on this visit and info *Dr. Johnson provided.

December 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson shows understanding of making visit comfortable and relaxed.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have _____ I saw *Dr. Johnson for radiology Rx times 3. I felt perfectly at ease - the treatments & the follow up one. *Dr. Johnson answered all of my questions & concerns.

August 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson was exceptionally thorough and patient with me in explaining/interpreting my CAT and MRI results.

August 26, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Johnson listened to me, answered all my questions. He took the time to call me at home. Great dr.

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The whole Radiation experience was far better than what I had anticipated - everyone was helpful and kind and went smoothly. *Dr. J's manner put me at ease throughout.

August 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born and raised in Virginia. I completed my college, medical school, and post graduate training in Virginia. I moved to Portland, Oregon in 1983 and started at Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU) as assistant professor of Radiation Oncology. In 1985, I entered private practice with Radiation Oncologists, PC. I have been treating Kaiser Permanente patients since 1985 and exclusively at Interstate Radiation Oncology Clinic since 2006.

About my practice

I practice general Radiation Oncology at the Interstate Radiation Oncology clinic. While I see all types of cases, I specialize in Gynecological cancers. I also have an interest in complimentary medicine. I appreciate the robust electronic medical record at Kaiser and the collaborative evidence-based approach to patient care.

How I thrive

While I enjoy my practice of medicine, I relish time spent at home with my family. I am a history buff (WWII), enjoy sports car restoration, and play basketball for fun and exercise.

Medical School ?

Virginia Commonwealth University, Medical College of Virginia
Richmond